Pitchup.com Reviews - www.pitchup.com

★★★★★
4.6 / 5
From 9 reviews
95% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Pitchup.com - www.pitchup.com - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Showing star rating of:

(cancel refinement)
★☆☆☆☆

“What a mark up in cost!!!!”

Written on: 26/08/2013 by SiouxsieG (1 review written)

Disappointing to realise I have paid £90 instead of £60 if I had booked directly with the campsite. I can understand a small booking fee but 50% is a rip off!… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Response to SiouxsieG's Review

Written on: 27/08/2013

Campsites set their own prices on Pitchup.com. Please contact us at enquiries@pitchup.com and we will investigate.

Reply to this comment

Buxtoncamping's Response to SiouxsieG's Review

Written on: 06/09/2013

Hiya, As discussed, thank you for bringing the error to our attention which we have now rectified. Once again apologies for the error and glad we got it sorted and even more pleased that you enjoyed yourself at our campsite. See you again soon.
Lime Tree Park

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor / Bad reviews removed by campsite owners”

Written on: 25/08/2013

Pitchup seems to be a great idea for people looking for campsites and being able to read reviews, however, as site owners can then ask pitchup to remove any negative ones it all seems a little pointless. A certain site in Cornwall that gets lots of bookings via pitchup has asked for a lot of negative reviews to be removed, this makes the campsite look better than it is, they do have a few small negative comments in some of the reviews, each time the campsite owner saying things like "this is… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Comment

Written on: 25/08/2013

In common with other review sites, for legal reasons we must offer campsite owners an opportunity to request removal of a review. Nearly all such requests are declined. However we are unable to publish reviews which are legally actionable (for example, defamatory reviews) or those from fictitious guests, as you will appreciate.

We do already have a screen to add photos on the page after the review submission screen.

We are obviously disappointed to receive such a poor rating on this site as we would have been happy to investigate this matter.

Reply to this comment

Hammer1965's Comment

Written on: 28/08/2013

As a concerned campsite owner i am reading these comments with great interest
It is important to ensure that all comments are based on facts and not conjecture
The using of splitters is widely used by many sites and poses no risk if they are used correctly
All campsites electrics are operated on a commercial rating and are well equipped to deal with adding additional outlets providing the correct cables are used and correct switches

The comment regarding dirty toilets can be harsh as no owners who are committed to their campsite would welcome this and i am pretty sure they will be pulling out their last remaining hairs from their head at the suggestion, as this can imply, that they don`t care which i can not believe is true

The suggestion that some how pitchup.com is to blame is completely misinformed. Pitchup.com like all review sites very rarely remove reviews They may modify them for legal reasons but this in fact not only protects them but also the reviewer as to make a defamatory/slanderous comment can find the person in question in court facing a libel case for which the financial penalties can be severe.
My suggestion is to contact the site and explain to them your concerns and offer them some positive feedback. If they then do not react then post your comments. This will have a far better reach and justification but if you do nothing then really you are equally to blame

If you have taken the time to write a review then clearly it does make perfect sense to communicate with the campsite in the first instance Often i have found that situations can be better understood from both parties. Many changes come about by positive feedback even if it is negative That is the outcome that all campsite owners are seeking in the long run


Reply to this comment

Fredcamper's Comment

Written on: 31/08/2013

hi thanks for your comments,

I must fully disagree with your statement "The using of splitters is widely used by many sites and poses no risk if they are used correctly" although they may not pose any risk, I have never in well over 20 years of camping seen any campsite use these splitters, when booking an electric pitch you expect to plug your lead straight into the electric box, if I had booked and paid for a 6, 10 or 16 amp pitch then that is what I would expect to get, i would not expect to have to share my amps between other pitches ??? no doubt if 2 or 3 people decide to boil a kettle at the same time it would/should trip the switch, very annoying. I really can't see any use of spitters for any campsite, to me its rather dishonest advertising the amps you get but having to share. Maybe in fact the campsite is just trying to get extra bookings and no doubt having more pitches than licensed for by the council??

Although comments regarding dirty toilets may seem harsh, if that, as a customer is what you found each and every time you go into the toilet/shower block then this is what you would write in a review.

thanks

Reply to this comment

Tinribs123's Comment

Written on: 19/09/2013

I agree with Fred if you have booked a hook up you would expect it to yourself but how about those who turn up late in mid summer and are desperate for a hook up? (I know it's their fault for waiting too late to get a pitch). From our experience they are more than happy to share a hook up and as our electricity supply is professionally checked annually, and our splitters are not left out in the rain, we are happy to use 3 way splitters. Splitters are perfectly safe to use and we have no problem with them - if they were not safe to use they would not be sold.

Reply to this comment

Fredcamper's Comment

Written on: 31/08/2013

hi, thanks for your reply.

I agree that a very small amount of reviews may be fictitious, however, i would expect most reviews left on your site are in fact ccustomers who booked via your website.

I would much rather see an edited review (something that you have done on a review left for the site mentioned above) than a review being removed altogether.

I must say that the owners reply's to any negative comments are rather funny.

I do think that you have a great site, and just hope that reviews are edited rather than removed.

Reply to this comment

Pitchup's Comment

Written on: 01/09/2013

Perhaps you could let us know which review you're complaining about so that we can investigate.

