HouseTrip - www.housetrip.com – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by ljupkica on 13th February 2014 Report this content
We would like to book the apartment from the 15th to 17th February. Can we release our payment on the 14th February (one day before arrival). Is it too late for booking?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content DrBenjaminP Written on: 14/02/2014
Hi there. With a firm booking, I am sure this would not be a problem. Once you have a booking, you will be able to communicate direct with the owner. She speaks good English also - a bonus.
Report this content ivanak Written on: 14/02/2014
I think it's not too late, but you can ask the owner, he will answer any question.
Report this content Mura-Mura Written on: 14/02/2014
Hi, i did the same - booked in 1 day before arrival & everything was ok, just i needed to be in net all the time cause wanted to know more details about the place & check address where y are planning to stay - site didnt show me the full adress & I didnt mention that, then it was a little problem - i coudnt find number of building ;) but at the end i enjoy place, owner & so on. Good luck!
Report this content LadyLu Written on: 14/02/2014
Dear Sirs, Thank you for your letter. About your question regarding booking, it is better to contact the site, or owner directly... But, please, keep in mind, that it needs 100% prepayment, and if you will change your mind, you will be charged anywhere 15-100% of this amount... This is House Trip rool... Best regards, LadyLu
Report this content DamieninDublin Written on: 14/02/2014
Having used this excellent Housetrip service for renting a house in London in July 2013 I am happy with how the service works. Basically, the person renting the property has to wait 24 hours after you have begun using the property to get paid by Housetrip. The Housetrip company do this to allow you to cancel the property if you find it is not as advertised. This being said you need to pay a company - Housetrip in advance based upon their terms not yours. Your request seems unrealistic in terms of the closeness of the booking time to the rental time. Ok having paid upfront your money is still with Housetrip but I am confident you will get it back rwasonably quickly should you cancel or get some of it back if you complain about the accomodation within the first 24 hours.
Report this content diamondebb Written on: 17/02/2014
I booked for overseas. There was a process, I applied, they had to approve me before anything was confirmed. This all took time. I would recommend applying in advance. I know this is late but it may help in the future. The link provided for me to answer would not connect. I hope this helps.
See All Answers
Asked by europetrip1 on 31st January 2014 Report this content
I am thinking of booking accommodation at 'New Bright & Spacious Flat In Central Paris' which is posted on your web site, however, when I tried to book they wanted payment in euro's. When I calculated the amount back to AUD I found it was more than what is advertised on your site. How do I contact the owners to find out why this is so? If there are additional fees, I would like to know what they are for. Your help with this would be appreciated. Thanking you, Kerry Berton

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (22)
Report this content irisdebbie Written on: 03/02/2014
When I booked there were no hidden fees, the owner will answer any question, just contact her through the contact owner link on the site. Ok
Report this content MBDtravel Written on: 03/02/2014
Hosts set their payment in the currency they need, and the housetrip is giving you only and indication of price on your currency which is changing daily as you know. We are mbd-apartments host, and we know what are you talking about. Cheers
Report this content diamondebb Written on: 03/02/2014
When I booked, I had to be approved first by the person renting the facility. There should be an e-mail address to discuss the cost and contact that person. I suspect that there may be a refundable deposit, to cover the cost of any damage or repairs required should anything occur during their stay. I had to pay a 400E CASH deposit upon arrival, which was refunded upon departure.
Report this content SumanGupta Written on: 03/02/2014
All the people that have posted their properties do want the payment in local currency. The rate of exchange can be in your favour or not depending how strong your own currency is against theirs. You will have to convert, take in account the conversion rate and fee to arrive at the true amount you are paying for an accommodation. Also included sometimes in the final rate is a cleaning fee or late check in fee which is usually mentioned separately on the page. You can contact the owner by writing to them through House trip, when they respond back to your query about availablity, write back asking for clarifications.
