Tingo Reviews - www.tingo.com

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.2 / 5
373
81.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Tingo - www.tingo.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Tingo - www.tingo.com

Tingo - www.tingo.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“NEVER AGAIN”

Written on: 15/07/2017 by Monaghan81 (1 review written)

This is the most STUPID website I have ever gone through. Booked a hotel in advance and when I got to the hotel they said that my name was not on the reservation, yet my card was charged the day I booked it and I got a confirmation email with confirmation numbers with the correct hotel picture, hotel name, and hotel address. Called the number that was DIRECTLY ON THE CONFIRMATION EMAIL. The guy had to direct me towards another number, in which the other person directed me to a third person… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“STAY AWAY!!!”

Written on: 25/04/2017 by guScott9 (1 review written)

I booked a hotel with Tingo travel which was linked to TripAdvior. A few minutes later I found myself made a mistake regarding the booking. So I cancelled the booking online and I received an email from Tingo saying my booking was successfully cancelled. However, when I got my credit card statement, I found they charged me one night stay plus tax penalty, which was more than 300$. When I called them, they told me it's their policy to charge one night plus tax penalty if cancelled within two… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dishonest ”

Written on: 19/03/2017 by Gedmarceau (1 review written)

Booked a room via Trip Advisor and received a confirmation email from Tingo. The booking allowed cancellation upto 3 days before arrival date. When plans changed I attempted to cancel the booking via the " manage my booking " tab only to find it had been disabled. A subsequent email was ignored by Tingo and so I have now been charged. Outrageous and plainly dishonest behavior. Don't use Tingo they simply don't deserve the business… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Stranded Abroad”

Written on: 06/01/2017 by ag8869 (1 review written)

Booked an all-inclusive resort stay double checking everything, listing proper ages of kids because it is an all-inclusive. We have printed this page with full details and itinerary. Upon arrival everything went smooth, three days later we get a call from front desk telling us that the reservation has our kids ages listed as 0 and they need to charge us as kids are not infants. We bring our print out, front desk states that everything seems correct, but Tingo has to update the data. We e-mail… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Changed hotel after I paid!!!”

Written on: 05/12/2016 by PhillipWilloughby (1 review written)

I googled a hotel we know and like on TripAdvisor. They (Tingo on behalf of TA or the other way round) offered a good rate so I went ahead and booked it, with an option to cancel. Once I paid, the confirmation was for a DIFFERENT hotel from the same chain. No match to the one I wanted!! However, the picture on the confirmation (bearing the name of the 2nd hotel) belonged to the hotel I wanted. In case you might think I made a mistake, I can assure you I did not. As a matter of fact I took a… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Took me over 1 hour and 4 calls to change reservation...”

Written on: 01/12/2016 by FritzLeona (1 review written)

Their staff is poorly trained, they were unable to locate my reservation because it was for a Mexican Hotel. They gave me 2 different numbers to call their international division...none of them worked. When I finally got the correct number, the agent was unable to help as she did not speak Spanish. I was charged 3 different times, 3 different amounts for the rooms. They refused to remove a penalty fee, even though one of our party was ill, so we had to change the dates. This was not a… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not use TINGO! Horrible experience. Headache!”

Written on: 19/11/2016 by Keating239 (1 review written)

I tried few times to cancel the booking in their website over 2 months! For the first few times, I thought is was website error or maintenance. Their website never let you check or modify your bookings, the system always show couldn't find your booking number?! That's weird. After 2 months I just lost my patience and decided to call them to cancel. The operating system ask me to key in my booking number, then waiting for customer service to answer the call. The first question fr the CS is "… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Tingo is the WORST hotel travel agent ever!!”

Written on: 04/11/2016 by SienaDonaldson (1 review written)

Their website never let you check or modify your bookings. Their customer service will not help you or even pick up your call!! The line just cut off!! After I called over 5 times, finally someone pick up the phone but did not help anything. Do not use their any service if you still want to have a good vacation experience!! I read the other reviews about Tingo and found they will charge you twice and they will never refund!! if you are trying to book your vacation or hotel through TripAdvior… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Took my money!”

Written on: 17/10/2016 by Edipietro (1 review written)

I booked through Tingo to stay at a hotel and originally my reservation was for two rooms. I called three days prior to cancel one of the rooms and I was told it had already been canceled. I told them I was the only name on the reservation, however, they insisted one room had already been canceled. We stayed in one room at the hotel and the manager gave me peace of mind saying if Tingo tried to charge me for both rooms, she would take care of it. THEY LIED. Not only did they claim I never… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Tingo and Extende Stay America tricking people”

Written on: 10/10/2016 by andremoysescardoso (1 review written)

Booked 2 queen bedrooms with Tingo for a long weekend in New York at the Extended Stay America - Secaucus - New York City Area 1 Plaza Dr, Secaucus, NJ  (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites Secaucus Meadowlands) Arrived at the hotel 10:46pm to find out the queen bedroom was not there and that the hotel was fully booked for the weekend due to the ComicCon event. the Front Desk lady tried her best to no avail. the general manager transmitted to her over the cell phone that she was sorry but… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“what a mess”

Written on: 09/09/2016 by RenByew1 (1 review written)

Booked a room in a hotel 150 miles from home for today and tomorrow. For some reason I decided to phone the hotel only to be told they were fully booked. When I phoned Tingo I received a very poor response and was made to feel I was in the wrong. To add insult to injury I was informed my refund may take up to a week. Not good enough!… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware Bogus Cancellation Policy”

Written on: 17/07/2016 by AleahMcDonough246 (1 review written)

I made a reservation and within 32 minutes realized that I made an error on on the location. I opened my confirmation email to find the contact information and read that Tingo does not "charge" a cancellation or change fee, but the "hotel" charges a full night stay! Buyer beware... Make SURE you have all the correct info… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dishonest, misleating, BEWARE!!!!!!”

Written on: 16/07/2016

Made reservations, once I printed out Confirmation/Itinerary and needed to cancel I realized that I the cancellation policy states that I have to cancel before July 10th. I made my reservation on July 13th. Get it! I spent almost 3 hrs on the phone with them. 2.5 hrs on hold. Get it! The bottom line is don't use this company. Thank God Amex is going handle it from here… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“tingo made me pay with cancelation for 4 days 1 hr cancel”

Written on: 31/05/2016 by geophil (1 review written)

tingo denid that I made a cancelation it just a shame easy one come be riped off.my first over the internet but never again… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Pay upfront for hotel!”

Written on: 29/04/2016 by Dpggrove (1 review written)

When I make a hotel reservation weeks or months in advance, I expect the hotel to put a "hold" on a small amount of money on the credit card. Tingo takes FULL PAYMENT EVEN MONTHS IN ADVANCE for the price of the hotel, even on a refundable reservation. So, for instance, when I book a hotel to Europe months in advance for $2,000, Tingo charges me the full payment and earns interest on the money months before I even get the service. UNACCEPTABLE PRACTICE! If I book the hotel directly, no charge… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Misleading”

Written on: 21/04/2016 by GarrettSchwartz (1 review written)

Tingo advertises by saying tingo gets you the lowest price and then makes sure you keep getting the lowest price but it doesn't work like that at all. They will use fine print to come up with a reason for not giving you a cheaper price when it comes up at the same hotel on your dates so there is no "rest easy" you better wait and book late for the bargains. This is a really disappointing. Very unhappy with the arrogant dismissive customer service reps too… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I had problems with my motel room. I was not able to...”

Written on: 13/03/2016

I paid for a Motel room and was not able to enter it until later on that day. I have tried to contact Tingo left a voicemail, and email and no one has ever contacted me and it will be a week tomorrow. WARNING DO NOT USE TINGO...you will regret it!!!… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Can't get ahold of a PERSON to change travel dates!!!”

Written on: 17/02/2016

I am so disappointed with this company! They say their hours are from 10-6, but I have called 8 times and only get a machine that hangs up on me after it tells me their hours! Sent an email, and never received a reply! HORRIBLE!! Would never use again!!… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“they cancelled my booking”

Written on: 27/10/2015 by chelbys (1 review written)

I made a reservation as a surprise for my sister who is getting married. Last night I recieved an email saying my booking had been cancelled online. I did not cancel & I am the only person that knew the booking had been made. They were rude on the phone & told me my money was gone & to stop over exagerating. I have lost £150 & Tingo hadnt even paid the hotel. I will now have to rebook if we want to go. I am disgusted by this service & have contacted Trading standards… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Better Choices Out There than Tingo for Hotel Pricings”

Written on: 22/10/2015

The online booking agency Tingo (a subsidiary of Trip Advisor) leads you to believe that you can save money after making your initial reservation if the price of the room goes down. Surprise, the room price never dropped and is actually higher than I could have gotten from another vendor. Sure, I made a mistake, but Tingo is clever in keeping you "hooked" with emails and promises for us cheapskates. I won't use Tingo again as the price came out the same as if I'd booked the room myself with… Read Full Review

Visit Mark Warner Holidays for Summer Sun 2017
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview
Summer Sun 2017 - Mark Warner