Pitchup.com Reviews - www.pitchup.com

★★★★★
4.6 / 5
95% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Pitchup.com - www.pitchup.com - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★★★

“fast and easy”

Written on: 06/09/2013 by nuttytart123 (1 review written)

Easy and fast payments, And booking,, And easy to find the right campsites for your pocket… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“EASE OF BOOKING”

Written on: 02/09/2013

FIRST TIME BOOKING A SITE ON LINE FOUND IT VERY EASY WILL DO ALL OF BOOKINGS ON LINE NOW IF POSSIBLE… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“PEACE AND QUIET,NO KIDS CAMPING???IF THIS IS YOU READ...”

Written on: 01/09/2013 by IAIN9061 (1 review written)

after looking for some camping last minute.com we used this site to find a brilliant place in Scotland. it was as it said, adults only, small about 8 pitches i think but only 4 are let out at one time. the facilities are excellent; with free power shower, electric hook UP. the toilet and vegetable prep area are great and regularly cleaned as is the shower. there is a large communal bbq area with bench/table seating and the garden lighting provides a soft but nice feel. run by dave and jessy… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Easy!!!”

Written on: 30/08/2013 by giliff (1 review written)

Second time I've used PitchUp. Great choice of sites and simple online booking… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“brilliant servicefrom your company”

Written on: 30/08/2013

first time booking with your company. I found the whole process very easy to work through with clear to follow instructions. I will certainly use your company in the future and will recommend you to family and friends Thanks again A MARSHALL. … Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“easy peasy!”

Written on: 30/08/2013

Very easy to find decent campsites,read reviews and book.hassle free… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Fast and easy to use”

Written on: 29/08/2013

Took me hardly any time at all to make a booking. I found a camp site in the area I wanted, with the details needed to make a choice… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Fantastic ”

Written on: 28/08/2013

Went to Wooda farm park in Bude Cornwall it was one of the best holiday parks I have been to . Nothing was to much trouble and they were so helpful and friendly . Very good value for money and so easy to book threw Pitchip.com .Will recommend to family and friends and will use in the future… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“very easy booking will use again in the future”

Written on: 27/08/2013

very easy booking will use again in the future… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“What a mark up in cost!!!!”

Written on: 26/08/2013 by SiouxsieG (1 review written)

Disappointing to realise I have paid £90 instead of £60 if I had booked directly with the campsite. I can understand a small booking fee but 50% is a rip off!… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Response to SiouxsieG's Review

Written on: 27/08/2013

Campsites set their own prices on Pitchup.com. Please contact us at enquiries@pitchup.com and we will investigate.

Reply to this comment

Buxtoncamping's Response to SiouxsieG's Review

Written on: 06/09/2013

Hiya, As discussed, thank you for bringing the error to our attention which we have now rectified. Once again apologies for the error and glad we got it sorted and even more pleased that you enjoyed yourself at our campsite. See you again soon.
Lime Tree Park

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“Easy to sort last minute short break away!”

Written on: 25/08/2013

Lovely, clearly laid out site. Detail and explanation of all parks good. Booking all very easy at the click of a button!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor / Bad reviews removed by campsite owners”

Written on: 25/08/2013

Pitchup seems to be a great idea for people looking for campsites and being able to read reviews, however, as site owners can then ask pitchup to remove any negative ones it all seems a little pointless. A certain site in Cornwall that gets lots of bookings via pitchup has asked for a lot of negative reviews to be removed, this makes the campsite look better than it is, they do have a few small negative comments in some of the reviews, each time the campsite owner saying things like "this is… Read Full Review

Pitchup's Comment

Written on: 25/08/2013

In common with other review sites, for legal reasons we must offer campsite owners an opportunity to request removal of a review. Nearly all such requests are declined. However we are unable to publish reviews which are legally actionable (for example, defamatory reviews) or those from fictitious guests, as you will appreciate.

We do already have a screen to add photos on the page after the review submission screen.

We are obviously disappointed to receive such a poor rating on this site as we would have been happy to investigate this matter.

Reply to this comment

Hammer1965's Comment

Written on: 28/08/2013

As a concerned campsite owner i am reading these comments with great interest
It is important to ensure that all comments are based on facts and not conjecture
The using of splitters is widely used by many sites and poses no risk if they are used correctly
All campsites electrics are operated on a commercial rating and are well equipped to deal with adding additional outlets providing the correct cables are used and correct switches

The comment regarding dirty toilets can be harsh as no owners who are committed to their campsite would welcome this and i am pretty sure they will be pulling out their last remaining hairs from their head at the suggestion, as this can imply, that they don`t care which i can not believe is true

The suggestion that some how pitchup.com is to blame is completely misinformed. Pitchup.com like all review sites very rarely remove reviews They may modify them for legal reasons but this in fact not only protects them but also the reviewer as to make a defamatory/slanderous comment can find the person in question in court facing a libel case for which the financial penalties can be severe.
My suggestion is to contact the site and explain to them your concerns and offer them some positive feedback. If they then do not react then post your comments. This will have a far better reach and justification but if you do nothing then really you are equally to blame

If you have taken the time to write a review then clearly it does make perfect sense to communicate with the campsite in the first instance Often i have found that situations can be better understood from both parties. Many changes come about by positive feedback even if it is negative That is the outcome that all campsite owners are seeking in the long run


Reply to this comment

Fredcamper's Comment

Written on: 31/08/2013

hi thanks for your comments,

I must fully disagree with your statement "The using of splitters is widely used by many sites and poses no risk if they are used correctly" although they may not pose any risk, I have never in well over 20 years of camping seen any campsite use these splitters, when booking an electric pitch you expect to plug your lead straight into the electric box, if I had booked and paid for a 6, 10 or 16 amp pitch then that is what I would expect to get, i would not expect to have to share my amps between other pitches ??? no doubt if 2 or 3 people decide to boil a kettle at the same time it would/should trip the switch, very annoying. I really can't see any use of spitters for any campsite, to me its rather dishonest advertising the amps you get but having to share. Maybe in fact the campsite is just trying to get extra bookings and no doubt having more pitches than licensed for by the council??

Although comments regarding dirty toilets may seem harsh, if that, as a customer is what you found each and every time you go into the toilet/shower block then this is what you would write in a review.

thanks

Reply to this comment

Tinribs123's Comment

Written on: 19/09/2013

I agree with Fred if you have booked a hook up you would expect it to yourself but how about those who turn up late in mid summer and are desperate for a hook up? (I know it's their fault for waiting too late to get a pitch). From our experience they are more than happy to share a hook up and as our electricity supply is professionally checked annually, and our splitters are not left out in the rain, we are happy to use 3 way splitters. Splitters are perfectly safe to use and we have no problem with them - if they were not safe to use they would not be sold.

Reply to this comment

Fredcamper's Comment

Written on: 31/08/2013

hi, thanks for your reply.

I agree that a very small amount of reviews may be fictitious, however, i would expect most reviews left on your site are in fact ccustomers who booked via your website.

I would much rather see an edited review (something that you have done on a review left for the site mentioned above) than a review being removed altogether.

I must say that the owners reply's to any negative comments are rather funny.

I do think that you have a great site, and just hope that reviews are edited rather than removed.

Reply to this comment

Pitchup's Comment

Written on: 01/09/2013

Perhaps you could let us know which review you're complaining about so that we can investigate.

Reply to this comment

Tinribs123's Comment

Written on: 19/09/2013

Perhaps if reviewers had to have their names published they might be a little more honest in their reviews and would be less likely to write something they could not back up? We once had a review which complained of hair on the shower trays - in a block with no shower trays! Personally I would not write anything unless I had first brought it to the managers attention. I would certainly bring "8 units" plugged into one hook up to the managers attention immediately - I would not wait until I got home and hide behind an anonymous review!
If you owned a business you would have to advertise, and withdrawing your advert because someone lied about you online would not help your business. If we get what we see as a bad review we act on it however if it is a dishonest review it must be removed - surely you can see that is only fair?

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 7 Comments
★★★★★

“Last minute panic!”

Written on: 25/08/2013

Last minute bank holiday weekend booking- but very comprehensive site and speedy reservation - easy to use… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Huge choice, excellent filtering”

Written on: 25/08/2013

excellent site which allows you to specify ares (or not) type of accomodation and a wide array of features. Found the dogs allowed filter extremely helpful other sites very irratating that you cant rely on this one. Also liked that the site didnt keep offering sites with availability that was NOT for the dates id specified, somethiing other sites again get wrong. Plently of detail on the sites, with photos and the fact that is shows you availabilty for all the accomodations on site at once… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Best Camp Booking Website”

Written on: 23/08/2013

Brilliant layout !! Very easy to search camp sites and also fast payment system !! Well done… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“Lovely peaceful break!”

Written on: 22/08/2013 by noelh1976 (1 review written)

Booked up last minute and found it very easy to do so on the site. Payed a deposit on paypal and then payed the remainder on arrival. Met with a very friendly welcome. We were supposed to stay for 2 nights but had such a great time we stayed for 3! Highly recommend a pub called the Duck which was lovely and amazing food. We had a Hedgehog visit us two nights running which took a liking to our left overs from our BBQ. Was amazing to be able to have a campfire and really did make it… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“easy direct done!”

Written on: 22/08/2013 by cornishangie (1 review written)

easy to book and point of contact easy to find easy to book great they accept dogs and children looking forward to a break with the children and family direct and to the point haven't stayed here before but the photos provided and easy use of what is available is great my payment was taken successfully and easy to do , yes good website easy of use and asked a question answered promptly with different aspects where I was able to review myself thank u… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“So far I have found pitch up easy to make a late booking. ”

Written on: 22/08/2013

So far I have found pitch up easy to make a late booking… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Easy to use ”

Written on: 20/08/2013 by PaulT1956 (1 review written)

I need to find a camp site in Cornwall over the august bank holiday at very short notice, I tried a number of other web site however pitchup.com was easy to use and provided all the information I needed to locate and book a suitable site… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Easy to use, fab idea.”

Written on: 20/08/2013 by TheCaravanCarrs (1 review written)

We had no idea where to go for our first caravan holiday. This site is brilliant. The reviews are honest & the booking process very easy to use. I will definitely be using this site again… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview