GenieRecycling.com Reviews - www.genierecycling.com

★★★★☆
3.6 / 5
53
60% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GenieRecycling.com - www.genierecycling.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for GenieRecycling.com - www.genierecycling.com

GenieRecycling.com - www.genierecycling.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Do not use this company!”

Written on: 15/05/2017 by FinleyMcGuire21 (1 review written)

I received the sacks to put my clothes in in a timely manner however, when I went to arrange the courier, it had very limiting time frames which I am unable to meet. Nor could I leave the sacks outside my property as my flat opens directly on a busy street. I have tried to contact Genie multiple times regarding an alternative collection time, but my emails are not being replied to and every time I call, the phone centre is down. Do not use this company, they are unhelpful and according to the… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Quick and profitable way of getting rid of unwanted stuff”

Written on: 19/03/2017 by Nola491 (1 review written)

I have used this Company once and have had a good experience, cannot complain as I got £12 for two sacks of unwanted clothes , shoes and bags! I was expecting more but to be fair collections are free and they send you the bags so they need to cover their costs understandably. It's a small fortune and you are able to have a good clear out without having to run around charity shops as they are becoming more fussy about what they accept! The payment cheque arrived couple of weeks after, which I… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Total rip off merchants”

Written on: 03/03/2017 by Haroldw1973 (1 review written)

Disgraceful, 2 full sacks £7 ! Weighed myself before sending. The weight they told me was wrong!Yet nothing was refused so how do you work that one out Wasn't expecting much but £7 is an insult … Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 07/03/2017

Dear Customer, thank you for your review.

As stated online on our website, we pay 50p per kilo for all acceptable clothing.

As you have stated that all your items were accepted, the 14kgs of clothing you returned would only receive a payment of £7.00.

As the sacks we send out can hold approximately 15kgs per sack, when filling the sacks, they may look full, however, the type of clothing and the material that the clothing is made out of can affect the weight.

Please be aware that it is our experience that bathroom scales and/or travel scales are simply not accurate when it comes to weighing clothes collection sacks where the weight is distributed unevenly.

If you wish to speak to our support team regards your collection pack please call us, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Best regards,

The customer support team.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Uncontactable!”

Written on: 15/09/2016

I sent one bag of clothing just over one week and I'm still waiting for my email confirmation. Tried calling on several occassions but im told by the automated voicemail that the office is closed despite me ringing within opening hours. Tried emailing. Twice. No reply. I appreciate 9 days isn't really any length of time but as Genie promote a 24 hour processing turnaround and to contact them after 5 days if no email is received, this is slightly worrying. Not a happy customer… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 19/09/2016

Dear Customer,

As per the information on our website, we were closed until today (Monday the 19th September), for staff training.

We do apologise that your query is still awaiting to be resolved and this will be responded to as soon as possible.

Regards,

The customer support team.

Reply to this comment

Karensturt's Comment

Written on: 23/01/2017

I have also had the same problem, twice

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“better than nothing”

Written on: 26/06/2016 by OmarStuart353 (1 review written)

if you want hassle free quick money because you cant be bothered selling on ebay or facebook groups and you want the money so don't want to donate it for free to charity then use genie recycling. you wont get a lot of money (in most cases) but the process is simple and some money is better than nothing isn't it! you wont get what you think its all worth but that is inevitable as we are ripped off when we buy clothes any way. have used this company 4 times now and have never had a problem… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Will never use again”

Written on: 16/06/2016 by 1980jh (1 review written)

What a fix ....weighed bag was 10 they weigh its 6 so won't pay out and then keep hold of your propety and profit from it… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Response to 1980jh's Review

Written on: 17/06/2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review.

As previously stated in the email sent to you:

Unfortunately as stated in the terms and conditions (7.2) online that you have ticked as read and accepted when requesting your free Genie Recycling Pack, the welcome letter we sent and on the communication emails, we cannot process clothing that is found to be under our minimum processing weight of less than 10kgs in total!

"7.2 If the Genie Collection Pack is found not to include a fully completed payment form, to be inappropriately filled with damaged, worn or torn Clothing as stated 6.3, or filled under the minimum processing weight of less than 10kgs in total, We reserve the right to process the Clothing without payment to You. We do not provide a return service for clothing."

Unfortunately your Genie Collection Pack was found only to weigh only 6kgs, which means we cannot provide a payment for your clothing. As it states online our collection packs hold 30kg+ of clothing, so filling the sacks greater than 10kgs or more, should not be an issue.

