Pure Gym Reviews - www.puregym.com

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.4 / 5
75
31% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Pure Gym www.puregym.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Pure Gym www.puregym.com

Pure Gym www.puregym.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“Could be great, sadly for some staff it's not. ”

Written on: 20/08/2015 by DerickEgan99 (1 review written)

Do pure gym have mechanism to allow staff to give feedback about their managers without repercussions? I know someone who is so demoralised by the behaviour of their manager that they were going to ask for a meeting with the regional manager. And that's just one team member The gym hasn't even been open two months. I think you need to consider allowing staff a platform to feed back how they are being treated, with no managers there. My friend is an experienced fitness instructor, pt and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“You get what you pay for...”

Written on: 08/08/2015 by Nubian99 (1 review written)

On Wednesday August 5th I tried to use my pin to get into Birmingham City Centre. The door wouldn't open. Eventually after being there for some time and trying many times I gave up and sent an email. The next day there had been no response so I sent another email. I also tried my pin again which failed. On Friday I spoke to someone at head office who was very pleasant and who tried to help. I had to call them as no-one had attempted to get in touch with me.Later that night after work I tried… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Puregym's Response to Nubian99's Review

Written on: 10/08/2015

Good Afternoon

Pure Gym welcomes feedback and we would like to discuss this further with you to ensure there is not an issue with your PIN.
We appreciate that the your work pattern means that that our company policy of closing the changing rooms between 00.00 and 05.00 will be an inconvenience this is why the disabled changing rooms are kept open 24/7.
Please contact us at member services or email us.

Kind regards
Pure Gym

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Everything you need”

Written on: 07/08/2015 by jamespmiddleton2211 (1 review written)

after reading others reviews , i am honestly shocked, i go to puregym in hednesford and have nothing but praise for it, all the equipment you need , polite staff , clean and tidy and i will continue to use for long time. I would undoubtedly recommend to friends. i paid £25 to join which consisted of 1st month fee and £5 joining fee, it was taken from my account 4/5 days after i applyed and was able to go immediately, and for £19.99 a month its a BARGAIN… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Puregym's Response to jamespmiddleton2211's Review

Written on: 10/08/2015

Great to hear your loving the gym and thanks for the great feedback !!

Kind regards
Pure Gym

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Pure gym pure stinky”

Written on: 03/08/2015 by Logan363 (1 review written)

The gym in Glasgow City Centre is the worst in the town. It is always packed and you have to wait ages to get to any of their stinky equipment. Once, you get it, you still cant train as one of their staff will come and disturb you every 2mins, trying to sell their unprofessional services! If you want to get any advice, you are better off asking random people as the staff is really unfriendly and lack the training. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Puregym's Comment

Written on: 10/08/2015

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your comment.

Pure Gym welcomes feedback and we would love to discuss this further with you. Please contact us a member services or email us.

Kind regards
Pure Gym

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Physically assaulted whilst on gym premises?!”

Written on: 29/06/2015 by Amani166 (1 review written)

My intention to go have and a good workout on a Friday turned out to be a nightmare. This large girl decided she wanted to full use of the spin room and was disturbing other memebers blasting out music exceptionally high. I politely asked her to turn down the volume slightly. Refusing she then told me to go elsewhere! Then when i told her i was reporting her. She physically pushed me and threatened to take me outside. Her behaviour was really threatening and aggressive and it was clear… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Puregym's Comment

Written on: 30/06/2015

Good Morning,

Thank you for your feedback.

Pure Gym takes incidents like this very seriously.

Please can you contact Member Services or email us.

Kind regards
Member Services

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Shina_S's Comment

Written on: 07/07/2015

I do not think that Puregym does take "agressive assault on another person" seriously at all and seem to condone and accept such behaviour. The management have done nothing and sided with the assaultor - clearly a bully picking on someone smaller than her size. Having complained to management they have not acted appropiately or impartially.

Dissapointing to think that gyms will put up with such behaviour. You dont feel protected or safe in such gyms when another member can threaten your life with further violence 'outside the gym' and Puregym do nothing. Disgusting approach and awful mismanagement quite frankly. Expect to be hearing from my solicitor. I dont take kindly to being assaulted by anyone.

If you continue on treating "new customers" like this they will leave and go someplace else. Like me.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Puregym's Comment

Written on: 10/07/2015

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your response.

Can you please contact us at member services we would like help you with this matter and look into this incident for you. Call us and ask to speak to Sam Walker or email us FAO Sam Walker.

Kind regards
Pure Gym

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“DIRTY ”

Written on: 20/06/2015 by Kirklandnj1948 (1 review written)

I will tell you what Pure Gym reminds me of ... PRISON!!!!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Puregym's Comment

Written on: 22/06/2015

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your comment.

Pure Gym welcomes feedback and we would love to discuss this further with you. Please contact us a member services or email us.

Kind regards
Pure Gym


Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Pure (Frustration) Gym”

Written on: 15/06/2015 by Iyanan1964 (1 review written)

Pure Gym Greenwich. It was fine at first, I joined when it opened in October 2012, but it's just become ludicrously overcrowded, practically all the time! I haven't been able to use a power station (weights rack, whatever you want to call it) for days as there's ALWAYS someone else using using them, which is so frustrating. Usually gangs of lads. There's a pointless gimmick on the Pure Gym website which tells you how many people are in the gym before you go and it's always 'There are 10 people… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Puregym's Comment

Written on: 16/06/2015

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with your experience at London Greenwich.

London Greenwich is a very popular gym, we have recently opened London Greenwich Movement with some members transferring over. You may find that club is less busy now or maybe would like to consider transferring to our new gym yourself.

I am sure the team at Greenwich would love to hear your feedback and speak to you. You can contact the Gym Manager or contact us at member services.


Kind regards
Pure Gym

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Pay peanuts get monkeys”

Written on: 10/06/2015

Puregym Dundee full of rules that aren't implemented by disinterested fools pretending to be trainers.Gym users told to carry a towel to clean down equipment,they don't.No bags on gym floor users ignore bored staff do nothing about it.Just a couple of examples of why you should not waste your money on this poorly run gym.I joined is gym when it opened with promises of ample parking,I parked and got a ticket,informed gym about this but ignored by again disinterested staff.After two years I have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Puregym's Comment

Written on: 16/06/2015

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are disappointed to hear of your experience at Pure Gym Dundee. Pure Gym always aim to deliver the highest standards.

I am sure Pure Gym Dundee would welcome your feedback and the opportunity to speak to you. You can contact the Manager or contact us a Pure Gym Member Service.

Kind regards
Pure Gym

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“worlds worst gym”

Written on: 10/06/2015 by 412Fox (1 review written)

Worst ever went to my local pure gym in Preston asked a personal trainer to let me in he said I have to pressthe buzzer and wait 40 mins later still stood there like a tool he only let me in when someone told him i looked a bit peed off stood there… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Puregym's Comment

Written on: 10/06/2015

Thanks for your review. We do apologise for the poor service you experienced at our gym in Preston. We do pride ourselves on proving a great service. Please contact member services so we can investigate this further. Alternatively you can email the gym.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Battered equipment”

Written on: 19/05/2015 by 330George (1 review written)

Very cheap. Reason being the equipment isn't looked after. The free weights are all battered. I'd rather pay extra for a gym that is looked after. It's full of young students who don't give a dam. Wouldn't recommend Pure Gym in Wandsworth… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude, stupid, I will never go back.”

Written on: 09/05/2015 by jonathb (1 review written)

I tried to have a work-out session at the Bournemouth Pure Gym. The lame web-site was over-written with an advert by a competing gym. I clicked, and got a promotion from their competitor, with a similar name. When I arrived at Pure Gym, the mistake . hack became apparent. Oh dear, I said, well, can't I just pay you for a 5-quid one-off work-out to assess your gym? Oh no, said the brain-dead little twerp who runs the place, and sent me packing. You just lost a customer, you idiots. Oh, and learn… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Puregym's Response to jonathb's Review

Written on: 27/05/2015

Hi jonathb, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your bad experience and would like to offer you a free day pass at our Bournemouth gym . Please contact us between 8am and 8pm Monday to Friday, or at the weekends between 10am and 4pm.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Very disorganised - bad classes and customer service”

Written on: 20/04/2015 by april15 (1 review written)

I signed up with PureGym Lambeth as it is the closest to my place, but within a week I was already disappointed. It was mainly with the quality of the classes, which is what I use the gym for. I gave it 5 months hoping that it would get better or I would get used to it, but no improvement was seen. One too many times instructors didn't show up and there was no replacement, with no one to ask or no one who had any information in the gym, the only option was to give up. Other times the instructor… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“It's cheap and the quality reflects it (Glasgow)”

Written on: 10/04/2015 by irvine0990 (1 review written)

I'm what most would describe as a "gym rat" but I'm a student and so £19 a month is as much as I can spend right now - that is the only reason I'm still at PureGym. It's infuriatingly busy. Obviously because it's cheap they need so much members to make up for it. I get it - but I still hate it. Never go on 5.30pm-8pm, you'll do more waiting around for weights and machines than actually use them. Or on a bank holiday. Or in January. Because there's so many people there's no sense of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Asifaonline's Response to irvine0990's Review

Written on: 10/04/2015

I am 62, and trying to book free classes but unable to do this online.plz help

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Irvine0990's reply to Asifaonline's Comment

Written on: 13/04/2015

I use their mobile app to book but you can book up to a week in advance and some classes e.g. spin, go very quick. You don't NEED to book as long as you turn up 10 mins early occasionally someone will cone into once the class is full who has booked,in which case they'd ask someone that isnt booked to volunteer to leave. So have another workout in mind just in case, I've only seen this happen twice though in over a year.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“pure gym milton keynes ”

Written on: 25/03/2015

I have been a going to pure gym since it openned took a month off when I tried to rejoin the website was down , I was in the gym lobby asked for asistance from one of the trainers who kept me there for a good 30 mins and told me that I have to go home and try later , I would expect in this day an age for a company like pure gym to have so kind of good customer services at least off a day pass as I wasted my journey ,top of this I sent an email to the manager who told me they only work online… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Cleanliness In Park Royal”

Written on: 23/03/2015 by Bainuk471 (1 review written)

I recently joined this gym, the equipment is good and good value for money, but there are no paper towels or cleaning sprays to clean the equipment. I never see an members of staff cleaning the equipment. Gym members use the gym and poor sweat all over the equipment which is never cleaned, its disgusting and not hygienic. I have been a member of previous gyms who supply paper towels and cleaning spray and each time you use the equipment you clean up after you, this has really put me off… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Puregym's Comment

Written on: 27/05/2015

Hi Bainuk471, thank you for your feedback. As a courtesy to other members we do ask our members to carry a small gym towel so that the equipment can be wiped down after use. Our gym staff also wipe down equipment on a regular basis. If you would like to contact us directly you can do so between 8am and 8pm Monday to Friday, or at the weekends between 10am and 4pm.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“disrespectful and rude”

Written on: 17/03/2015 by MeadowEngland (1 review written)

Today I was working out as normal in pure gym beafourt park birmingham, when I was approached by a member of staff asking me to leave the gym. He said that the "free Palestine" tshirt that I worn pretty much every for the last 4 month is offensive. He asked me to leave the gym because it may upset people or be offensive. So much for freedom of speech… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Slavery”

Written on: 12/03/2015 by 218Watkins (1 review written)

• You don't get paid and work 15 hours • The expectations from managers are unrealistic • Force you to do far to many classes per shift, cleaning, maintenance and challanges, if you don't get round to completing all of this, they watch you through the cameras and sack you, but tell all of your colleagues first • No gaps in classes for setting up and for health and safety purposes • Dont manage the staff properly, sack you instead for minor things, tell all staff members before they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Nice, clean and great value”

Written on: 19/02/2015 by Kanevn296 (1 review written)

I've been using the Leeds North Pure Gym for around 2 months now- after a shocking experience at another, rival "budget gym". I am delighted with the clear, transparent membership policy and the value for money. The gym is well stocked, the venue is very clean and the staff are very helpful. I've used other gyms for a number of years and never paid for a personal trainer. However, I have now changed my fitness goals and I have booked a course of sessions with one of the personal trainers. The… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Fvqeegqcf's Comment

Written on: 24/02/2015

it was full of prickes

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Dirty and miserable Luton”

Written on: 09/02/2015 by Thomasxo186 (1 review written)

Started great but then they changed the staff, got rid of loads of staff changed the manager and now the equipment is dirty you have to clean it before you can use it, the showers and changing rooms are filthy, the staff, when there are any there which isn't often look absolutely miserable and never speak, only good thing about it is it is 24 hour but as soon as another one opens Ill be changing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Leeds North - excellent !”

Written on: 09/02/2015 by Marathonman1000 (1 review written)

I joined a year ago and am so glad I did ! I do lots of running and just wanted to mix things up with some other fitness work. The gym is great,friendly,clean and the instructors are great and very supportive… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview