Dandy's Garden Centre Reviews - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

★★★★★
4.6 / 5
96% of users recommend this
  • Range of Products

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Not the best”

Written on: 19/06/2014 by McConnelllm350 (1 review written)

Dreadful delivery man. Arrived in our rural area in a massive lorry that could have only ever delivered to an empty supermarket car park with broken pallet and pallet truck not fit for purpose. Left soil by road 200 m from our house. Soil is incredibly sandy and really not great. It weighed as much as builders sand to lift. On the plus side it had no stones or rubbish in it but overall Disappointed… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 03/07/2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.

We are very sorry to hear that the delivery did not go a smoothly as it should. The delivery vehicles are very large, normally 18 tonners/6 wheelers, due to the size and weight of the frieght PalletForce haul for us the wagons have to be large enough to cope. As you live in a rural area did you request a smaller vehicle at all? We can on request ask the depot to deliver on 4 wheeler 7.5 tonne vehicles which can gain access to most residential areas. I appreciate it must have been difficult to move the topsoil 200m to your house at the roadside but unfortunately we can only guarantee a roadside delivery due to the fact that we can not always gain accesss to driveways etc. But if you can email me with your order reference number I will certainly look into this for you. Please can you also provide a statement about the driver and why he was dreadful? We can then pass this through to the local depot who will take the required action.

Our VegeGrow Topsoil is a mix of fine organic compost and a natural sandy loam and can therefore be a little sandy and of course dense. Some vegetables, such as root vegetables, carrots etc, prefer a sandy component to the soil structure in order to grow correctly. If our topsoil is not draining correctly in extremely wet periods then on very rare occasions extra sand is mixed through to improve the structure; this is very rare however and will not affect the fertility of the topsoil or the use.

Your feedback is really appreciated and will help to improve our service wherever we can.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Good quality service”

Written on: 08/06/2014

Ordered 2 jumbo bags of decorative chip pings. Excellent service from sample to order to delivery advice and time. Only reason for not 5 stars was that the pallets arrived partially smashed and only the skill of the driver got them off the vehicle. The pallets seem of minimum quality to carry a tonne and pass through 2 delivery depots on the way, so have to stand multiple fork lift movements. Despite the last comment, I would recommend Dandy's to others… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 03/07/2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us! We are very sorry to hear that the pallets had been damaged en route to you and of course this is something we will raise with our pallet supplier and our courier.

Your feedback is really appreciated and will help to improve our service wherever we can.

Thank you for recommending us.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“unpleasant delivery driver”

Written on: 02/06/2014 by Reevespm428 (1 review written)

Delivery is free but as I needed to have it delivered at the weekend delivery was £30. Delivery arrived on time, the driver got out and after understanding it was me who ordered the wood chips launched into an angry list of things he doesn't or won't do. He then said if I don't get all of the (f-ing)cars near my property moved or he wasn't going to (f-ing) deliver anything. I live on a street where we are the only one's with off-street parking so everyone else parks where they can. Also it's… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 03/07/2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback,

We are so extremely sorry to hear that the delivery driver was so rude and unprofessional. Unfortunately we out-source the delivery of our items to PalletForce who then use the local depot to yourself to perform the home delivery. This is certainly not the kind of service that we wish to offer and work closely with PalletForce so that our customers have a positive, speedy and professional experience when it comes to the delivery.

Your feedback has been passed onto PalletForce to investigate but in order to process the complaint against the driver please could you possibly email us directly with your order reference number? Please email me.

Thank you again for your feedback as this wil help to improve our service and ensure that none of our other customers will be faced with the same kind of attitude. We are very sorry that you were subject to this form of verbal abuse and please be assured that the views and actions of PalletForce members employees are not always that of Dandy's.

Kind regards
Amanda
Dandy's Topsoil

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Beware - Delivery DUMPED at roadside !”