It is unfortunate that this rule has had to be included but it is necessary to stop individuals only including one or two items in their collection sacks and expecting ourselves to pay the transport costs which are the same be it 1kg or 30kg!

We are sorry that we cannot help you, but our terms and conditions are there to not only protect you the customer but ourselves. All the information about our services is provided very clearly on our website and in communication with you via letter and/or email and not just our terms and conditions.

As per the terms & conditions you ticked as read and accepted, we do not return clothing.

Regards,

The customer support team.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude and incompetent company”

Written on: 14/06/2016

I read the review online but had so many useless clothes lying around that I wanted rid of so thought I'd use it anyway and see how much I could get. Luckily for me, this company is so awful I didn't even get past the collection stage so didn't get mugged off with money as other people have. I arranged my delivery and waited in all day as well as leaving a note on the door so they knew where the bags were. By 3.30 I still hadn't heard anything and my bags were still in the porch. I rang the… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 16/06/2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review.

However, you are providing a false and distorted account.

When you called the Customer Support Team, you were spoken to politely and we provided all the information we could provide.

As we stated, we book the collections using a 3rd party courier (APC Overnight) and we are not in contact with their drivers. We also have no control over their routes etc.

If there is an issue with a collection failing or being missed, we are informed on the next working day. This information is stated on our website.

As you sent in an email and stating falsehoods about the person you spoke to on the phone, the decision was to simply not allow you to use our services in the future for the benefit of the hard working staff members of the company.

We are not here to be lied about, insulted or abused in any form.

We do hope that you find a suitable home for your clothing.

Regards,

The customer support team.

Reply to this comment

Lucy.scott24's Comment

Written on: 16/06/2016

Dear Genie Recycling,

Thank you so much for your rapid response to my review. I really appreciate the speed in which you've responded to my concerns, sadly the speed of the responses is the only positive thing about your customer service; the quality of the responses is sadly lacking.

Rather than claiming my account is distorted and false - it isn't, you should address why a customer might feel this way about your business. Judging by the many reviews, I'm not alone.

It's not for me to claim your positive reviews are fabricated to increase your ratings, although they do seem extremely uniform, but a company will always be judged by its negative reviews and how it handles these situations, and in that judgement you have failed time and time again. (Just take a look through the other reviews and you'll see a recurring theme.)

Unfortunately we have varying definitions of politeness, and the burden of being polite falls on you, the company. This is especially true when dealing with a customer for whom your service has failed.

I ordered a courier, waited all day for them to arrive, called you to ask where they might be, and then was told you had no idea and could not find out until they either had or had not arrived. That is a lapse in the service you are supposed to provide. Considering it is 2016, and most couriers can be tracked by sender and receiver, it is slightly concerning that you have no involvement in this side of the business which is arguably the most important.

The patronising tone used during the call, not to mention the passive-aggressive response in your emails and your responses to this review, leave a LOT to be desired with regard to how you speak to customers - the lifeblood of your business.

(Note: accusing your customer of lying, insulting, or abusing you, does not constitute good customer service, particularly when those accusations are entirely false.)

Perhaps if you spent a little more time focusing on how you can improve your service and your customer relations, and a little less time attacking negative (yet correct) reviews, you might create a better reputation for yourselves.

My clothes have thankfully found a home with a company that was incredibly organised and their service exceeded your own in the quality of their customer relations and the payments offered for the goods.

I sincerely hope you take my comments on board in order to improve your service.

Good luck

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful company. DO NOT USE!!!!!”

Written on: 08/06/2016 by ZaireCrouch268 (1 review written)

Sent off two sacks to genie, with a couple of items of clothing that were 'unaacceptable' did not get one penny for the kilograms of acceptable clothing. This is wrong in my eyes. They are rude and untrustworthy and I would advise anyone NOT TO USE… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 08/06/2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review.

As you have not stated your reference number, I am unable to provide a satisfactory reply here.

We assume that you have sent in two sacks that weighed less than the minimum of 10kgs in total to have a payment provided.

As all the information is clearly provided on our website and you have agreed to the terms & conditions (you ticked the box to say you read and accepted them when you requested your pack), your only answer to this is to post negative feedback on review sites.

We do provide a service that requires a minimum processing weight and we also state that the clothing returned must meet our criteria outlined on the "What Genie Buys" page on our website.

We do apologise that you feel that we are rude and untrustworthy, however, all the information has been provided to you on multiple occasions.

