Global Hoppers Reviews - www.globalhoppers.co.uk

02034744972
★★☆☆☆
2.0 / 5
159
28% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Global Hoppers - www.globalhoppers.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Global Hoppers - www.globalhoppers.co.uk

Global Hoppers - www.globalhoppers.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“They lie when they increase price over advertised price ”

Written on: 22/02/2017

Globalhoppers adevrtised a hotel in canaries for £429 from Luton on 29/5/2017. When phoned they said involved a stop over but could do direct on 22/5/2017 for £1498 for 2. When I asked why it was so much more than advertised he checked with his bosses, phoned back 10 minutes later and said all the double rooms had gone so I would get a junior suite and thats why price was £500+ more than expected. I had already checked hotel on about 10 different websites and even checked on hotels own… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Misleading and unprofessional”

Written on: 05/02/2017 by KatieFynes (1 review written)

We saw a few deals on ice lolly we were interested in so called Global Hoppers to enquire. We were told yes you can have that deal at that price. Great we thought. As this was for our honeymoon we were very excited. We gave the man all our details including card details to pay a deposit, selected our flights and confirmed everything with the reservation team. An hour later a different man called us and told us that the deal was not actually available and tried to sell us a holiday that was 600… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 10/02/2017

We apologise and appreciate how disappointing this must have been for you. Unfortunately, we are not ourselves suppliers and therefore we have no direct control over air fares and room rates. We have access to some of the best deals around and if we took your card details for the arrangement in question the sales agent would have viewed availability with the suppliers concerned and would have been confident that the bookings you wanted were available. However – although it is impossible to be specific without more information – it may have been that when we tried to complete the reservation process we were told by one of the suppliers that the product in question was no longer available. Perhaps it was sold out or the price had increased – I can assure you that this happens rarely but when it does all we can do is go back to our customer immediately and advise them. We make sure we then have viable options to offer but if – as in your case – those options are not acceptable, there is little more we can do at that point.

We would stress once more that the situation you describe is an unusual one and we would urge you not to allow your experience to put you off trying us again. We can offer great prices to a wide variety of destinations and we trust that on the next occasion your enquiries will be more successful.

Reply to this comment

Chrisfynes's reply to Ghcustomeservice's Comment

Written on: 16/02/2017

Then this company has little point in being on a comparison website like Icelolly. If you cannot honour the prices that are stated in black and white (with absolutely nothing suggesting that the price may go up/down) then there needs to be some sort of disclaimer. I have recently checked (and have been checking for the past few weeks) and the same holiday with the same dates has stayed exactly the same, pricewise. It also states that it is updated on a daily basis. Other more sensible companies have put their prices as 'from' the stated amount. Otherwise it leaves a very bitter taste with the customer feeling like they've been duped with cheap sales tactics. I willingly handed over my name, address, telephone number, email AND credit card details because I was certain I was booking a holiday. The fact that all these details have to be taken BEFORE everything is confirmed is just wrong.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Unproffesional, poor service, treating client like a dirt.”

Written on: 23/01/2017 by Fletcherxn178 (1 review written)

If I was able to give them negative amount of stars I would definitely go for it. Just called the company to find out more deatils about the holiday I found online. I was treated awfuly! First of all the consultant was really harsh. I heard he didn't want to speak to me, seemed to be forced to even answer the phone, and above all of that he was bored by the conversation. Is that really what your company has to offer? It is just unbelieveble how it can still exist if you treat your costumers… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 04/02/2017

We are extremely concerned by what you have said and can assure you that your experience was not representative of the normal service provided by our agents. Your comments have been taken very seriously and we will be initiating an internal review to ensure that we receive no complaint of a similar kind again. You have every right to find out all you can about the arrangements you require, and we appreciate that it is not always possible to make an immediate decision without discussing options with other members of your party. Unfortunately, because we are agents only for third party suppliers, we can never guarantee that prices will remain static – it is always possible that fares or room rates may rise by the time you contact us again. However, this should be have been clarified courteously and we apologise again if the agent to whom you spoke failed to deal with your enquiry in a professional manner on this occasion.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst holiday”

Written on: 22/01/2017 by aiWood159 (1 review written)

Do not book with this company it is a disgrace… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 23/01/2017

