Global Hoppers Reviews - www.globalhoppers.co.uk

02034744972
★★☆☆☆
2.0 / 5
249
26.5% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Global Hoppers - www.globalhoppers.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Global Hoppers - www.globalhoppers.co.uk

Global Hoppers - www.globalhoppers.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“NEVER AGAIN !!”

Written on: 23/05/2017 by Mandan4eva (1 review written)

I have booked 4 holidays with this company in the last 12 months. The 1st 2 holidays was fine except the accommodation was not what we was told, I have proceeded to book a further 2 holidays for July and August this year. I've had nothing but problems to the point I've had to go to my drs for anxiety and stress. Each of the problems ARE at fault of the advisors and the fact there English is not very good but guess what each time I have them do an investigation the company come back with the… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“bank card declined”

Written on: 19/05/2017 by Avery458 (1 review written)

used this company before no problems. got to giving bank details this time.price agreed at £918.called me back saying my card was declined. called my bank .no attempt to take the £918 by anyone.phoned the rep and explained this.transferred to manager who said the price was now £1050. this is just another tactic to get more money.tried to get me to upgrade the room for an extra £210.this was at an hotel who only have very good rooms.told him I was going to put in a poor review. he was not… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Baggage allowance ”

Written on: 03/05/2017 by yyMacKenzie1946 (1 review written)

Won't be booking with globelhoppers AGAIN booked our holiday to Benidorm was coming in about £450 for 2 adults booked the holiday then gets a phone call to tell us the flight had went up so paid another £140 going away on Saturday this is Wednesday and just discovered we have to pay £70 each for our suitcases this is just a rip off our holiday price started off cheap and ended up far to dear won't ever be booking with them again… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 09/05/2017

It is impossible to comment in detail on your complaint as we do not have the specifics relating to your booking. Unfortunately, we are not flight or accommodation providers – we act only as agents for the companies with whom reservations are made and we have no control over prices which can be raised or lowered by suppliers on a daily or even hourly basis dependent upon demand. If your flights had already been confirmed and the price of your arrangements agreed the price would not have been subsequently increased. However, if we had given you only an initial quotation the prices may well have increased when they were checked with the suppliers – it would have been for you to agree or reject them at that point. And with regard to suitcases, no budget airline now includes the cost of stowed bags in the fare – these must be paid for separately and we do not set the charges. We trust this answers your queries and hope that you will not now be deterred from using us again in the future.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Complaint against Travel Agent”

Written on: 25/04/2017 by staceylynn (1 review written)

I have just returned from a 10/11 day holiday in Tenerife, I was booked into a lovely 4* hotel with Junior Suite in Puerto Santiago, the day I arrived, after realising that the location was not suitable, and not as stated, I called Global Hoppers and asked if possible to move me. They were meant to call back but after numerous chasing calls (which cost me) I eventually got through. They were able to move me the next morning. As mentioned I was in a 4*, they moved me to a below standard… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 09/05/2017

We must stress that we are not ourselves accommodation providers – we act only as agents for the companies with whom hotels and apartments are booked. When you travelled, we would have given you a voucher with your supplier’s number on it and an instruction to call them if you needed assistance when you were overseas. If you had a problem it would therefore have been wise to call them directly for help.

When you called us, we would have had to approach your supplier for you – we would not have had authority to move you nor would we have been able to directly book another property for you. The alternative accommodation would have been offered by your supplier and if it was unacceptable presumably you could have remained at the original hotel. It is difficult to be more specific without knowing the background to your complaint. However, if you have already written to us about this matter we will have taken it up with your supplier and they will hopefully be able to respond in more detail to the points you have raised.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Left us stranded with a child in Hersonnisis Crete ”

Written on: 19/04/2017 by Morvadutherland (1 review written)

We used this company last year 30/07-09/08/16 . After a few days we realised the hotel we were in (Eden Rock Ierapetra Crete) was disgusting last straw was human waste coming through flood of ladies toilets . We phoned GH after a lot of phoning a guy called Roman said they would move us if we paid the taxi to Hersonnisis it cost €110 . They gave us the name of the hotel when we got there there was no booking for us . When phoning GH to find out what was happening we were told to phone back… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 09/05/2017

We are sorry that you had problems overseas but we must stress that we are not accommodation providers. We act only as agents for the companies with whom hotels and apartments are booked. When you travelled, you would have been given an accommodation voucher with your supplier’s numbers on it and would have been instructed to call them if you had problems overseas. You say you called us instead and under those circumstances we would have had to contact your supplier and any instructions or transfer arrangements would have come from them – not Globalhoppers.