Regards,
The customer support team.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“don't bother”

Written on: 18/04/2016 by Conley213 (1 review written)

it is worth just selling your clothes on eBay or cutting the middle man (Genie) and go straight to charity. The quality of clothing that you do place into the bags are worth more than 50p / kilo, furthermore two bags worth of 30kgs is only going to get you £15 and that is f you are lucky. Such a company is obviously going to cheat you and remove 2-5kgs of the original weight to avoid paying you the full price. I do have to admit that the process of ordering and receiving the bags is good but… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 19/04/2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review and your feedback.

We are not as you say a company that "rips off" people.

We pay for acceptable clothing items at the rate of 50p per kilo as stated on our website and in the terms & conditions that you ticked as read and accepted.

You are able to track your sacks back to our premises and once we have confirmed that the sacks have been returned, we send you an email.

At times. this can take more than the two business days, due to seasonal issues such as Bank Holidays, increased collections etc.

We do our best to provide a positive service, however, we are not able to please everyone.

As stated on our website, we do not return items, once they have been collected.

I hope this information helps you.

Reply to this comment

Lucy.scott24's Comment

Written on: 14/06/2016

Genie.com perhaps if you spent more time resolving the blatant issues with your company and less time writing fake positive reviews about yourself then people wouldn't leave bad reviews?

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Wish I'd given to charity....”

Written on: 15/03/2016 by CostaDorris83 (1 review written)

Sent off 1 sack on the 5th of Feb. Heard nothing so emailed them on the 5th of March. Still heard nothing! So rang on the 14th March & was told they were expecting 2 sacks from me......ive no idea why anyway they emailed me the following day to say my sack weighed 15 kilos (my scales at home said 19) and that 1 kilo was unacceptable clothing. I'm getting £7 for 14 kilos of clothes / shoes. Really disappointed, won't be using again. Would rather give to charity.... … Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Response to CostaDorris83's Review

Written on: 16/03/2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review and we apologise that you are not satisfied with your valuation.

With regards to your email, we did not receive it or you would have received a response, or if we did respond to your email, it may have gone into your junk/spam folder.

Regarding the weight of your sack, please be aware that it is our experience that bathroom scales and/or travel scales are simply not accurate when it comes to weighing clothes collection sacks where the weight is distributed unevenly.

If you wish to speak to a member of the support team regarding your sack or valuation please call us Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Reply to this comment

Costadorris83's reply to Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 16/03/2016

You did receive my email as I received your automated response to it.

At the end of the day you should of contacted me upon receipt of my sack. I shouldn't have to be chasing you up for my valuation weeks down the line.

Reply to this comment

Genierecycling.com's reply to Costadorris83's Comment

Written on: 17/03/2016

If you received an automated response, then you emailed the noreply email address, which is not monitored and the automatic reply states to contact us via the support form on our website or call the customer support team via telephone.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Never loose the hope ;)”

Written on: 17/09/2015 by AgnesT (1 review written)

Hello everyone! I was using Genie Recycling for the first time. I had loads of clothes piling up in the mid of my room, waiting to be sewed, adjusted or just thrown away, because they were too big, or just not my type anymore, or just had too much of them. This is why I started to look around and then found Genie. Thought, why not .. I should give a go to them. Although, just like anyone else, I was sceptical from the beginning till I ordered the sack, and just few days later arrived by post… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“sacks”

Written on: 06/09/2015 by Flores267 (1 review written)

I sent two sacks full of very decent coats that we longer wore The coats were in very good confition .Eight or nine in all. Recieved £4 in all.A rip off Would not recommen this compsny to anyone What a scsm making money out of others DO NOT use them I will donate to charity next time Stop this man… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 07/09/2015

Dear customer,

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you are not satisfied with your valuation.

We do state online, that we pay 50p per kilo and all clothing is inspected both for quality and weight.

A £4 payment is for 8kgs of acceptable clothing items as stated on our website.

If you wish to speak to a member of the support team regarding your valuation, please call us, Monday - Friday, 10am - 4pm.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Ready to take a chance ??”

Written on: 20/08/2015 by nanniegigglepants (1 review written)

Save yourself the diisappointment !!! I filled 2 x huge white bags full of good quality bags shoes boots Clothiers some not even worn. This was 28th July I was informed my bags came to £11 do not be fooled by estimated full bag guesses, Because that's what they seem to be... Cutting my loses I thought.. Been ripped off again. But it turns out it's even worse than that, my bank account shows NO £11 has been paid in. Hoping I won't notice !!!! No doubt. Shocking and I'm tellin you and… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Response to nanniegigglepants's Review

Written on: 21/08/2015

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review and we apologise that you feel that you have been ripped off.