Written on: 08/02/2014

Ordered a bulk bag of soil. Left clear instructions for the driver to leave the bag on my drive with a contact phone number in case of any problems. Found a massive bag left at the roadside one hundred feet from my gate. It will take me weeks to shift and during this time will present a risk to pedestrians and road users. Emailed the company on their transport and sales addresses but received no reply. A phone call to the company was met with a similar non- response. I would not recommend… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 12/03/2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback,

We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with the delivery and that it was not made to where you wanted it to be.

As per our delivery information and Terms and Conditions we use a palletised courier to perform our deliveries and due to the manner of offload we can only guarantee delivery to the roadside on a flat hard-standing surface such as tarmac or concrete; it some cases this means that the goods will be left quite far from your property, if for instance you have a long graveled or sloping driveway. The driver would only ever leave the goods in a roadside location if there was not an alternative.

Please can you re-send your email to us as of course it should have been dealt with; it may be that we have not received this email.

Kind regards
Amanda
Dandy's Topsoil

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Soil full of gravel, sand, and plastic”

Written on: 15/10/2013 by Pumazoom (1 review written)

I wanted some good clean soil and compost and found that it was full of gravel, sand and bits of plastic - absolute nightmare trying to get rid of it. Some of the pieces of gravel were made of old house brick - so I am very concerned that the soil is polluted with heavy metals from old building materials. I have had no refund from Dandy's after sending them some photos which clearly showed the plastic pieces and so forth, neither have I had an offer to remove it. Absolutely outraged by their… Read Full Review

Katiefromdandys's Response to Pumazoom's Review

Written on: 12/11/2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the quality of goods purchased - Dandy's is extremely proud of the quality of our topsoils and of our customer service, as is shown by our largely positive feedback on Review Centre - any problems that do occasionally crop up (no-one's perfect 100% of the time after-all) we try to resolve in a satisfactory manner as soon as possible.
Unfortunately, anonymous reviews regarding problems leave us little chance to correct any issues so we would kindly ask that you contact us to resolve the matter.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“sterilised topsoil”

Written on: 30/07/2013

fantastic quality,could not be faulted.there were no foreign bodies, stones or any sign of weeds etc.I would recommend this product from your company to anybody wanting the best quality topsoil at a very competitive price. The delivery was spot on to the agreed schedule. Altogether a very satisfied customer… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 06/08/2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us! Your feedback is really appreciated and will help to improve our service wherever we can.

Thank you for recommending us.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Excellent Service”

Written on: 19/06/2013

I recently purchased some top soil to level off a patchy uneven garden. I called the office to ask advice on what type of soil I needed and the lady was very helpful, offering advice on the best type of soil and how to apply. The website was easy to use and when the product turned up the driver again was very helpful in putting the bulk bag where I wanted it to go. Product great Service even better. Would definitely consider for future use… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 21/06/2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us! Your feedback is really appreciated and will help to improve our service wherever we can.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Lawn in a Bag”

Written on: 15/06/2013

Delivered on time with a helpful driver. Product was terrific, easy to lay and green shoots within a week. Lush grass within a month. Much easier to lay than turf and a better final result. … Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 21/06/2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us! Your feedback is really appreciated and will help to improve our service wherever we can.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Well done Dandy's”

Written on: 02/06/2013

Ordered on the Thursday arrived Friday in time to get cracking over the Bank Holiday. Very pleased with the top soil no stones, very pleasant delivery man in all very satisfied… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 21/06/2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us! Your feedback is really appreciated and will help to improve our service wherever we can.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“SIMPLY THE BEST”

Written on: 31/05/2013 by Frogzfrolic (1 review written)

Your website is great and easy to use. We ordered the basic topsoil and found it to be excellent quality. Half went into the raised bed I have made from old fence posts and the other half is stored to go in another raised bed once my strawberries have finished fruiting. My neighbour could not believe the quality of the soil as the load he had delivered from a well known national firm was extremely sandy. He will probably be contacting you when he next needs topsoil. The delivery time was… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Response to Frogzfrolic's Review

Written on: 21/06/2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us! Your feedback is really appreciated and will help to improve our service wherever we can.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Out of stock”

Written on: 10/05/2013 by nippyjock (1 review written)

