Tingo Reviews - www.tingo.com

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.2 / 5
368
82% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Tingo - www.tingo.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Tingo - www.tingo.com

Tingo - www.tingo.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Took me over 1 hour and 4 calls to change reservation...”

Written on: 01/12/2016 by FritzLeona (1 review written)

Their staff is poorly trained, they were unable to locate my reservation because it was for a Mexican Hotel. They gave me 2 different numbers to call their international division...none of them worked. When I finally got the correct number, the agent was unable to help as she did not speak Spanish. I was charged 3 different times, 3 different amounts for the rooms. They refused to remove a penalty fee, even though one of our party was ill, so we had to change the dates. This was not a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not use TINGO! Horrible experience. Headache!”

Written on: 19/11/2016 by Keating239 (1 review written)

I tried few times to cancel the booking in their website over 2 months! For the first few times, I thought is was website error or maintenance. Their website never let you check or modify your bookings, the system always show couldn't find your booking number?! That's weird. After 2 months I just lost my patience and decided to call them to cancel. The operating system ask me to key in my booking number, then waiting for customer service to answer the call. The first question fr the CS is "… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Tingo is the WORST hotel travel agent ever!!”

Written on: 04/11/2016 by SienaDonaldson (1 review written)

Their website never let you check or modify your bookings. Their customer service will not help you or even pick up your call!! The line just cut off!! After I called over 5 times, finally someone pick up the phone but did not help anything. Do not use their any service if you still want to have a good vacation experience!! I read the other reviews about Tingo and found they will charge you twice and they will never refund!! if you are trying to book your vacation or hotel through TripAdvior… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Took my money!”

Written on: 17/10/2016 by Edipietro (1 review written)

I booked through Tingo to stay at a hotel and originally my reservation was for two rooms. I called three days prior to cancel one of the rooms and I was told it had already been canceled. I told them I was the only name on the reservation, however, they insisted one room had already been canceled. We stayed in one room at the hotel and the manager gave me peace of mind saying if Tingo tried to charge me for both rooms, she would take care of it. THEY LIED. Not only did they claim I never… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Tingo and Extende Stay America tricking people”

Written on: 10/10/2016 by andremoysescardoso (1 review written)

Booked 2 queen bedrooms with Tingo for a long weekend in New York at the Extended Stay America - Secaucus - New York City Area 1 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ  (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites Secaucus Meadowlands) Arrived at the hotel 10:46pm to find out the queen bedroom was not there and that the hotel was fully booked for the weekend due to the ComicCon event. the Front Desk lady tried her best to no avail. the general manager transmitted to her over the cell phone that she was sorry but… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“what a mess”

Written on: 09/09/2016 by RenByew1 (1 review written)

Booked a room in a hotel 150 miles from home for today and tomorrow. For some reason I decided to phone the hotel only to be told they were fully booked. When I phoned Tingo I received a very poor response and was made to feel I was in the wrong. To add insult to injury I was informed my refund may take up to a week. Not good enough!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware Bogus Cancellation Policy”

Written on: 17/07/2016 by AleahMcDonough246 (1 review written)

I made a reservation and within 32 minutes realized that I made an error on on the location. I opened my confirmation email to find the contact information and read that Tingo does not "charge" a cancellation or change fee, but the "hotel" charges a full night stay! Buyer beware... Make SURE you have all the correct info… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dishonest, misleating, BEWARE!!!!!!”

Written on: 16/07/2016

Made reservations, once I printed out Confirmation/Itinerary and needed to cancel I realized that I the cancellation policy states that I have to cancel before July 10th. I made my reservation on July 13th. Get it! I spent almost 3 hrs on the phone with them. 2.5 hrs on hold. Get it! The bottom line is don't use this company. Thank God Amex is going handle it from here… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“tingo made me pay with cancelation for 4 days 1 hr cancel”

Written on: 31/05/2016 by geophil (1 review written)

tingo denid that I made a cancelation it just a shame easy one come be riped off.my first over the internet but never again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Pay upfront for hotel!”