Without more details it is impossible to respond here in greater detail so if you have a complaint then please submit it to us via the above link and we will be glad to take the matter up with your supplier.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Indians”

Written on: 13/04/2017 by BoGuzman1988 (1 review written)

Very robot-like trained Indian speakers who are rude and try to stuff any holidays just to buy it with them. Continue calling a thousand times after I decide not to go for the offer and when I finally did, they could not even check me in properly and I had to call easyjet for my boarding pass. Moreover, if I was told that my holiday was booked by them via Easyjet holidays of which they did not inform me, I would not book it with them but directly with trusted source. In addition, Indian male… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 09/05/2017

I am sorry you were unhappy with the service provided by our sales agents and note with interest all the comments you have made. It is impossible to respond to the points you have raised without further details so if you have a complaint please submit it to us via the above link and we will check your booking and respond accordingly.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ripoff”

Written on: 09/04/2017

my friend whom I am travelling with was renewing his passport so I didn't quite get his name as per passport when I booked £190 to put it right disgusting.i will certainly be writing to A.B.T.A. and trading standards… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 10/04/2017

We are very sorry that you had to pay to get the name changed but you would have been clearly advised at the time you provided names that it was essential these were exactly as they were written on your passports. If there are any discrepancies you may be denied boarding when you arrive at the airport.

As we explained when you made your reservations, we at Globalhoppers are not ourselves service providers. We are merely agents for the companies with whom bookings are made. Once a flight booking is confirmed, if you subsequently have to amend the name on a ticket the airline will apply a significant charge since they take this as a full name change. The situation is out of our hands but if you want any further clarification please feel free to contact our administration staff via the above link.

Reply to this comment

Mrmoley's Comment

Written on: 10/04/2017

if it is out of your hands and easyjets website states a £50 charge why have you fleeced me for £190.my problem is not paying for the name change its the ripoff amount.never use your company again.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid!! Avoid!! Avoid!!!”

Written on: 30/03/2017

I naievely gave my bank details when i wasnt 100% confident. I am now having huge problems to get a refund from them. The same hotel and flights are half the amount with booking.com I have been ripped off and they wont cancel . Avoid them . There customer service is appalling… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 10/04/2017

I am sorry you found your arrangements were available for a lower price with another operator. We are surprised as the deals we offer are usually extremely competitive – nevertheless we know flight charges and room rates change on a regular basis and we can give no guarantees in that respect. However, we must respectfully refute your suggestion that you were co-erced into booking - you would have been advised very clearly before you agreed to proceed that if you subsequently decided to cancel then charges would be applied. This is not a “rip off” - we are only agents for the companies who supply flights and hotel rooms and they set cancellation fees. The situation would be out of our hands and you would have been in the same position whoever you booked with.

If you still want to cancel, please contact us at the email address above – flights are usually non-refundable once they are confirmed but a partial refund may be available on your accommodation. Let us know what you wish to do and we will give you every assistance possible.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Global Hoppers Never Again”

Written on: 02/03/2017 by victims (1 review written)

I travel frequently this is the first time I,v used them AND THE LAST TIME. They stated 4 star hotel it wasn't. They said they would send boarding passes, I explained I didnt have a PC away with me despite that I didnt get the passes and had to find a pc to use. The whole thing with them was aggravation from start to finish. Like I say NEVER AGAIN… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 08/03/2017

We are sorry that you were unhappy with the service you received. However, we would firstly remind you that we are not hotel providers – your accommodation would have been booked with a third party supplier for whom we acted only as agents and we would have made this clear before your reservation was processed. The star rating and property description would have come from that supplier – not Globalhoppers – and if you were dissatisfied with your hotel we would have been happy to pass your complaint to the supplier for investigation.

As far as boarding passes are concerned, we assume you were booked with one of the low-cost operators who will not allow customers to print boarding passes until 7 days before they fly. That can often mean return boarding passes are unavailable until passengers are already overseas. We acknowledge that this can prove difficult for some, but it is a process over which we have no control. However, with most airlines one can now save boarding passes to one’s phone, and many hoteliers will also allow guests to check in and print off their boarding passes in the hotel lobby.

Once again, we apologise if these issues caused you aggravation but we trust we have clarified that this was not due to any failure on the part of Globalhoppers. That being so, we hope you will review your decision not to use us again and that we can look forward to being of further assistance to you on some future occasion.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“They lie when they increase price over advertised price ”

Written on: 22/02/2017

Globalhoppers adevrtised a hotel in canaries for £429 from Luton on 29/5/2017. When phoned they said involved a stop over but could do direct on 22/5/2017 for £1498 for 2. When I asked why it was so much more than advertised he checked with his bosses, phoned back 10 minutes later and said all the double rooms had gone so I would get a junior suite and thats why price was £500+ more than expected. I had already checked hotel on about 10 different websites and even checked on hotels own… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 23/02/2017

We are sorry that the arrangement you wanted was more expensive than that quoted on the promotion but the hotel would have been available on the date originally chosen had you agreed to fly on the indirect service you were first offered. As agents, we do not have direct control over availability – we do not ourselves book hotels or operate flights – the services are booked with third party providers. As we have no details of your enquiry we cannot be specific but when direct flights are included they are always more expensive than those with stop-overs. On the original date, we may also have been given a special offer from one of the suppliers through whom the hotel was booked – again, it is impossible to be more specific, but all the suppliers offer rooms at different rates and we could only quote the best room rate available on the date concerned.

It is unfortunate that we were unable to find you a flight and hotel within the budget you had set but please do not be deterred from using us again – we are able to access some great deals and hopefully next time we can find you the arrangement of your choice at a price you like.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Disappointed ”

Written on: 17/02/2017 by Thornton388 (1 review written)

booked with an agent and he said we were getting g sea view rooms next to our other family travelling with us but we didn t get either and it was supposed to be close to shop and restaurants in Puerto del Carmen we are an hours walk away will not use these again which is a shame as have used them before and it was ok… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 23/02/2017

Without further information it is impossible to be specific but as agents we do not ourselves make the bookings with your hotel. We would not have guaranteed adjacent rooms – it is impossible for us to do so. We – and your supplier – can request them but it is the hotelier who allocates rooms dependent upon availability on the day. If your sea view was part of the room description the hotelier was obliged to provide it and you should have called your supplier (their numbers would have been on your accommodation voucher) so the situation could be rectified. However, if this too was only a request, it would have been down to the hotelier’s discretion and subject to availability. Our sales agent should have made this clear when you booked, and we can only apologise if there was any misunderstanding.

As far as the location of your hotel was concerned, the information you quote would have come from the supplier and not from Globalhoppers. If you were unhappy you should have called your supplier immediately to see if you could be moved but there is nothing we can do at this stage but apologise once more for any disappointment caused. However, we hope you will reconsider your decision not to use us again – we have access to some of the cheapest deals available, and we trust that next time no problems of any kind will arise.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Misleading and unprofessional”

Written on: 05/02/2017 by KatieFynes (1 review written)

We saw a few deals on ice lolly we were interested in so called Global Hoppers to enquire. We were told yes you can have that deal at that price. Great we thought. As this was for our honeymoon we were very excited. We gave the man all our details including card details to pay a deposit, selected our flights and confirmed everything with the reservation team. An hour later a different man called us and told us that the deal was not actually available and tried to sell us a holiday that was 600… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 10/02/2017

We apologise and appreciate how disappointing this must have been for you. Unfortunately, we are not ourselves suppliers and therefore we have no direct control over air fares and room rates. We have access to some of the best deals around and if we took your card details for the arrangement in question the sales agent would have viewed availability with the suppliers concerned and would have been confident that the bookings you wanted were available. However – although it is impossible to be specific without more information – it may have been that when we tried to complete the reservation process we were told by one of the suppliers that the product in question was no longer available. Perhaps it was sold out or the price had increased – I can assure you that this happens rarely but when it does all we can do is go back to our customer immediately and advise them. We make sure we then have viable options to offer but if – as in your case – those options are not acceptable, there is little more we can do at that point.

We would stress once more that the situation you describe is an unusual one and we would urge you not to allow your experience to put you off trying us again. We can offer great prices to a wide variety of destinations and we trust that on the next occasion your enquiries will be more successful.

Reply to this comment

Chrisfynes's reply to Ghcustomeservice's Comment

Written on: 16/02/2017

Then this company has little point in being on a comparison website like Icelolly. If you cannot honour the prices that are stated in black and white (with absolutely nothing suggesting that the price may go up/down) then there needs to be some sort of disclaimer. I have recently checked (and have been checking for the past few weeks) and the same holiday with the same dates has stayed exactly the same, pricewise. It also states that it is updated on a daily basis. Other more sensible companies have put their prices as 'from' the stated amount. Otherwise it leaves a very bitter taste with the customer feeling like they've been duped with cheap sales tactics. I willingly handed over my name, address, telephone number, email AND credit card details because I was certain I was booking a holiday. The fact that all these details have to be taken BEFORE everything is confirmed is just wrong.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Pushy salesperson”

Written on: 02/02/2017 by xbDowling331 (1 review written)

Contacted them to enquire about holiday advertised on Icelolly.com where the price seemed too good to be true, Firstly I was told that the holiday advertised was not a direct flight, nothing about that in the listing! The operator then found me a direct flight - I had no questions about the hotel as we had been before. Although the price was still ok, I felt that I was being pressured to purchase something that I wanted time to think about. Usual story, flights nearly full etc. etc. when I… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 04/02/2017

We apologise if the sales agent to whom you spoke was a little too enthusiastic. We appreciate wholly the point you have made and we have passed your comments on to the sales team and asked them to take note as we would not like to receive a complaint of a similar kind on any future occasion.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Unproffesional, poor service, treating client like a dirt.”

Written on: 23/01/2017 by Fletcherxn178 (1 review written)

If I was able to give them negative amount of stars I would definitely go for it. Just called the company to find out more deatils about the holiday I found online. I was treated awfuly! First of all the consultant was really harsh. I heard he didn't want to speak to me, seemed to be forced to even answer the phone, and above all of that he was bored by the conversation. Is that really what your company has to offer? It is just unbelieveble how it can still exist if you treat your costumers… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 04/02/2017

We are extremely concerned by what you have said and can assure you that your experience was not representative of the normal service provided by our agents. Your comments have been taken very seriously and we will be initiating an internal review to ensure that we receive no complaint of a similar kind again. You have every right to find out all you can about the arrangements you require, and we appreciate that it is not always possible to make an immediate decision without discussing options with other members of your party. Unfortunately, because we are agents only for third party suppliers, we can never guarantee that prices will remain static – it is always possible that fares or room rates may rise by the time you contact us again. However, this should be have been clarified courteously and we apologise again if the agent to whom you spoke failed to deal with your enquiry in a professional manner on this occasion.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst holiday”

Written on: 22/01/2017 by aiWood159 (1 review written)

Do not book with this company it is a disgrace… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 23/01/2017

We are very sorry that you have found it appropriate to post this negative review but it is impossible to comment since you have provided us with no details. Please contact us via the link on this page so we can look into the cause of your complaint and hopefully put things right.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away - DONT GIVE CARD DETAILS OVER”

Written on: 12/01/2017 by fkVega121 (1 review written)

DONT GIVE CARD DETAILS OVER - We went to book with them and stupidly gave over our card details! They will try to make you pay there and then even if you haven't confirmed payment. Do not go with them please. It's lucky that my partner was stern with them and made it clear that he would not be paying. They said that as they had used our card details to book the room we would have to pay for two nights if we hung up the phone. - DONT GIVE CARD DETAILS OVER… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 18/01/2017

It is impossible for us to respond without more information relating to the exchange that took place. However, we can assure you that you would only have been charged if you had already agreed to proceed with a reservation. Without your agreement to the booking going ahead, no reservation would have been processed and no payment taken.