Placed an order on the 3rd of May for 10kg of Dandys Platinum Grass seed, scheduled delivery day of Friday 10th of May, received notification late Thursday 9th of May that they were out of stock and did not know when they would be in stock. At this point they asked if I still wanted to go ahead with the order. We had a scheduled delivery date and had organised a gardener to come over the weekend. I have literally just spoken to them on the phone, very flippant and not too concerned about the… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Response to nippyjock's Review

Written on: 15/05/2013

Hello and thank you for your honest feedback,

We are very sorry that the product you had ordered became out of stock before we had chance to dispatch it in time for your delivery; we were let down by our supplier and had to inform all customers expecting delivery of grass seed on that day. We tried to get hold of you to inform you and in the end had to email you, which was the day before your seed was due to arrive. We did apologise profusley for any inconvenience caused for the delay both in the email and over the telephone the following day. We try our very best to ensure all orders are delivered on time with out delays but unfortunately on this occasion there was nothing that could be done. We did dispatch your order of grass seed the following working day as soon as the stock became available.

Again we are very sorry for any inconvenience caused and if you need any products in the furture please do not hesitate to contact us and we will see what we can do for you.

Kind regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment

Nippyjock's reply to Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 15/05/2013

Thanks for taking the time to respond. You did indeed deliver the goods as soon as they became available, however, you gave me a delivery date and I did not receive the goods on that date. If you give a specific date I expect you need to keep it, it's really that simple. I explained to you on the phone I had organised someone to be there the day after the scheduled date. I explained further that he had rescheduled his work load to accommodate me for that day. I disagree entirely with the statement there was nothing you could do, you could keep a tighter control of your stock, you could refrain from making deliver commitments you cannot meet, you can select suppliers who wont let you down, you can offer compensation to customer you let down. Regards

Reply to this comment

Adamdandy's reply to Nippyjock's Comment

Written on: 21/05/2013

I am really very sorry to read of the problems above which resulted in your delivery being delayed.

You are correct in all of your points raised above and in this instance I would like to personally arrange for the money you spent on the grass seed to be returned to you as quickly as possible.

I would be grateful therefore if you could reply with your order number and I will arrange this straight away for you.

sincere apologies and kindest regards

Adam Dandy
Managing Director
Dandys Topsoil

Reply to this comment

Nippyjock's reply to Adamdandy's Comment

Written on: 24/05/2013

Hi, I paid by Paypal, the Paypal reference appears to be Dandy's Topsoil and Landscape Supplies Order Item Number 15988/030513/58, many thanks

Reply to this comment

Nippyjock's reply to Adamdandy's Comment

Written on: 28/05/2013

A follow on note 28th May, I received a full refund on my order as promised, cannot be any fairer than that. If I am able to edit my 2 star review I will do so. Many thanks for your generous gesture, I wish your company every success.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 5 Comments
★★★★☆
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Good service - quality product”

Written on: 09/05/2013 by MiniTC (1 review written)

I ordered a load of Vegegrow topsoil - delivered on time by the most helpful driver. Very happy with the product now in place in the garden with my veg now happily growing in it. One thing to note that the delivery requirements state that hard standing is required. This really needs to be smooth and level hard standing as the delivery driver only had a small pallet truck to wheel the soil onto my drive - which proved impossible for the small wheels to go over my crumbling tarmac. Luckily… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Response to MiniTC's Review

Written on: 15/05/2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us! We are sorry that the delivery was not as smooth as it could have been but very glad to hear that the driver was helpful in sorting out an alternative.

Your feedback is really appreciated and will help to improve our service wherever we can.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Very good product - delivery questionnable?”