Written on: 29/04/2016 by Dpggrove (1 review written)

When I make a hotel reservation weeks or months in advance, I expect the hotel to put a "hold" on a small amount of money on the credit card. Tingo takes FULL PAYMENT EVEN MONTHS IN ADVANCE for the price of the hotel, even on a refundable reservation. So, for instance, when I book a hotel to Europe months in advance for $2,000, Tingo charges me the full payment and earns interest on the money months before I even get the service. UNACCEPTABLE PRACTICE! If I book the hotel directly, no charge… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Misleading”

Written on: 21/04/2016 by GarrettSchwartz (1 review written)

Tingo advertises by saying tingo gets you the lowest price and then makes sure you keep getting the lowest price but it doesn't work like that at all. They will use fine print to come up with a reason for not giving you a cheaper price when it comes up at the same hotel on your dates so there is no "rest easy" you better wait and book late for the bargains. This is a really disappointing. Very unhappy with the arrogant dismissive customer service reps too… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I had problems with my motel room. I was not able to...”

Written on: 13/03/2016

I paid for a Motel room and was not able to enter it until later on that day. I have tried to contact Tingo left a voicemail, and email and no one has ever contacted me and it will be a week tomorrow. WARNING DO NOT USE TINGO...you will regret it!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Can't get ahold of a PERSON to change travel dates!!!”

Written on: 17/02/2016

I am so disappointed with this company! They say their hours are from 10-6, but I have called 8 times and only get a machine that hangs up on me after it tells me their hours! Sent an email, and never received a reply! HORRIBLE!! Would never use again!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“they cancelled my booking”

Written on: 27/10/2015 by chelbys (1 review written)

I made a reservation as a surprise for my sister who is getting married. Last night I recieved an email saying my booking had been cancelled online. I did not cancel & I am the only person that knew the booking had been made. They were rude on the phone & told me my money was gone & to stop over exagerating. I have lost £150 & Tingo hadnt even paid the hotel. I will now have to rebook if we want to go. I am disgusted by this service & have contacted Trading standards… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Better Choices Out There than Tingo for Hotel Pricings”

Written on: 22/10/2015

The online booking agency Tingo (a subsidiary of Trip Advisor) leads you to believe that you can save money after making your initial reservation if the price of the room goes down. Surprise, the room price never dropped and is actually higher than I could have gotten from another vendor. Sure, I made a mistake, but Tingo is clever in keeping you "hooked" with emails and promises for us cheapskates. I won't use Tingo again as the price came out the same as if I'd booked the room myself with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ avoid like crazy”

Written on: 22/09/2015 by Doncaster29 (1 review written)

We booked a hotel in Dubai as a treat for mums birthday. When it was paid for, we ended up with a completely different hotel. We called immediately after checking it was the website and not our oversight. They wouldn't do anything and said to cancel the penalty was the complete fee. So we now have spent two hours getting nowhere, lost the money and are going to a hotel we absolutely did not want or booked. We asked for their UK address, didn't know it and couldn't provide. Their call centres… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Pthom's Response to Doncaster29's Review

Written on: 08/02/2016

I have had this exact experience in my first transaction with Tingo. It surely can't be good business practice to intentionally deceive your customers. I am now in email contact with both Tingo and Tripadvisor support centers (as that is the actual site I booked through). Tripadvisor have been very helpful whereas Tingo said too bad as I "changed my mind" even though they were completely deceitful and booked me into a property I would never have booked. Disgusting!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“LOVE TINGO”

Written on: 18/09/2015 by Johnnyv486 (1 review written)

I have used Tingo multiple times with no issues for travel in North America as well as Europe. Love getting money back and knowing I am getting the best rate. I would recommend trying this site for your bookings. I like it better than booking.com… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Tingo. Is. Great!”

Written on: 16/09/2015 by kdFoster72 (1 review written)

Who doesn't want convenience, the ability to cancel if necessary (for free), and the possibility of getting money back if prices go down? Everyone does! That's why I've been using Tingo for my last three trips abroad. You can't go wrong… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Great site. Saved us over 70.00 on our reservation.”

Written on: 11/09/2015

This was the first time I used this site. I will definitely use it again. Every time the hotel rate dropped I received a notification. When I checked out of the hotel, the next day I was credited the difference. If you want to save money, I would recommend this site… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Reservations were cancelled but I was unaware”

Written on: 28/08/2015

Upon ariving to the motel to check in, I was informed they did not have reservations in my name. They asked "Could it possible be under a different name." I showed my confirmation number and the lady behind the desk said, "We were afraid of this". She went to another location and showed me where the reservation had been cancelled by expedia. There was nothing she could do for us as all rooms were booked. We had to locate another place to stay at the last minute. We were lucky and did find a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview