Missing Corsica visit, Huge disappointment.

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.4 / 5
63% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Food - quality & variety

  • Entertainment on board

  • Value For Money

Guest's review of Island Cruises, Island Escape

★★★☆☆

“Missing Corsica visit, Huge disappointment.”

Written on: 05/04/2013

This was our first cruise and a major reason for us booking this was that it included a visit to the Island of Corsica,which would be a chance to see somewhere not often available on other Med.cruises . Imagine therefore the huge disappointment felt by us and many of our fellow cruisers when the Captain announced on the first night, that due to a supply of contaminated fuel we would need to re-schedule the itinerary in order to refuel at Barcelona, and as a result we would not be visiting Corsica at all and would instead be substituting another port of call.
On arriving at the embarkation in Palma there was a delay of nearly 2 hours, due we were told to computer failure, during this time many passengers were standing in queues and there was little communication as to what was going on, when we were finally on board we were shown to our cabin which although small and somewhat dated,was adequate and there was plenty of storage space and everything worked (except the radio).Followed that night by the announcement of the cancellation of the Corsica visit, it was quite an auspicious start to our cruising experience.
There were in fairness some good points once we got past that first day. The food and service in the Island restaurant was very good (not so the food in the Beachcomber, which on both times we visited was lukewarm)and the entertainment by both the ships performers and the guest performers were all excellent the facilities were always spotlessly clean and there was great attention paid to hygiene throughout the ship.
The trips organised by the Island escape were quite frankly a rip off,but that should come as no surprise as that has been the case with whomever I have traveled.The port of call which replaced Corsica was Palamas , ironicly it rained all day.

  • 26th March to 2nd April 2013

    Date of Cruise

  • 7

    Nights on board

  • Spirit of the Med.

    Itinerary Name

  • Food - quality & variety

  • Entertainment on board

  • Value For Money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Andi1945's Comment

Written on: 30/05/2013

I was on the Island Escape and we had two excursions changed. Also on 24th May 1013 the captain had to do a sharp turn to avoid the rocks. Many people were hurt. Then I contracted the Norovirus which meant my7 friend and I were quarantines and missed out on Barcelona. This ship is tired and should be dismantled before something worse happens

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review