Written on: 18/04/2013

The soil and bark we ordered were great. The service was prompt and the price excellent. However when we ordered the goods we did say that we had a gravel drive therefore a delivery truck with a grab arm or a smaller truck ie the size of a skip truck would be able to drive onto the drive to make the delivery. On the day an articulated lorry arrived and the goods were left blocking our drive. Not at all satisfactory - it doesn't seem anyone read our notes. Not sure I would use Dandy's again… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 01/05/2013

Hello and thank you for your feedback,

We are sorry to hear that your delivery was not as smooth as it could be. We work closely with PalletForce who are a palletised network haulier, we do not advertise delivery with a hiab crane as the costs of running these vehicles becomes very expensive. The delivery information on our website explains the delivery procedure, how it works, that we are restricted and that we can deliver to gravel due to the pump trucks that the drivers offload with. Normally vehicles are 18 tonner with tail lifts, which yes are large wagons but are not articulated. If you had requested a 7.5 tonner, which is slightly smaller then we would have made sure that your request was followed through and the depot informed. It seems that on this occasion the depot either did not pick up these notes or did not have a 7.5 tonner available, for which we can only apologies. We will raise these issue with PalletForce for their reference.

Please could you contact me directly on sales@dandysgardencentre.co.uk with your name and order number so that I can investigate further for you? if you wish to order again please contact me first and I will ensure any notes are adhered to.

Kind regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Excellent Service”

Written on: 17/04/2013

The driver turned up just before I'd got home and had used his initiative to put the bags in the best place… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 01/05/2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us! Your feedback is really appreciated and will help to improve our service wherever we can.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Simple order process ”

Written on: 13/04/2013

Very easy order process and good variation of products and volume. Delivery options and prices are good and clear too… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 13/04/2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us! Your feedback is really appreciated and will help to improve our service wherever we can.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Topsoil. Easy ordering, efficient delivery.”

Written on: 12/04/2013

Plenty of helpful advice on website. Ordering very easy. Soil delivered on time. Quality very good. Nothing at all of concern, would definitely use again. Recommend without reservation… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 13/04/2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us! Your feedback is really appreciated and will help to improve our service wherever we can.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Top Soil”

Written on: 12/04/2013 by julianlloyd (1 review written)

Took delivery of 4 bags of top soil last year (2012). First class delivery, first class product. Placed an order for a further bag last month (March 2013). First class delivery - top soil very poor quality. I requred the top soil to top dress a large area of lawn that had been seeded. Top soil sieved and 20% of grit, stone and other was greater than 6mm and had to be discarded. No comparison to the quality of last year. Wilol not be buying any more… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Response to julianlloyd's Review

Written on: 13/04/2013

Hello and thank you for your honest review. All feedback is appreciated and taken on board so you will only receive top products, service and delivery. I am sorry to hear that the topsoil you have most recently purchased it not as good as it was for you last year.

Please can you email me with your name and order number and I will see if there is anything we can do for you to improve your recent order? There are variations of topsoil's that you can choose from basic Multi Purpose topsoil to more improved brands like our Bordermix Topsoil and specialised products for lawns such as Topdressing.

Please email me at sales@dandysgardencentre.co.uk

I look forward to hearing from you,

Kind regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Topsoil delivery - 5th April”

Written on: 12/04/2013

Looking for topsoil over the easter holidays and found a couple of local suppliers. One had a tel number to leave an enquiry, the other was Dandy's who had an option to email. I left messages with both. The first one text me a reply asking me to call back any time................Dandy's provided an email response by 08:30 the first workingg day after the holidays. I placed the order on line and was able to use the on line chat to answer a few questions in real time ( what a great way to do… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 13/04/2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us! Your feedback is really appreciated and will help to improve our service wherever we can.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“amazing cheap service”

Written on: 12/04/2013

Great and easy to use on internet services all round fast to use great prices on items and delivery very quick delivery would recommend to friends family and everyone else all round amazinz service and my top soil was great quolity thanks… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 13/04/2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us! Your feedback is really appreciated and will help to improve our service wherever we can.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★
Dandy's Garden Centre - www.dandystopsoil.co.uk

“Very good fast service. Product always excellent. ...”

Written on: 11/04/2013

Very good fast service. Product always excellent. The delivery driver went out of his way to deliver the goods where I wanted… Read Full Review

Amandaatdandys's Comment

Written on: 13/04/2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us! Your feedback is really appreciated and will help to improve our service wherever we can.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Dandy's

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview