On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by gardnerf on 21st September 2014 Report this content
I have seen lots of reviews for On The Beach, where you book with them and then they just cancel. Has anyone booked just a hotel and then they have said prices has changed? We have seen a hotel in Benidorm that is much cheaper with On The Beach, we are not going for 10 months but would hate to book it and then a few weeks before we go they say it's overbooked and not available or prices have gone up. Surely if they take your booking they should honor the price when it's so much in advance. Does anyone have any advice on this? The price difference is a lot or I wouldn't quibble over a few pounds.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content stevey789 Written on: 23/09/2014
This is exactly what happened to me. If the price difference really is that big then expect to have problems. Good Luck to you if you go ahead and book, but it may well be a case of their website giving you incorrect prices. This happens on their site for two main reasons, incorrect occupancy, and the more popular problem of the price being, for example, one week, when you have searched for two weeks. Expect contact from them soon after if this is the case saying that the hotel has been overbooked, which is a lie as i caught them out by having a different website up with availability. However, they will NOT honour the price qouted even if you have a CONFIRMED booking with them, and ABTA side with them. Believe me, I spent a lot of my time on this. Once again, good luck and have a great holiday!
Asked by runa682003 on 26th July 2014 Report this content
There are lots of negative comments about using On The Beach, so I'm not too sure if I should book it or not?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (8)
Report this content dansa1978 Written on: 28/07/2014
Hi, I too had read a lot of negative reviews after booking and was really worried that we had done the wrong thing. Our trip however ran smoothly with no issues whatsoever. I had emailed the hotel in advance to check that they had received our booking from On The Beach and they had so I felt better having had that confirmation. Similarly there were no issues with our transfers, they arrived promptly and went without a hitch. I would say to check out the reviews for the hotels on trip advisor before booking, but otherwise our experience with On the Beach was fine. We even received text messages to ensure we had checked in online with the airline. If you do book another peace of advice would be to pay for any upgrades with the airline directly if you can. We paid for priority boarding and allocated seating and this was cheaper through Ryan Air than it would have been through On The Beach. I hope this is of some help.
Report this content dyzmen Written on: 28/07/2014
Hi Last year they change my booking 24 hours before flight. I booked nice hotel for my holiday 3 months in advance but ended up in s. hole whitch they caled "like for like" change Your choice if you don't mind risking your holiday to be spoiled
Report this content JimmyB1985 Written on: 28/07/2014
EVERY travelagent will have hiccups, I've used on the beach every year for 7 years and never had any issues at all, in fact they've been amazing. This year I've used Thomas Cook for our honeymoon and they've been an absolute nightmare.
Report this content Kimbo2000 Written on: 28/07/2014
I have probably booked around eight holidays with On The Beach for my family since 2007 and have had no problems. The only issue was on a trip to Corfu a couple of years ago when our accommodation became unavailable approx 10 days before departure. After due consideration, we accepted the offered change (which had been our second choice) and were happy with the alternative accommodation (we are quite fussy regarding bed comfort, cleanliness and food standards). I will continue to use On The Beach to book our holidays and find that their on-line search facility is the most user friendly that I have come across! I hope that this is of assistance to you.
Report this content MAC4096 Written on: 28/07/2014
My view of On The Beach is quite negative. They charged me a substantial amount of money for using a credit card, £25 I think, when I had actually used a debit card. They still took £16 when it costs them a fraction of a penny for the transaction. Sneaky, underhand not very nice but which of them is. They are there to fleece us one way or another. The actual holiday was more or less what I booked but very unenjoyable(Sharm El Sheik, what a dump).
Report this content Jonwontbookwithonthebeach Written on: 29/07/2014
By your thoughts, I think you've answered your own question. Would I book with them again, not a chance.
Report this content stevey789 Written on: 29/07/2014
If you have not booked with them yet then I would recommend you find the same deal elsewhere (alpharooms, travel republic, locostholidays etc). If you have an unbeatable deal with otb then dont be surprised if you run into problems, thats what happened to me. You will only find them impossible to deal with if you run into problems or have after booking queries with your holiday. If you have booked with them I wish you all the luck and hope your holiday goes smoothly.