We are very sorry that you have found it appropriate to post this negative review but it is impossible to comment since you have provided us with no details. Please contact us via the link on this page so we can look into the cause of your complaint and hopefully put things right.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away - DONT GIVE CARD DETAILS OVER”

Written on: 12/01/2017 by fkVega121 (1 review written)

DONT GIVE CARD DETAILS OVER - We went to book with them and stupidly gave over our card details! They will try to make you pay there and then even if you haven't confirmed payment. Do not go with them please. It's lucky that my partner was stern with them and made it clear that he would not be paying. They said that as they had used our card details to book the room we would have to pay for two nights if we hung up the phone. - DONT GIVE CARD DETAILS OVER… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 18/01/2017

It is impossible for us to respond without more information relating to the exchange that took place. However, we can assure you that you would only have been charged if you had already agreed to proceed with a reservation. Without your agreement to the booking going ahead, no reservation would have been processed and no payment taken.

We are not ourselves suppliers – we act only as agents for the companies who contract to provide travel services, and we have no control over cancellation charges. Before any bookings are made customers are told that if they subsequently cancel they will be charged. Therefore if the sales agent had already confirmed a reservation for you with a third party, he was right to advise you what the fee would be if you cancelled. As we have said, it is impossible to be more specific without additional details, but if you had not already agreed to proceed with a booking, that situation would not have applied.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“liars”

Written on: 01/01/2017 by AngieSaunders233 (1 review written)

theres nothing good about this company, it's like you're talking to a brick wall. at the time of the booking they don't give you a total price of the holiday, the total price includes a lot more than the quote they give you. it's only when you have given the card details and they send you the invoice it shows how much you are being charged for the holiday. The manager that was taking my booking was telling me i have to book it there and then to avoid getting higher charges and he wouldn't let… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 09/01/2017

We are sorry that you were unhappy with the service provided but we must challenge your suggestion that you did not know what your arrangements would cost before your invoice came through. Our agents would have clarified exactly what the total payment would be before you were charged – if that was not so, please contact us via the link at the top of this page and we will check the exchange for you. We must also challenge your claim that you were forced to make the booking – our sales agents are of course keen to get reservations confirmed whilst the prices they quote remain valid. Air fares and room rates can change several times a day and if customers do not make their bookings firm we can give no assurance as to whether prices will go up or not. However, you have every right to terminate a conversation at any point and could have done so in this instance if you did not wish to proceed.

Once again, we apologise if you were disappointed with the service you received but I trust that the price you paid remains highly competitive and we hope that the arrangements you booked prove to be enjoyable (or proved to be enjoyable if you have already travelled).

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Formal complaint - not responded to ”

Written on: 21/12/2016 by emmabb85 (1 review written)

My friend and I booked a holiday for us and her ten year old son. As this holiday had been planned for a while we had very specific criteria. We explained that we had a very limited budget, that we wanted somewhere in the sun, all-inclusive, suitable for kids (ideally with a kids club) and in specific dates (during half term). After a very long discussion we agreed to settle with dates slightly outside of what we wanted, for a higher price, and for less than a week. This was on the basis that… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 09/01/2017

We are sorry that your email was not answered sooner but we are agents only and we have to check complaints with suppliers before we can respond. However, I believe we have now been in touch with you and addressed all the points raised in full – we hope, to your satisfaction.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Customer Service non existant”

Written on: 20/12/2016 by youareliars (1 review written)

We booked a holiday and paid for a one bedroom apartment, when we arrived in Gran Canaria we were told we were moved to a different hotel and as compensation for the move would get a free breakfast but when we got to room it was only a studio apartment, is was late so we just decided to sort it out in morning, when we went to reception to explain, they said we needed to ring the number we have on the booking reference which we did, they said its not them we need to speak to and gave me another… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 09/01/2017

We can understand your frustration if events were as described and we are sorry if you did not get a definitive response to your complaint. However, please understand that we at Globalhoppers are only agents – we do not actually operate flights or make bookings with hotels. You would have been advised before your reservations went through that it was your suppliers who undertook to provide the services – our obligation is merely to make the bookings you request with the relevant third party companies.

