Stressful & unpleasant shopping experience

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.7 / 5
96% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

scotspines's review of Uttings Outdoors www.uttingsoutdoors.co.uk

★☆☆☆☆

“Stressful and unpleasant shopping experience”

Written on: 14/06/2013 by scotspines (1 review written)


I never heard of the company before but after reading all the good reviews here I went ahead to buy a bird watching binocular. It turned out to be a big mistake. I still haven't got the full refund yet.
For a online shop they are very slow to respond to emails (7 days) and often just ignore you. The Opticron binoculars I bought are faulty or just simply poor quality - the focusing wheel is making grinding noise and the vision get blurry at the same time. The eyepieces are not quite aligned properly too. For something made in Japan and cost £300 I am very disappointed. But Uttings Outdoor claimed it's not faulty. In the end I wasted £20 on postage(had to return twice because both are faulty) and didn't have a working binocular for my holiday. Waste of time, totally not worth it.

If you are thinking of exchange/refund in case something goes wrong this is not the shop to go for. Don't try to save a few quid and end up like me.

  • £280

    Goods purchased & cost

  • On time

    Delivery

  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Uttingscustomerservice's Response to scotspines's Review

Written on: 26/06/2013

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that you feel let down by our service.

When we inspected the binoculars and adjusted the dioptres correctly to match our eyesight, we could find no issue such as the one you described with blurring vision. We were also unsure of what you meant by misaligned eyepieces as they both appeared to be fine.

The grinding and sticking at the extreme end of its adjustment that you described was simply the mechanism of two cogs turning together and I am afraid we could not find any fault with it.

I am a little unsure of what you mean when you refer to sending them back twice as both are faulty: you only received and returned one pair of binoculars (value £249); you were not sent another pair, you were simply refunded in full after we had inspected them. We received the binoculars back on 3 June and you were refunded in full on 4 June. Have you confused us with a different company?

I am sorry that you feel let down by this, but we are in a difficult situation given that the items returned were not faulty.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Scotspines's reply to Uttingscustomerservice's Comment

Written on: 09/07/2013

Is this review site the only place where I'll get your attention? Otherwise you just ignore all my emails to you?
Are you saying the focus wheel is suppose to make grinding noise (like there's sand in it ) when I tune it to focus? That was not in your description of the item! I don't expect to actually hear the two cogs turning together with very noticeable sanding noise.
With regards to the eyepieces - If I look at the binoculars when the eyecups are pushed back completely, the eyepieces (or the metal ring of the lenses) do not appear in middle of the eyecups. You may not care about the look but I do since I intend to use it for many years. According to Sales of Goods Act, the goods you sell has to be of satisfactory quality. That includes appearance and finish.
Not only you promised to pay the returning of the faulty goods but the law actually says so. I wish to draw your attention to the Consumer Protection (Distance Selling) Regulations 2000 (SI 2334) Which specifically states that, where goods are returned as a right due to a breach of a term implied by statute, of a seller (yourselves) to require the buyer (myself) to bear the cost of a return is misapplied.
As such, the cost of bearing the return lies with yourselves. I therefore expect that you will fulfill your contractual and statutory obligation to refund mys full costs including postage.
I will report you to the trading standard agency and goes to the small claims court to recover the loss and stress I suffered.
Same email has been sent to you.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review