Ovo Energy - www.ovoenergy.com – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Bluevauxhall on 28th October 2014 Report this content
I have just moved into my new home which is been supplied by Ovo Energy (pervious owner) I have been told by Ovo that it takes 16 weeks to change gas companies.  Why? Can anyone help? I was thinking of staying with them but I'm not a high gas user and been told they have a minimal direct debit charge which goes up by 10% over winter.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (7)
Report this content MrRee Written on: 29/10/2014
16 weeks is ridiculous, I must say that I have found OVO engaging in sharp practices and bordering on the unethical lately, they seem to play bad cop, good cop ..... don't know why as there is no need to as they are generally one of the better players
Report this content AndrewLGC Written on: 29/10/2014
I would not touch OVO. I signed up with them but after they put me on the wrong tariff with the wrong amount on the direct debit I bailed out within the cooling off period. Their customer service is awful. Please read other reviews of OVO, they confirm how terrible they are. Also bear in mind that if you do want to subsequently change they will penalise you with a £20-£50 charge per fuel type! I have no axe to grind but find edf's Blue+ fixed tariffs are competitive and their customer service very good. Good luck, I would stay well clear of OVO's clutches!
Report this content jamesperrett Written on: 29/10/2014
Just go to one of the comparison sites and find out who is cheapest. You can then initiate a switch from the comparison site or from your new supplier's web site which should only take 6 weeks or so. Of course, this assumes that you have a normal supply which doesn't involve an Independent Gas Transporter or a prepay meter. If it does, then you can still switch but your choice of suppliers may be more limited. I found that Ovo weren't the easiest company to deal with - if you want good service then look at SSE or one of their resellers like M&S.
Report this content dorsettyke Written on: 29/10/2014
From personal experience of just getting robbed by OVO (see my review) I had a lucky escape and received £50 compensation. It takes around six weeks to swap energy supplies when nothing goes wrong. My swap from Scottish Power to EDF took actually four weeks. Also beware of the minefield as I am still owed £143.81 by Scottish Power when my Electric account was shut on the 2nd Sept. It is now the 29th Oct. and when I call the on hold we will be with you shortly dies after I input my account number. I will be contacting the Ombudsman services within a week. GOOD LUCK they are all like the bankers!
Report this content oborne27 Written on: 29/10/2014
the 16 weeks change is not correct. it should take between 4 and 6 weeks. as to the 10% increase that's untrue as well. I've been with OVO for 4 years and never had a problem. Yes you have to have atleast 1 months DD in credit but that's not an issue for me. The credit balance earns you 3% per year anyway. No one is ripping anyone off as long as you abide by the rules they require to provide you with the cheapest energy of anyone. Personally I've always found them to be very good, easy to work with and when I wanted my credit repaid (£450) it arrived in 2 weeks.
Report this content stradbally Written on: 29/10/2014
I Joined Ovo, just under 2 Months ago, so I cant comment long term. In answer to your question,(1) It took approximately 1Month to switch TO OVO From my previous provider. (2) They increase the direct debit payments by 25% over the winter period (Although they do pay 3% interest on any overpayment in any billing period). I must say that I also have been a victim of their somewhat "questionable" practices----In my case in spite of me sending them meter readings on time, they sent out an estimated bill. It was only after I "jumped" on them by writing to their chief exec. that I was promised that this wont happen again.The bottom line is their tariffs are competitive, but you need to watch them like a hawk. Hope my feedback is helpful to you.
Report this content ebok Written on: 31/10/2014
Firstly ....count to to 10...I understand your frustrations,anger and financial worries! OVO was good offered very low prices to attract new customers then hiked them up - BUT has now got greedy like the rest of the energy vultures: My advice write a letter in a style that you were writing to your best friend, keep the anger and rage out of the content no matter how you feel and just go back to the very start and write in time order the list of issues that you have endured with readings, letters, and no help. Try and be as accurate as possible with dates: Conclude in last part of letter to seek legal advice from citizens advice if the content of your letter is not responded to within 14 days. Good Luck - Always change supplier when any Fixed deal is over and you move house as loyalty is now not rewarded in this sector with cheap prices!
See All Answers
Asked by coldandgettingcolder on 14th October 2014 Report this content
I need help with this company as they are incompetent and have got my readings in a real mess. I also have no heating, the heaters work (I had them checked out) it's the timers or whatever that are at fault, plus the economy 7 is all over the place. Ovo sent out a meter reader (twice) so they know the score of the old meters, but they will not do anything about it. They have racked me up as owing well over £1500 which is just so ludicrous, I would laugh if I was not so fed up with it all, I want to change suppliers, but I can't with my account in this mess. What the heck can I do, I am talking to a brick wall when I deal with them, even the (extra care team) or whatever they call them, who should be the ones dealing with me, seem not to remember what they said to me. I need help, What should I do? I live alone and cannot take this anymore, once the weather gets cold, I shall be in a real mess. Thank You.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content th0mas Written on: 15/10/2014
You have my condolences, OVO are absolute rubbish and do not care about customrs only their money. You have to keep onto them and the only way you will get anywhere is by getting aname of somebody other than the minions who answer the phone - you will have to bluff your way to speaking to somebody higher up. I got the name of a team leader or something, ringing her until she gets so fed she does something - but, you will have to bluff your way through to speak to her. Best of luck.
Report this content MrRee Written on: 15/10/2014
Talk to the Citizen Advice Bureau - do NOT suffer alone or in silence. They will give you the best advice you can get. Report back!
Report this content oborne27 Written on: 15/10/2014
How do you send them your meter readings. Do you do it monthly online? if not why not as then they wouldn't have the wrong readings. Have you checked the meter readings against the monthly bills, if so are they the same or different? If they are different then you need to see if its an incorrect meter read or if you are using a lot of energy due to the messed up timers. The heaters are nothing to do with OVO as they are just a energy supplier not an installer. You need to get a heating engineer to check out the heaters. It could be the heaters that are making the high meter readings. So you need to: 1. get an engineer to check out the messed up heaters - this will be nothing to do with OVO so get someone local. 2. check the meter readings are the same/similar to the bills. If they are then you are using a lot of energy, if its not the same then you need to find out why - wrong meter read, meter not working properly (very unlikely) or OVO have entered the wrong meter read to your bill. 3. update your meter reads every month via the online meter reading facility. This way you will get a correct bill each month. I've been with OVO for 4 years now and have always had excellent service from them. I'm sure this is just a blip. keeps us informed. good luck
Report this content th0mas Written on: 29/10/2014
Complaints to them are water off a ducks back. Suggest you write a hard copy letter, not email setting out your case and at the bottom show you have sent copies of that letter to your local MP (always good) and the energy ombudsman. One of Ovo's tricks when I tried to change was to say I owed money by producing an ESTIMATED account (despite them having actual readings) showing I owed them money, hence I could not change because I owed them money - a vicous circle!
Report this content Phil298 Written on: 29/10/2014
I had the same problems with ovo, they got the meter readings wrong,I was on eco7 and they were billing me rate 1 for rate 2 and rate 2 for rate 1, this ran up a large bill which they were going to take me to court for, in the end I borrowed the money to get rid of them, now 4 months after me leaving them they are pursuing me for another £165 which they say is for the energy I used in the transition stage to the new company, yet my calculations only come to £70??. get rid of them ASAP they are the worse of the worse. Good luck.
Report this content ebok Written on: 31/10/2014
Sorry see answer for Bluevauxall - above... 28/10/14 intended for you Good Luck!
See All Answers
questionAnswer