Westminster Recliners Reviews - www.wmrecliners.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
From 5 reviews
20% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Westminster Recliners - www.wmrecliners.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Westminster Recliners - www.wmrecliners.co.uk

Westminster Recliners - www.wmrecliners.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Recliners and suite”

Written on: 17/11/2014 by shevels (1 review written)

I purchased a recliner and a chair and a 2 seater settee, I am very happy with the purchase overall. I was at first a bit disapointed at the length of time I had to wait for the suite, which was longer than anticipated, andnobody ever coming bsck to me, when I asked for dates for the delivery, I origionally was quoted for weeks, I did in the end wait 10 weeks but overall you could say good things are worth waiting for. I would however just addd that I would recommend Westminster recliners… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking company total disgrace.”

Written on: 23/03/2014 by Teddyedd (1 review written)

Only gave then 1 star as can't give them 0. Confused my elderly mother into buying a recliner that would have cost her £2900. Apparently this was half price. The salesman that came round to the house took a depost on the day of over £1200. When my mother realised what had happened we cancelled the order and she received a letter saying she would receive the deposit back in 30 days. It has now been 53 days and after 3 phone calls speaking to various people and promises of a refund we still… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Firm's Response to Teddyedd's Review

Written on: 01/07/2014

Omg the same thing happened to me as above if you think you are going to get your money back I am afraid that it does not appear likely from my experience . The firm needs to be put out of business my parents worked all their life only to be taken advantage of by this firm .

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Norfolknman's reply to Firm's Comment

Written on: 09/10/2014

Did you get your money back in the end? I got my others back eventually, but had to get Visa on a chargeback, trading standards for deception, and also ASA for misleading adverts

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Norfolknman's Response to Teddyedd's Review

Written on: 10/10/2014

They are lower than pondlife in my book. When the going gets tough they change company names, 3 are active right now
You can see they like their expensive holidays and £685 shoes!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Norfolknman's Response to Teddyedd's Review

Written on: 09/10/2014

And the same happened to my Mother, the initial price of the chair was supposedly 7 thousand pounds! Once i got legal people in the case and go t a refund i found the exact same chair from a local company for 1500!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“If they ever dare come to my Mothers again........”

Written on: 25/10/2013

If this merchant of a company ever dare come to my Mothers home and trick her into buying a HALF PRICE chair at 4 grand and make her pay half as a deposit, i will not be held liable for what i will do. The company owners have numerous registered names under companies house, they bring chairs, beds and everything thing into your home, and do not leave until you have signed, and wavered your 7 day cancellation rights. This is not an isolated case, they went to court in March and May for exactly… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away from Westminster Recliners”

Written on: 02/10/2013 by Bigfoot2005 (1 review written)

If you ask for a brochure you won't get one. You will instead be told a LOCAL sales rep will call in to see you. Once that Sales Rep has been dispatched from their offices is Suffolk no matter where in the Country you are the sales rep will turn up on your door for a hard sale. I was being measured for a chair before talking through my options. When I was asked where I had heard about the company I explained I had seen the National Newspaper adverts and was interested in and had the advert for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Norfolknman's Response to Bigfoot2005's Review

Written on: 28/10/2013

I so wish my mother had of done some research on them in the first place! Self same issues that everyone else has endured!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Westminster Recliners, WM Recliners”

Written on: 15/09/2012 by Bammers (0 reviews written)

This company is terrible. Phone staff are rude and arrogant, totally unhelpful and unwilling to assist, in fact they apparently do not know who their manager is, who the owners are, who writes letters for the company and have no issues with putting the phone down when questions get awkward. The products are overpriced and, despite what their adverts say, are not made by them but another firm. (See recent Advertising Standards Agency adjudication) My elderly grandfather had the misfortune to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Suffolktradingstandards's Response to Bammers's Review

Written on: 01/10/2012

Dear Sir/Madam

My name is Lee Nunn and I work for Suffolk Trading Standards. I would be very interested in discussing your concerns about this company in confidence.

I can be contacted through my departments reception number 01473 264859 or via the departments email address - TradingStandards@suffolk.gov.uk

Any one who has had dealings with this company and wish to discuss any concerns about the company or is representatives may also use the contact details above.

Lee Nunn
Fair Trading Officer
Suffolk County Council
Landmark House
4 Egerton Rd
Ipswich
Suffolk
IP1 5PF

Office: 01473 264859
Fax: 01473 216850

Website: http://beta.suffolk.gov.uk/

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Norfolknman's reply to Suffolktradingstandards's Comment

Written on: 28/10/2013

I have been in contact with CAB, and Norfolk trading standards called me this morning regarding my mother being affected. ref # 11632230

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rachel45's Response to Bammers's Review

Written on: 10/01/2014

Thank you for everyone's reviews and comments. You have saved me an awful lot of stress. I received this company's flyer with communication from another (reputable) company with whom I have an account. I am so shocked that they would associate themselves with a company like this. It was only because the advert didn't have a website address, and I searched for it. Again no prices, so having noticed this site on my search, I thought someone may have made reference in a review. I got more than I bargained for. I shall be contacting the company who included this flyer, and asking them to stop its circulation.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Frankmurray49's Response to Bammers's Review

Written on: 22/08/2013

thank you for your reviews you have
saved my mother and her neighbour a lot of money and stress we will not be dealing with this company thankfully we read these reviews before we spent any money I will have the greatest of pleasure of telling the rep we have no need of their services ..

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Paulajolo's Response to Bammers's Review

Written on: 09/05/2013

Sadly my mother in law was spent £2400 2012 with this awful company. the rep promised he would be calling back to see if she was happy, of course she never heard from him again once the chair had been delivered. The chair she bought was so uncomfortable the used an old chair to sit in. I tried to tell her she was being wronged but because it was made to measure she thought it would be good quality. There is no padding on the seat, it's awful. My mother in law has since passed away and I have this chair to dispose of now. What a complete waste of good money.. DON'T DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ascott0939's Response to Bammers's Review

Written on: 08/04/2013

We purchased an Kensington Recliner from Westminster after a demo at my Aunts flat in Sunbury on Thames. This was on the 20th March and they provided a loan chair delivered on the 22nd March. My Aunt (Joyce)
had trouble with the loan chair and even tried to get out of if with leg support fully up. She also sat on the extended leg support as well and the whole chair nearly tipped up and was deemed unsafe for her and we (family who are myself nephew and POA, sister niece also Power of Attorney and daughters of my sister both in their 40's) decided to cancel . I rang early Monday the 25th March to stop any installation and was told to send their Cancellation Notice which I did that day plus an email. All these things have not been acknowledged by them. I tried 4 more emails and when I rang I got told someone would get back. I can see why now because Saturday 6th April they at last recognised my cancellation but on not the date above or any date whatsoever. They wrote from our deposit of £1,500 they will take £975 for installation work carried out plus administration fee of £195 and also the loan chair which is still at my Aunts £150 for carriage. A total of £1,320 leaving us with an amount of £180. I cant believe they have done this and it is now in the hands of Halifax my credit card company whose card I used for the deposit. The total price for the chair was £3,000.
Joyce at 92 has early stages of dementia but still up to then fairly mobile, but on the 28th March she was admitted in to St. Peters Hospital in Chertsey in Surrey having had a slight heart attack where she stayed for 4 days. So a lot of our time was taken centred around going backward and forwards to the Short stay Ward. Joyce is back in her flat and has a lot of medicine to aid her condition. We have kept the bad news from her about these people who pride themselves on being a family run business. I hope Halifax can help finally is this type of behaviour prevalent among companies who market these type of chairs etc mainly with old people who like me come from a bygone age where trust was something between people that was second nature. They are a disgrace but I'll leave it there. Thanks.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Hassle04's reply to Ascott0939's Comment

Written on: 02/05/2013

I cannot believe trading standards are still allowing this company trade........my poor 87 yr old father gave up argueing with them, Nat West were useless in trying to fight for him too, in the end the because the chair was too hard for my mother to sit on causing sores, he sold it on E bay for £350 , it cost him £3000, he just wanted it out of the house. Please DO NOT BUY FROM THIS SHAM COMPANY

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Paul1299's Response to Bammers's Review

Written on: 30/03/2013

This company has recently been prosecuted and fined for their practices, but are still trading, sorry stealing peoples money! stay away from them.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Goosiegander's Response to Bammers's Review

Written on: 28/02/2013

I would fully agree with this review, I know someone who had the misfortune to buy from them, the buy one get one free offer is a joke, as they inflate the price to £4.000 pounds for two chairs, then "reduce" them to £2,000. My friends chair did not work on the day after he had them delivered, and they were going to charge him £75. call-out fee to come out and fix it!!. How this company is allowed to operate the way they do is unbelievable. Trading Standards appear to know about this company's practices, but do nothing. Go to a shop for your chairs!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Slim7's Response to Bammers's Review

Written on: 09/02/2013

Do not buy anything from them, dodgy salesman, overpriced products and they will not give you your deposit back!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bammers's Response to Bammers's Review

Written on: 31/01/2013

Ok, following my previous comments and review it appears they have given up instructing the solicitors. Despite several further emails requesting a response I've had no further correspondence. All I can say is stay well away from the company, the staff are totally useless, have no empathy or respect and certainly have no conscience. As for the owners of the company I have nothing but contempt, people who prey on the elderly and deserve to feel the full weight of the law.
All I hope is the solicitors they were using realise what theyre like and refuse to act for them any further.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Hassle04's reply to Bammers's Comment

Written on: 04/02/2013

It's so wrong that they can get away with this company ....

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kategallagher1's Response to Bammers's Review

Written on: 16/11/2012

Thank you so much for your review and comments. My parents were going to have a rep coming to them this coming week. I asked them what kind of price they had been quoted .. they told me that they hadn't yet been given a price. I was suspicious so called the company .. and the woman could not give me any idea at all of a price. I wasn't happy so googled the company and found your comments. Needless to say I have cancelled the appointment with Westminster. I feel so angry that our parents/any elderly person can be misled like this.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bammers's reply to Kategallagher1's Comment

Written on: 30/11/2012

Well, all I can say at present is I am very surprised at the glowing report of Westminster Recliners added recently. Oddly this review was added shortly before I received a letter from Westminster Recliners solicitors. Apparently the non-disclosure agreement my grandfather signed in order for them to release their paltry "offer" also applies to me, despite my not signing anything. We are currently exchanging correspondence.
Please do not let this stop anyone posting their reviews of this company, with any luck the company will see the reviews and clean up its act or at the very least it will save someone else the grief of having to clear up the mess after their elderly relative has had dealings with them.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Hassle04's reply to Bammers's Comment

Written on: 12/12/2012

I am helping to send letters to an for to this company, awful people tp deal with .........................yes I agree funny how the glowing review appeared amongst all the bad ones.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Noggin57's Response to Bammers's Review

Written on: 09/11/2012

My elderly mother also recently called Westminster Recliners to request a brochure, but they declined. Instead, they insisted that they would rather provide a 'demonstration' chair.

This put me on guard straight away, so I did some digging and Bammer's review set the alarm bells ringing.

So I looked deeper. Not only are Westminster Recliners the subject of an adjudication by the Advertising Standards Authority for making unreasonable claims in their ads (i.e. implying that they've been around for 28 years when in fact they were only incorporated in March 2011), but it seems they are also the focus of Suffolk Trading Standards (see Lee Nunn's post here).

So I declined the offer of a 'demonstration' chair, and hence the potential for any associated high pressure requests to part with £1000 for a 'deposit', and informed the driver that we were not interested.

Needless to say my mother swiftly received a call from a lady at the company, advising my mother that they had delivered the chair 'in good faith' and that now the driver wasn't even going to get paid. The implication of that statement can only be that they were intending to relieve my mother of sufficient funds to at least cover the driver's costs, regardless of whether the chair turned out to be suitable or not (presumably, as in Bammer's case).

So, I took over the call and explained that it would have been more professional to respond to my mother's request for a brochure 'in good faith' rather than start the ball rolling with a hard sell. She said that nobody at the company would ever take such an approach and pressed me for a real reason why we refused the opportunity to see the chair, so I referred her also to the ASA adjudication and to the feedback from other disatisfied customers which, together with Suffolk Trading Standards' interest, would give most folk reasonable grounds to be cautious in their dealings with any company.

To be fair, the lady wasn't rude, merely assertive. And she pointed out that the company actually had many highly satisfied customers. And this might well be true. If it is, it would be quite an achievement, bearing in mind that the company was only formed in March 2011. She accepted that I was entitled to my opinion, and we left it there.

However, it is a shame that any company can't manage to go for more than 17 months without attracting any bad press, and one can hardly be blamed for being cautious about those companies that are unable to do so. If Westminster Recliners really do have the good reputation that they claim, then they would do well to respond to experiences such as those posted here, to offer some explanation for the claims made about them, and to provide evidence of such good reputation. I also note that the one Director and only shareholder of the company has been a director of three other companies, so I would have thought that, by now, he should have gained sufficient experience to ensure the good running of his fourth company and avoid any such bad press with the greatest of ease. Sadly, that doesn't appear to be the case on the face of it.

These are my / my mother's experiences and my opinions only, and are not intended to prejudice Westminster Recliners in any way. Sadly, the company did lose the potential for a sale by virtue of their approach to doing business, and I honestly wish that things had turned out better than they did.

Bammer, did you ever achieve full recompense for your loss?
It would be good for all concerned to know if you did.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bammers's reply to Noggin57's Comment

Written on: 13/11/2012

Just as a follow up my grandfather did receive the money offered, half of the deposit originally extracted from him. I never did get to the bottom of how much their "agents" earn nor who the team leaders or managers are. All I will say is the whole experience has a serious detrimental affect on my grandfather's health and I wouldn't recommend contacting the company to anyone.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Maureenbradleynash's Response to Bammers's Review

Written on: 08/11/2012

My parents also have fallen prey to this company's distasteful business practices. My parents were subjected to a lengthy sales interview in their home when all they had requested was a brochure. They were relieved of a deposit of £1,247.50, (balance of the same to be paid upon delivery) This was Westminster Recliners idea of a half price offer for a chair worth no more than £1,000 at best. I was verbally threatened with abusive language off the company rep' over the telephone. I had to bring in the Police over the matter. To date I have not managed to secure a refund for my parents. THIS COMPANY PREY ON THE OLD AND VULNERABLE WITHIN SOCIETY DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM.
Mrs Maureen Bradley-Nash.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Hassle04's Response to Bammers's Review

Written on: 04/11/2012

I wish my 86 yr old father had read this reveiw before he went ahead and got ripped off by this company.........he ordered a £3000 chair for my mother made to measure as she is small...........when it arrived is wasn't the correct measurements, the van driver produced a power drill and altered it a bit but still not right, its so hard to sit on that after a few days my mother developed pressure sores, I rang but the man on the phone is one of the rudest people I have ever spoken too , said they can't do anything about the firmness but will send someone out, I want them to have it back as it is not to the measurements he ordered but don't think thats going to happen ...........DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! they are rip off merchants, obviously buy the chairs in cheap then add a nought onto the price, I am contacting watchdog and the ferret as don't want other people to have the same experience........

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Flintyleeds's reply to Hassle04's Comment

Written on: 13/09/2013

My parents were also victims of this sham company but fortunately the credit card company were able to get them the full cost of £5,995 bk for 2 poor quality plastic chairs which stated were top quality Italian leather , but all i want to know is WHY IS THIS FAMILY STILL TRADING AND TRICKING VULNERABLE PENSIONERS OF THERE MONEY , WHY HAVE THEY NOT BEEN ARRESTED AND CHARGED WITH DECEPTION AND DEMANDING MONEY??? Classic example why people take the law into there own hands in my opinion !! Watch out, wot goes round come round !

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 20 Comments
overview