Report this content RobertaPuodziunaite Written on: 30/07/2014
Hi On the Beach change our hotel 2 days before our flight and put as in a crappy hotel nothing compared to the one we had booked, and the main point is that I had to find this out myself called them every day for 3 days straight to confirm that everything is ok and then 2 days prior to us leaving I received an email saying that they are changing our accommodation and providing us with alternative because the hotel we booked is not available. They gave us an option to choose something else if we didn't like their alternative but if there is any difference in the cost we have to cover it. I would never ever use their service again and wouldn't recommend them to anyone. They didn't even apologised for their mistake.
See All Answers
Asked by Fraggle2007 on 10th May 2014 Report this content
I'm using on the beach to travel to hurgarda Egypt at the end of the month, should I be worried about the transfers?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (5)
Report this content Derek966 Written on: 12/05/2014
No need to worry but you can bet that the driver will be expecting a tip.
Report this content JimmyB1985 Written on: 12/05/2014
To the first timer this can be quite daunting. just try be relaxed and confident, your on holiday! They will need to see your passport and sometimes pass it around to check you've paid your visa fee so don't panic when they ask for it. They will drive fast and seemingly wrecklessly, this is just how they drive. You will find they are quite chatty and pleasant enough. You don't have to leave a tip but I would as they'll probably pick you back up! Don't use pounds in hurghada they don't really understand the currency like they do in sharm. Dollars, euros and egyptian pound are fine. Just relax, have fun and accept it's a very different culture. You will have a great time
Report this content SarahrawrxD Written on: 12/05/2014
I booked with in the beach to go to spain and the transfers where fine didnt have any problems just make sure you read all the small print on the documents you get so your aware how to find out about your transfers and incase you need to have certain documents printed out :)
Report this content stevey789 Written on: 12/05/2014
JimmyB1985's answer is spot on, but please make sure your trip with onthebeach INCLUDES transfers, as this is something that is usually bought seperately, and not included with any of their so called package deals.
Report this content dansa1978 Written on: 28/07/2014
We booked transfers separately with On the Beach to Majorca recently. No issues at all. Drivers were very prompt and efficient.
See All Answers
Asked by ICET on 5th April 2014 Report this content
I want to book flights for July 2014 for 3 adults to Santorini, do I need all passengers passport details to do this as one passenger is still waiting for their passport?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by glenc on 12th February 2014 Report this content
I've been looking to book a holiday and thought Onthebeach.co.uk looked like a pretty good site and some of the prices were great. Always cautious about great prices, I did a web search on them and noticed that they had been subject to a Watchdog investigation which didn't paint them in a very favourable light. Has anyone had any issues with them? Or have they changed since the Watchdog report which seems to have been in October 2012? I'm a bit nervous about using them due to the Watchdog report on them.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content TravelQueen12 Written on: 13/02/2014
We tried to book a holiday through them and it was all sorted, then they phoned to say there was no availability. They appear to be a travel booking site but in reality they are reservation site, and nothing is confirmed even though they take credit card info (we had no trouble getting a refund). This was in September 2013.
Report this content Jonwontbookwithonthebeach Written on: 13/02/2014
I've used them once, going to a wedding in Greece, with a lot of family memebers. 3 of us booked with on the beach, all at different hotels, and none of us could check in to the hotel that we'd booked. I was the lucky one, as I got moved in a day later, but my friends didn't. I won't ever use them again. In my opinion, pay a little extra, and get the holiday you want.
Report this content Kal223 Written on: 13/02/2014
My experience with them was terrible. They cancelled the hotel booking and didn't bother to tell me!. The reason they gave me was that I made the booking and then made another booking for an extra day at a later point. They reckoned that I might have been a fraudster. Not just someone who decided to stay a day longer! Absolutely useless complaints process and non existent customer service. I've also heard of many examples where they allow you to book for hotels that are already full and then tell you after you've booked your flights. Good luck if you plan to use them I wouldn't!
See All Answers
questionAnswer
onthebeach.co.uk