Reply to this comment

Tinribs123's Comment

Written on: 19/09/2013

Perhaps if reviewers had to have their names published they might be a little more honest in their reviews and would be less likely to write something they could not back up? We once had a review which complained of hair on the shower trays - in a block with no shower trays! Personally I would not write anything unless I had first brought it to the managers attention. I would certainly bring "8 units" plugged into one hook up to the managers attention immediately - I would not wait until I got home and hide behind an anonymous review!
If you owned a business you would have to advertise, and withdrawing your advert because someone lied about you online would not help your business. If we get what we see as a bad review we act on it however if it is a dishonest review it must be removed - surely you can see that is only fair?

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 7 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“be careful”

Written on: 20/08/2013

All though the description on Pitch up leads you to believing you have paid a deposit - which is quite clear on your booking form - what your not told is that the deposit doesn't hold your booking it is commissioned directly to pitch up. I found this out when I went to make enquiries to chosen campsite only to be told that no money had been put down to reserve my pitch. I was told that the deposit I supposedly paid was in fact commission to pitch up yes a booking was sent to campsite but no… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Comment

Written on: 20/08/2013

Thank you for your feedback but this isn't correct. We issue a confirmation which the campsite agrees confirms your booking and guarantees your pitch. However, if after your booking the balance payment terms are not met (which are clearly stated on our booking form and confirmation email), a campsite which requires payment up front may still cancel your pitch.

Please contact us at enquiries@pitchup.com and we will investigate.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Pitchup failed campsite and campers let down by bad...”

Written on: 15/08/2013 by whitetiger21 (1 review written)

I recently used pitchup for the first time to book a campsite at the New Forest. I was initially very impressed with the booking system, quick and simple to use. Unfortunately, I was contacted prior to my stay that the owners of the campsite were having problems with their neighbours and had to close their campsite down. I was disappointed more for the campsite owners that they had been forced into that situation, and they owners have kindly sent me a cheque to refund the booking fee. I… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Response to whitetiger21's Review

Written on: 16/08/2013

Thanks for your feedback. Sorry to hear that you've been informed that Pitchup.com has not refunded anyone - this is not correct and the campsite has not responded to communications from Pitchup.com to resolve these issues.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“We own a campsite DONT book through Pitchup.com”

Written on: 13/08/2013

We advertised on pitchup.com the money they take from you is a commission they charge YOU, It doesnt go to the campsite !!! . When we had to cancel some bookings through no fault of our own pitchup turned our back on us and at least initially would not refund any of the campers. We had refund some of them out of our own pocket even though we never had the money in the first place. They did eventually refund some of the customers but this is because they directly contacted them to complain. We… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Refunds on booking fee when a campsite cancels your...”

Written on: 12/08/2013 by dondg (1 review written)

Do not use pitchup.com Dreadful on refunds of deposits when the campsite you book pulls out. Do not book through pitchup. No doubt this review will not appear on this site as this is another bad one… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Response to dondg's Review

Written on: 12/08/2013

Dear Mr Douglas,
Thank you for your feedback but you don't appear to contacted us for a refund - kindly email us on enquiries@pitchup.com and we will investigate your query. Campsites do tend to refund customers by claiming on their insurance if they are unable to fulfil the booking but we are happy to look into this.
We're unsure what you mean by the comment about bad reviews on this site as the majority of reviews we've received have been positive.
Kind regards,
Pitchup.com

Reply to this comment

Dondg's reply to Pitchup's Comment

Written on: 12/08/2013

The campsite Strawberry Fields contacted you as they cancelled and they have told me that you were not getting back to them...they even offered to refund me themselves but I didn't think was fair.

Reply to this comment

Pitchup's reply to Dondg's Comment

Written on: 13/08/2013

We've been in regular contact with Strawberry Fields. Please contact us via email.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“confusing and misleading”

Written on: 11/08/2013 by tiggik (1 review written)

Does not state that you will have to ay a deposit to pitchup.com and then the rest of thre fee to the campsite think this is very misleading would prefer just to pay direct to the campsite… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Response to tiggik's Review

Written on: 11/08/2013

Thank you for your feedback however the deposit to Pitchup.com and balance payment method are clearly shown in the price breakdown on the campsite page, and on the booking page before you confirm your booking.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“LACK OF RESEARCH”

Written on: 17/07/2013

This agency gave a campsite good reviews based on what the site, and opinions from so called visitors on the campsite. It turned out to be one of the worst campsites I have ever visited. If they had taken the time and perhaps asked if there is anything in the area that could cause concern, for example.. As I am the owner of a small dog, the campsite which Pitchup happily gave approval of, had the army near-by doing mock battles with really loud noise levels for hours on end, which… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Comment

Written on: 19/07/2013

We are sorry you were unhappy with the site. As we mentioned when you enquired, we do not review sites that choose to list through us - all reviews are submitted by members of the public and we mark them as "confirmed" if they booked via Pitchup.com. Similarly sites are responsible for providing their own descriptions.

Should a number of customers raise the same issues we will of course liaise with the site, however this is the first time such an issue has been reported. As your contract lies with the campsite and not us, please raise the issue with them directly.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Difficult to book multiple nights”

Written on: 29/05/2013 by ksdutton (1 review written)

I found it really frustrating to try and book a 2 night stay using this web site. It would not allow me to book more than 1 night initially and it took several attempts to eventually book the pitch (including a call to the camp site to report the fault). Given the price difference (£10 per night v £20 per night if you book direct) it was worth persevering but still very annoying. The site needs to be amended to include a drop down box for the number of nights stay required as this would… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Response to ksdutton's Review

Written on: 30/05/2013

Most of our bookings are for multiple nights but this problem seems to have happened because you're setting the departure date as the next day. If you select the departure date as two days later, it will correctly search for a two-night stay.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview