Simply Electronics - www.simplyelectronics.net – Questions & Answers

Click here if this is your business

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by JayD2014 on 30th August 2014 Report this content
I want to place an order (online) with this company, but I have read some very poor reviews about their service on Facebook and I am now rather skeptical about placing an order with them. However, I am not sure that this is an official Facebook page for this company, it looks like one created by a disgruntled customer. Also reviews on their site show that some customers have waited weeks for their order to arrive. Can you comment/provide your opinion? Many thanks.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (13)
Report this content Frankp1945 Written on: 01/09/2014
I ordered an Apple TV from this company and I must admit I had my doubts when seeing some of the reviews after I had placed my order. In the event I need not have worried and the item arrived in reasonable time and was exactly as ordered. It has worked perfectly ever since so I have not had the need to test the customer service for a defective item
Report this content insideimlaughing Written on: 01/09/2014
This compmany is a world of pain! They sent me a fake camera. Eventually after many emails, they sent a replacement...which also turned out to be fake! I eventually got a refund thru my credit card company. If they were the last electronic goods supplier on the planet I still wouldn't use them. There are bona fide companies offering the same goods...but genuine, at similar prices...avoid like the plague.
Report this content adventurephysio Written on: 01/09/2014
I ordered a £450 camera. It was not CE marked & is therefore not fit to be sold here. I didn't realise this until I tried to get it fixed under warranty. They have been less than helpful in resolving things for me (insert several expletives here). I am now trying to take legal action but it's proving very difficult as they are in Hong Kong. Please please don't make the mistake of saving a few pounds by buying from these guys. It's not worth it. I doubt I will ever recoup that £450 :(
Report this content Fedupyodel Written on: 01/09/2014
My advice for you is if your buying as a present or you want the item quickly then don't buy from them also when I bought an iphone from them I had to pay a customs charge before they would release the phone in the end what I thought was a bargain price ended up costing me the same as it would if I had bought it in the uk it's really not worth the stress to be honest
Report this content Demi123 Written on: 01/09/2014
Please,please don't buy anything from them. I made that mistake,never saw my goods and took me months of constantly emailing them and getting my bank involved and other third party agencies involved to get a refund,which is done through another agency,so once they've taken their commission,you don't get a full refund anyway. Also glad I didn't get the goods in the end,as Simply Electronics isn't a UK based company and the goods they sell are called 'Grey Goods',so they don't have the same warranty protection. Pay a little bit more and buy from a reputable company, it's worth the peace of mind.
Report this content DJACK Written on: 01/09/2014
You are wise to be sceptical about some of these companies, including this one, and always check the reviews first. If I recollect correctly, I ordered either a camera or an expensive lens, waited an extraordinary length of time for delivery, and eventually received a refund and went elsewhere, but I don't have the records to hand, so can only advise you to trust the reviews. I have had similar experience with other similar companies. There is just one that has been really good but I am probably not allowed to mention, try searching starting with a P and ending in Z. Also be aware that as far as I can determine, their incredible prices are based on a tax scam whereby the import documents mis-descibe the contents and their value so as to avoid VAT liability. I only realized after receiving the goods, but you have to examine your own conscience and consider the effects on UK based suppliers, the government tax receipts, etc. Caveat emptor. Good luck!
Report this content Letitgo Written on: 01/09/2014
I to was worried after reading poor reviews but need not have. My IPad came on time with no delays or problems.Would I use them again, yes I would.
Report this content Myguy Written on: 01/09/2014
I was in exactly the same situation as you, I have read several reviews some of them were good some were terrible but I took my chances and hope I will be one of the success stories - am sorry it was my worst nightmare. I placed my order for Nexus Tablet on the 10th July and immediately got a response from noreply thanking me for my purchase and that I will receive my tablet within the next 4 to 10 working day; and then seconds later I received another response from SKRILLS saying they will be collecting money from account on behalf of simplyelectronics and my bank account will be reference with SKR*SE. I got suspicious and contacted my bank immediately. My bank advised to wait until 10 days and then contact simply electronics again. This was the beginning of the battle!!! The telephone number they have is 0844 premium number, and the automated message will say they have 2 mins to wait, dont believe them I wanted for 1hr and 15 minutes and in the end decided to hangup because i was using my mobile phone. I then decided to email them, again this was a problem because you have to go through their unfriendly form system with specific subjects which doesn't relate to your problem. After several weeks of email complaints after complaints and writing several reviews warning people about the company they finally admitted that the Nexus Tablet is no longer available but I can choose another tablet. By this time I was at my wits end and cancelled my order and demanded my full refund. I thought that was it, but I was mistaking - After waiting for another three weeks I finally got my money 49 days later. Do not buy from this company
Report this content bigbiffa Written on: 01/09/2014
I in stock items from this company with a promised delivery date of 7 days which kept on moving followed by the items then going out of stock. Impossible to get any response from the company but finally got my money back following the guidance of how to word an e-mail from someone on this site. I see their ratings on this site have improved rapidly over recent months but I would still be highly suspicious of trusting this company.
Report this content SPugsley Written on: 01/09/2014
I've ordered camera gear on 3 occasions with this company. All goods have arrived within 10 days of order. All genuine, all working. I've written to them twice after placing the order and they have responded almost instantly by email. They use good delivery suppliers, which you can track your order. A minor point, the order status on the site may say 'your order will be shipped in 1-2 days', but you never get another update until the day of delivery. I would be happy to use these guys again.
Report this content ChristopherJHall Written on: 02/09/2014
I have only one word of advice if you are thinking of placing an order with them....DON'T If you want to part with your cash and wait several weeks for your item, then receive dozons of excuses as to why it has not been sent, then wait several more weeks to try and get a refund, then place an order
Report this content ProofOfQuality Written on: 02/09/2014
Announcement regarding Simply Electronics and the resolutions services provided by KwikChex Since June 2012, KwikChex has provided a resolutions service that enabled customers of Simply Electronics with complaints to raise their issues with KwikChex - a form of 'complaint escalation' Throughout that time, (with the exception of one case which was more complex) all cases have been resolved with either the goods being delivered, a replacement being accepted and provided or a refund made. We have throughout the 18 month period emphasised that KwikChex was unaware of any of Simply Electronics customer being deprived of either an acceptable product or a refund - and continually made it clear that we would always wish to hear from anyone with a complaint. Within the agreement that we had with Simply Electronics was the clause that although they are based in Hong Kong, they would comply with EU consumer laws. They adhered to this in terms of every case we handled. We additionally answered all queries over matters such as 'Grey Goods' and supplied additional information on the business. The number of complaints we received on a monthly basis fell substantially over the 18 months. We have always acknowledged though that there were issues, particularly concerning the stock levels shown on the website and late deliveries that remained and had been seeking new ways to prevent these from happening. Regrettably, KwikChex will no longer be able to pursue the solutions to such issues as Simply Electronics discontinued using our services with effect from 31st December 2013. We will therefore also not be able to accept any further cases. Regards, KwikChex Team
Report this content arlindopinto Written on: 24/09/2014
I never had problems with this company! Hey, but that's just me! Always on time and the real product! So I'm very happy with the company! I Bought 2 cameras and 2 lenses from them!
See All Answers
Asked by alanburke on 21st January 2014 Report this content
When will the website be working again?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

questionAnswer