When you travelled you would have had an accommodation voucher with your supplier's numbers on it and an instruction to call that number (or numbers) if any problems arose. If you called your supplier and they failed to give you appropriate assistance that it is unacceptable and the matter should be pursued. We cannot be more specific at this point as we know nothing of your particular complaint but, if you remain unhappy, please contact us via the link on this page and we will take the matter up again with the appropriate party.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Hidden costs”

Written on: 11/11/2016 by KarlyConnolly (1 review written)

After speaking with many different travel agents, Global hoppers came in cheapest. An agent emailed us with a full quote so we called to book, dealt with a nice rep who again confirmed the price and took our card details, no problem. Just as the call was drawing to a close, the rep, said he Just needed to pass us on to another team to finialise the booking, thats when the customer service evaporated. Our next contact wanted to add a further 8% of the original booking price as part of 'airline… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 28/11/2016

We are genuinely sorry that you were unhappy with the final price of the arrangement you booked. We hope that the charge remained competitive as we have access to some of the best deals available but we very much regret that you were unclear on why the supplements were applied. We cannot comment in detail without further information - you should have received a response by now if you wrote to us about this matter, but if not please feel free to contact us via the above link so we can look into it your complaint more carefully.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst company ever”

Written on: 30/10/2016 by Lintheboss (1 review written)

I had nothing but problems with global hoppers from as soon as I booked my holiday for them not giving me the right details to check in, ignoring my emails unless I threatened to contact ABTA to booking transfer home to take me to wrong airport I didn't get this all sorted till day before we flew home so holiday was stressful… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 10/11/2016

I am sorry to hear that you had problems with your booking. It is impossible to respond to what you say as we know nothing of the circumstances. Our sales and admin agents are usually professional and efficient but mistakes are sometimes made and we are sorry if that happened on this occasion. If you remain dissatisfied, please contact us via the link above and we will be happy to address your complaint in more detail.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“A trap ”

Written on: 24/10/2016 by Gorman248 (1 review written)

Do not use this company. I saw their add in holiday discount center for a holiday in Malta for £140.00 so I phoned them to book it. The man I spoke to said there was a single person supplement (there was no mention of this in their advert) It would cost me £265.00 ! This is a shady way of working and seems to be a trick to get you to call them… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 10/11/2016

We are sorry that the cost of the flight-plus arrangement you requested was more than that quoted in the promotion. We would clarify that we are not ourselves service providers and the quotation you saw would have been based on the best prices offered by the suppliers for whom we act as agents at the time the promotion went out. Accommodation suppliers always base costs on the premise that two will be sharing a room so, as a single customer, the pro rata charge applied for your hotel would always be more than that for a larger party. You may also have wanted a direct rather than indirect flight, or to travel on a different date to those included in the promotion. Rest assured there would have been good reasons for the price increase and please don’t be deterred from trying us again- we have some great deals available and next time we hope that we will be able to find you something suitable at a price you like.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Very bad”

Written on: 13/10/2016 by Keller423 (1 review written)

Never book with this company we booked 2 tickets to marbella only to find we were sent to a dinferential location 12km from marbella , no shops or bars nearby also we were told hotel was 4 star turned out to be 3 do not book with the company… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 20/10/2016

We are sorry you were disappointed with the hotel location but we would have offered to you the hotel in the location described in the supplier’s promotional text. We are only agents for suppliers and we rely on the information we are given. Marbella is a large resort and the part you were in may have been on the outskirts. However, if you were not where you expected to be, you could have called your suppliers when you were away to see if they could move you. The same situation would apply to the star rating – we quote the supplier’s star rating and this is not always the same as the official rating. You would have been given an accommodation voucher with your supplier’s contact details on it before you travelled and you could have rung them to discuss your worries if you felt the star rating you’d been given was inaccurate. We will be glad to take these issues up with your supplier now if you write in to us with a formal complaint but it appears that the two points you have raised were not due to errors on the part of Globalhoppers and we very much regret that you believe otherwise.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst holiday ever!!”