Report this content afsteel Written on: 03/02/2014
Hi, since I did use Housetrip in the past, I received a email from review center and was asked to answer your question (if I could). The fact is that I didn't experience your problem, since I performed my payment in US$ and charged it to my Credit Card. When I payed my credit card company... I did it en Pesos (since I live in Argentina). The back took care of the exchange rate. What I can say, is that my entire experience with Housetrip, and with the owners of the apartment we rented in Paris, was fabulous. We certainly enjoyed our holidays, and the apartent was exactly how it was advertised... not more, not less, and the hospitality from the owners was overwhelming.
Report this content J-Dawg45 Written on: 03/02/2014
I think you contacted the wrong person. We did not stay in Paris, the only place we stayed using house trip was in Vienna, sorry I can't help you with your request.
Report this content Olga27 Written on: 03/02/2014
As far as I know all additional costs are usually quoted in an advertisement. Some hosts seek some additional charges but they always write about it. HouseTrip' fee depends on the room/flat price and You can see this information before booking. Cross rates such as EUR/AUD, especially now are not very 'good' because of the current economic situation and because of bank's or agency's commission that is added to the official currency rate that is valid for the payment date. If it is possible, I suggest to choose another dates. Or You can always write to the support team and ask these questions. They reply very quickly. Good luck!
Report this content lemitarjane Written on: 03/02/2014
In my experiece with Houstrip I would think the extra charge is booking fees. Unlike other accommodations they charge to book. Not only that, if it has to be rebooked they charge you again. Last fall, we booked with them and at the very last moment the apartment owner cancelled leaving me in a panic. This was two days before our arrival. Housetrip found us a new (not what we wanted) property and charged us to rebook. I would also study the extra charges the property owner will charge you upon arrival and all the reviews for that property. We also had to sign a binding contract and give the owner our credit card to back it up. Their practices were stressful to deal with. Bon voyage!
Report this content Vonnan Written on: 03/02/2014
We had no additional costs when we rented the Parisian apartment. I tend to convert to either AU$ or NKR when I read the posts so I get an understanding of the 'real" cost in my head. Did not have any problems with our host or the accommodation in Paris. Very central, clean and bright, and the elevator to the 5th floor helped, as the apartment was on the 6th floor.
Report this content Sladge Written on: 03/02/2014
This is my experience with online booking. When I found the place I wanted to stay in, I send my request to the owner for the information if the flat is available. When we confirmed all the necessary details (I wrote to them who i am, with who I am coming and why, etc.) I was sent instructions for payment. I paid with my credit card and with some 17 euros of agency fee, it was just as it was stated in their offer. Also, when I arrived in Paris, the agency sent me few sms massages, instructing me what to do in the case of dissatisfaction: first to try to settle it with the owners and then to do something else. Fortunately, we were satisfied with our accommodation. Also note that there are some owners who insist on deposit, which is supposed to be returned on the end on your stay, but honestly, I avoided such offers. Hope that my answer will make things clearer for you. Good luck and all the best,
Report this content LadyLu Written on: 03/02/2014
I hope I woll help you with my experience. I booked apartments with House Trip 2 times. First time in Firenze, it was more, or less OK, if do not take into consideration bad room service (the room was dirty) and the TV wasn't ajusted. Second time I made booking in Sevilla, but when I checked by Google Earth, that there are massive repair works near by this apartment, I asked to change it to something different. The point is , that House Trip will give you the address, only when you make 100% prepayment... So, Touse Trip charged me 15% of stay, because I cancel this reservation... After that I decided never make deal with this company and make my booking with other sides Booking.com, Venere com., Expedia com etc. I wish you to find a nice apartment and have beautifull vacations !!!
Report this content moonrakre Written on: 03/02/2014
If you have already made an enquiry for availabilty you can message the owner by clicking respond in their answer. If you haven't make an enquiry as to availability first. Bear in mind that there are lots of different exchange rates about, so if the difference is small then it is probably the difference between buy/sell/average or various bank rates. Hope this helps
Report this content DrBenjaminP Written on: 03/02/2014
I suspect that the problem here is the exchange rates being used. If you send me your email address I will contact the owner directly via email with a cc to you and you can communicate with her. I can't do it here for privacy reasons. The Australian dollar has fallen against the euro a lot since were were there last year. We actually bypass banks which are terrible with their rates and use instead OzForex where you can set up an account and do your own transfers, provided these are at least $2000. We actually own a house in the south of France so have a bank account there as well, which simplifies things for us. However, given your situation and needs, I am not sure what might work best. It might be an idea to pay any deposit via credit card and then the balance in cash in euros when you arrive. There is a returnable 300 euro damage and breakage fee on top of the cost of your stay. Again, I was able to give the owner a cheque drawn on my French bank which she returned at the end of our stay as there was of course, no damage. The owner's cleaning lady gave it back prior to our departure and following an inspection. In fact, we had cleaned the apartment totally and there was really nothing much to do other than change the bedding. The apartment is very compact but one of the best we have used. Places in Paris can be like shoeboxes. Also, the area is really conveniently located, a step from Arts et Métier metro but also in easy walking distance of much. Best of luck!
Report this content rayrabbit Written on: 03/02/2014
Having just been to Paris, albeit not with Housetrip this time, I will attempt to answer your question. When travelling Europe, there are certain 'hidden' costs that the owners do not always advertise. In most European cities there is a 2Euro "city tax" that all letting agents must pay. Many will also charge a "cleaning fee" of up to 20 Euro. A third option is a "Breakage deposit" which may be levied. These charges are often not reflected on the website because the website charges commission on the total sales value. As these amounts are not part of the 'profits' and are paid directly to third parties they are often hidden so the website owners do not charge commission on these charges. You are normally permitted to contact the owners through the website portal, but not directly. Go to the message centre and by all means ask the owners for a break-down of the quotation and if you are not happy - look elsewhere. Finally, remember that the exchange rates differ slightly from bank to bank, and if you are working off an exchange rate from a news broadcast, these are not that accurate and the websites add forex commissions when calculating the amount you would pay. Rather go into your banks website, look for the foreign exchange rates and use the rate under 'Bank selling' to do your calculations, then add on a few dollars (20 to 40) to cover your bank charges. I hope this helps. Kind Regards
Report this content nik_boump Written on: 03/02/2014
Good evening! You should contact the owner and let him/her answer your questions. The price is in euros and there is a slight change day by day when you have to calculate the price in your local currency. My advice is to read all the information thoroughly.
Report this content drpbailey Written on: 03/02/2014
Exchange rates can often be a problem, but I found the owners of this flat to be very accommodating and approachable. As soon as we had made the booking we established a friendly contact and I think you would be able to resolve this speedily. (And the apartment is so good that a premium exchange rate would be a small price to pay!)
Report this content Retroseeker Written on: 03/02/2014
You will see on the page of the listing will be contact information for the owner. Just send them an email asking for a breakdown in costs and ask why there might be a difference. I found communication with owners to be fairly quick and easy. Happy travels
Report this content raminta.silkarskyte Written on: 03/02/2014
I had no difference in prices.Currency I use is EU. Re:contact the owners, you need to send a request to book the place first,then if they accept it you will get the email address. The best of luck! If there is anything else I can help, please don't hesitate to contact me.
Report this content AHToHeo Written on: 04/02/2014
Sometimes exchange rates have increased volatility, and then the bank insures its risks on currency conversion. Apparently at the time of ordering the conversion rate of the Australian dollar was not very good and had increased sprad for conversion into euros. I do not think that the amount differed significantly.
Report this content Brodie13 Written on: 05/02/2014
It stated on the info that payment was required in Euro's so you can calculate how much that is in whatever currency you use, before making a booking. There are no hidden extras - but be aware that you will either have to clean the apartment yourself, or for an agreed flat fee the owners would do that.
Report this content rve1707 Written on: 05/02/2014
1. be aware that the prices on housetrip are stated as "From €.. per night". 2. Perhaps your chosen dates are in a more expensive period. 3. send a request and after that you can contact the owner. 4. look at the extra costs, listed in the summary. My overall experience with housetrip is perfect!
Report this content lindylou40 Written on: 08/02/2014
I've not booked this venue however found that direct contact with owner is always best policy. As previously monitored currency changes quite quickly and advert may have been set a while ago.
See All Answers
questionAnswer