We are not ourselves suppliers – we act only as agents for the companies who contract to provide travel services, and we have no control over cancellation charges. Before any bookings are made customers are told that if they subsequently cancel they will be charged. Therefore if the sales agent had already confirmed a reservation for you with a third party, he was right to advise you what the fee would be if you cancelled. As we have said, it is impossible to be more specific without additional details, but if you had not already agreed to proceed with a booking, that situation would not have applied.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“liars”

Written on: 01/01/2017 by AngieSaunders233 (1 review written)

theres nothing good about this company, it's like you're talking to a brick wall. at the time of the booking they don't give you a total price of the holiday, the total price includes a lot more than the quote they give you. it's only when you have given the card details and they send you the invoice it shows how much you are being charged for the holiday. The manager that was taking my booking was telling me i have to book it there and then to avoid getting higher charges and he wouldn't let… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 09/01/2017

We are sorry that you were unhappy with the service provided but we must challenge your suggestion that you did not know what your arrangements would cost before your invoice came through. Our agents would have clarified exactly what the total payment would be before you were charged – if that was not so, please contact us via the link at the top of this page and we will check the exchange for you. We must also challenge your claim that you were forced to make the booking – our sales agents are of course keen to get reservations confirmed whilst the prices they quote remain valid. Air fares and room rates can change several times a day and if customers do not make their bookings firm we can give no assurance as to whether prices will go up or not. However, you have every right to terminate a conversation at any point and could have done so in this instance if you did not wish to proceed.

Once again, we apologise if you were disappointed with the service you received but I trust that the price you paid remains highly competitive and we hope that the arrangements you booked prove to be enjoyable (or proved to be enjoyable if you have already travelled).

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Formal complaint - not responded to ”

Written on: 21/12/2016 by emmabb85 (1 review written)

My friend and I booked a holiday for us and her ten year old son. As this holiday had been planned for a while we had very specific criteria. We explained that we had a very limited budget, that we wanted somewhere in the sun, all-inclusive, suitable for kids (ideally with a kids club) and in specific dates (during half term). After a very long discussion we agreed to settle with dates slightly outside of what we wanted, for a higher price, and for less than a week. This was on the basis that… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 09/01/2017

We are sorry that your email was not answered sooner but we are agents only and we have to check complaints with suppliers before we can respond. However, I believe we have now been in touch with you and addressed all the points raised in full – we hope, to your satisfaction.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Customer Service non existant”

Written on: 20/12/2016 by youareliars (1 review written)

We booked a holiday and paid for a one bedroom apartment, when we arrived in Gran Canaria we were told we were moved to a different hotel and as compensation for the move would get a free breakfast but when we got to room it was only a studio apartment, is was late so we just decided to sort it out in morning, when we went to reception to explain, they said we needed to ring the number we have on the booking reference which we did, they said its not them we need to speak to and gave me another… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 09/01/2017

We can understand your frustration if events were as described and we are sorry if you did not get a definitive response to your complaint. However, please understand that we at Globalhoppers are only agents – we do not actually operate flights or make bookings with hotels. You would have been advised before your reservations went through that it was your suppliers who undertook to provide the services – our obligation is merely to make the bookings you request with the relevant third party companies.

When you travelled you would have had an accommodation voucher with your supplier's numbers on it and an instruction to call that number (or numbers) if any problems arose. If you called your supplier and they failed to give you appropriate assistance that it is unacceptable and the matter should be pursued. We cannot be more specific at this point as we know nothing of your particular complaint but, if you remain unhappy, please contact us via the link on this page and we will take the matter up again with the appropriate party.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Hidden costs”

Written on: 11/11/2016 by KarlyConnolly (1 review written)

After speaking with many different travel agents, Global hoppers came in cheapest. An agent emailed us with a full quote so we called to book, dealt with a nice rep who again confirmed the price and took our card details, no problem. Just as the call was drawing to a close, the rep, said he Just needed to pass us on to another team to finialise the booking, thats when the customer service evaporated. Our next contact wanted to add a further 8% of the original booking price as part of 'airline… Read Full Review

By Ghcustomeservice

Written on: 28/11/2016

We are genuinely sorry that you were unhappy with the final price of the arrangement you booked. We hope that the charge remained competitive as we have access to some of the best deals available but we very much regret that you were unclear on why the supplements were applied. We cannot comment in detail without further information - you should have received a response by now if you wrote to us about this matter, but if not please feel free to contact us via the above link so we can look into it your complaint more carefully.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
overview