Written on: 13/10/2016 by JolieGuzman (1 review written)

I would advise people not yo book with this travel company as they are a rip off merchant !! I would give them zero stars if I could! Paid for a 4star hotel, got a crappy hotel which probably wasn't even 2 stars, it had dirty pans as it was self catering. Hotel was my the motorway in the middle of nowhere! Complained to the company who simply shouldn't do anything! Never book from this hotel y unless you want the holiday from hell!! … Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 20/10/2016

We are unsure from what you say whether you have written to us with a complaint since you returned but if you have done so it will be forwarded to the supplier for their comments. We are not hotel providers – we act only as agents for the companies with whom bookings are made and we give customers the descriptions we have been given when they call us for information. The star rating of your hotel would be available on-line – you may not consider that it was worthy of its category but I hope you will understand that we play no part in the rating process. We would have given you an accommodation voucher before you travelled with your supplier’s contact details on it, so if you were unhappy with the condition of your hotel you could have called them and asked them to address your concerns whilst you were away. If you failed to do so, they may not be willing to address your complaint after your trip has ended, but if you let us have a list of the issues that you want addressed we will be happy to pass them on and request a response.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The telephone sales team lie”

Written on: 11/10/2016 by PixieClayton (1 review written)

Both myself and my husband went away to Spain we changed rooms 3 times in 2 days then had to change hotel, The lovely quiet hotel was classed in spain as the worst in Spain and the telephone expert told us his family had been there and it was a good hotel, they also said we could have a sea view (which would not be possible unless you moved the hotel a few miles. please be very careful… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 20/10/2016

It is difficult to answer this in detail as we do not know the name of the property to which you refer. However, we must stress that we are not accommodation providers – we act only as agents for the companies with whom reservations are made. We give every customer an accommodation voucher before they travel, so they have the contact details for the company which has made their hotel booking for them. We stress on that accommodation voucher that they must call the provider if they have any problems so if you could not get a room you liked you should have rung them whilst you were away to see if they could move you. With regard to the provision of a sea view room, once again it is impossible to be specific as we have insufficient information, but we are sorry if you found there were no sea view rooms available at the property – we can assure you that the agent would not have intentionally misled you but if an error was made we apologise.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“EXTRA PRICES ”

Written on: 03/10/2016

After id agreed a price on the phone with the 1st person and he took my card details ...he read out everythng regarfing my holiday only to be put onto another person to be told i need to pay an extra 50 pounds told them i didnt want to book the holiday as it was to much extra that u wanted to pay and then he said i would have to pay a canelation fee So i ended up paying 50 pounds more than i wanted Never booj with these they just take ur money and dont tell u that u have to pay more… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 20/10/2016

We are sorry there was some confusion over the final price of your arrangements but no payment would have been taken unless and until you had agreed the total charge applied. We imagine that the additional charge was a supplier’s supplement over which we had no control but it is impossible to be more specific without additional information.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Advertised flight leaving Belfast but not a direct flight”

Written on: 01/10/2016 by qlBall11 (1 review written)

Used holidaysdiscountcentre to find an ideal holiday for my elderly parents to take a trip to the algarve for the 10 days (the deal was 10 days self catering with Mirachoro Ii, Praia De Rocha, Algarve, Portugal leaving Belfast for £112 each). Impressed with the price of the holiday my elderly parents contacted me with the details which i looked up. Initial warnings jumped out at me. The site had no secure connection, the site was then asking us to contact another broker which we were not aware… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 20/10/2016

Without further information it is impossible to answer your complaint in detail but we wholly refute the inferences you make. We have a website and it provides full contact details for the company, the Travel Group of which we are a member, our ABTA number and our ATOL number. When we offer promotions we base them on indirect flights because that provides the cheapest option, but there may well be additional supplements payable and we specify these before any agreement is reached. Customers are always made aware of the full cost before any transactions are processed. We are sorry that we were unable to help you on this occasion – however, we can assure you your concerns are misplaced and hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us at some time in the future.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“NOT INTERESTED IN ANYTING BUT GETTING YOUR MONEY”

Written on: 27/09/2016 by swestronan (2 reviews written)

WE WHERE FIRST OFFERED A HOTEL THAT HAD THE WORST REVIEWS EVER WE WERE A PARYT OF SIX WITH A 1YEAR OLD AND A PENSIONER WITH HEALTH ISSUES, WE BOOKED THAT HOTEL THEN I READ THE REVIEWS SO WE CHANGED TO ANOTHER HOTEL THIS COST MORE. WE ASKE THEM TO BOOK ASSISTANCE AT THE AIRPORT, ARRIVED AT AIRPORT ASSISTANCE HAD NOT BEEN BOOKED. WE ARRIVED AT OUR DESTINATION AIRPORT & WAITED FOR COACH WE WERE THE LAST TO BE DROPPED OFF, THE COACH STOPPED AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD 300 YARDS FROM OUR HOTEL AND WE… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 30/09/2016

I would firstly clarify that we are not service providers. We are only agents and we would have made this clear to you before your bookings were accepted. We encourage customers to check hotels before they are booked – we can give no undertakings regarding them but rely on the information we are given by the suppliers which we pass on in good faith on their behalf. With regard to airport assistance, if you spoke to our agent about this the request would have been forwarded on to the airline but it is often wise for customers with mobility issues to check directly with their carrier to make certain the request has been logged and action taken.

Transfer providers usually state on their vouchers that if hotels are located in a street which cannot be accessed by their vehicles customers will be dropped as near to the hotel entrance as possible. However, if you feel that the service you received was poor we will be glad to forward your concerns on to the relevant transfer provider once we receive the complaint in writing.

With regard to your refreshments, all-inclusive hotels have specific times during which meals and drinks will be available. I am afraid if you require food or drink outside those hours, you will have to pay for it – or it may not even be available if the hotel has limited catering facilities. Once again, this is an issue which must be addressed by the supplier and if you have written to us it should already have been passed to the relevant provider to investigate. If you want an update on these matters, or are concerned that your complaints have not yet been properly acknowledged, please contact us via the link at the top of this page and we will check the status of your file.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor service & lies”

Written on: 19/09/2016 by Nehemiahb385 (1 review written)

Booked lanzorote with these after the initial price hike from £471 to £599 I was told I would receive email of confirmation of my booking never arrived complained 3 times & was told sorry the email will with you within the hour eventually rang back & guess what we are now closed no receipt no contract no holiday no payment blocked by credit card company that's what you get for poorservice off to a proper travel agent to book a stress free holiday, once these companies start telling lies your… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 30/09/2016

I am sorry your confirmation did not come through. It may well be that your email address was wrongly recorded by our agent as the process whereby your confirmation is emailed to you is an automatic one and there should have been no problem. Rest assured if you have paid us for travel arrangements they will have been booked so if your queries have not yet been answered please contact us via the link at the top of this page in order that we can put your mind at rest.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not book with this company”

Written on: 14/09/2016 by Madelinenewson01 (1 review written)

booked our holiday in June to sunset beach club they were keen to take our money but trying to ring them or getting them to ring back was a nightmare the lack of communication meant we were stuck in a inner room with no view in the basement if the hotel we were assured by global hoppers that there agent had requested a sea or mountain view, the hotel never received this request I know it isn't guaranteed but they never got it anyway, I spent 2.days of my Ho,I day trying to sort this out with… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 30/09/2016

Please do not let this experience deter you from booking again on-line as there are numerous deals available which can save you a great deal of money. You will see – if you check your travel documents – that you would have been given an accommodation voucher and this would have had on it a local number to call for your accommodation providers overseas. We must stress that we are not hotel providers – we act only as agents for the companies with whom rooms are booked. We are very sorry if you felt the response you received when you called was slow but whilst we are happy to try and help customers who call us when they are away, it is quicker to ring the accommodation provider direct as they contract with hoteliers and are better able to offer practical and effective resolutions to any problems that arise overseas.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst holiday ever”

Written on: 08/09/2016 by Georgiegirl27 (1 review written)

I have one holiday a year as money is tight and we booked to Mallorca hotel Palma mazas we arrived at airport and was walking around for half an hour trying to find transfer bus no one around to ask who we could understand , eventually we found bus got to hotel it was disgusting not like it said on line , no air conditioning, one plug socket,bathroom tiny , actual room tiny, had to use another hotel for tea which food was disgusting had stomach cramps after eating , breakfast in hotel was basic… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 09/09/2016

We are sorry you were unhappy with your transfer and hotel but we must stress that we are not service providers. You would have been advised before your reservations were accepted that we are agents only for the suppliers of the arrangements you book. However, you would have been given vouchers for both hotel and transfers and if you could not find your driver you had a number to call so you could arrange collection. You have suggested that you travelled without a phone but this is not recommended – all your providers give you telephone numbers to ring in the case of an emergency and it is vital you do not go away without the means of making contact if you need to do so.

With regard to your hotel, we cannot comment in detail on the property as we do not know any details. However, once again you should have rung your supplier and they would have investigated your claims whilst you were away and taken appropriate action. If you remain unhappy please put your complaint in writing and we will gladly pass this on to the supplier so they can address the points you have raised. You can contact us via the link at the top of this page.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
overview