Please be aware, that I have checked your details and you requested a payment via PayPal not Bank transfer as claimed in your review.

Please check the PayPal account linked to the email address that you used when you signed up for your Genie Recycling Pack.

This PayPal payment was made on the 30/07/15 and is showing as completed to your verified PayPal account, in our PayPal logs.

As this money is in your PayPal account, you will have to transfer it to your Bank account yourself, using the PayPal system.

Please note we accepted 22kgs of clothing from the 25kgs that you supplied. As we pay 50p per kilo for acceptable clothing, your payment of £11.00 is correct.

I have also checked our records and at no point have you contacted the customer support team to lodge any complaint or request for assistance.

If you wish to speak to myself or a member of the support team, please contact us, during our office opening hours or contact us via the support page on our website.

Best regards,

Lee
Customer Support Team
Genie Recycling


Reply to this comment

Nanniegigglepants's reply to Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 21/08/2015

Hi

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“DON'T BOTHER. Cue generic reply from genierecycling....”

Written on: 08/05/2015 by GregoryMcKinney (1 review written)

Bad customer service. Don't expect to get what you should do in payment. Find a local weigh in to you or just give to charity. This isn't worth the hastle. Would not reccommend to anyone… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 12/05/2015

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review.

We do apologise that you are not satisfied with the use our our service and hope that you have better luck using a local service instead.

As you have not provided any information on the reason why you are not satisfied, I am unable to directly answer your review.

We do pride ourselves on our high quality customer service and we do our best for all our customers.

We are not dishonest as stated by the reviewer above.

We do state on our website and in our terms & conditions that we pay 50p per kilo for all items of clothing that meets our criteria.

If you wish to speak to a member of the support team regarding your issues, please call us, Monday - Friday, 10am - 4pm.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Fast way to unload clothes!”

Written on: 31/03/2015 by tuCormier1955 (1 review written)

I found this site online and I have used it on several occasions to sell my unwanted stuff. They even send you a bag to do it with and its free. Free collection too which is great too. Granted the cash you get isnt a lot but then its not gold :) … Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ genie recycling, rip off ”

Written on: 30/03/2015 by marcshume (1 review written)

Genie recycling, what a rip off, don't send them your clothes, give them to charity or throw them away, i would'nt even give them 1 star but its a required element of the review. we sent them a bag of clothes and handbags and it came to just over 45 kilos, weighed on trade scales, the courier picked up the sack and left us a collection note for 20 kilos, [apparently they have to do this otherwise they can be done for being over weight] eventually we received payment for our sack of 22 kilos… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Response to marcshume's Review

Written on: 30/03/2015

Dear Customer

We are sorry that you feel disappointed with the amount you have generated from your clothing.

As stated on our website very clearly and also in the terms & conditions that you ticked as read and accepted when requesting your free collection pack, we pay 50 pence per kilogram for all types/brands/designs of clothing that we accept as per the "What Genie Buys" page.

The courier weighs the sacks at their depots and we check the weight they have charged us for collection against our own weight to ensure that our weights are accurate.

We check and process every item clothing with two people to a table, so no one person can make a mistake! Plus the tables have glass tops and lights on above and below in order to help spot marks, stains, rips tears etc. The main areas we check where many people forget to look is the underarms of tops where in many cases deodorant stains and marks are found and the bottom of tops (the hem) where many stains and marks are hidden from view.

We do not wish to disappoint any of our customers with the service we provide and even try and let certain items pass that we believe have been damaged whilst in transport, for example, many times we find that shoes/heels that have not been put together have damaged other textiles or damaged is caused when sacks are badly "dragged" by the couriers prior to being delivered back to ourselves for processing.

Due to the sheer volume of clothing being processed on a daily basis, we are unable to provide exact notes on why items are rejected, unless it is over 5kgs, where we take photographic evidence as we see this as a breach of the terms & conditions.

We are sorry that you are not satisfied with your valuation, however, the information that is available to our customers is very clearly stated on our website and in all confirmation emails provided.

If you would like to speak to someone in person about your valuation, please contact a member of the support team Monday to Friday 9am-5pm.

Reply to this comment

Marcshume's reply to Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 30/03/2015

Thanks for your invitation to contact you in person but I already have , as you would know if you had read my review properly !!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Massive rip off”

Written on: 09/03/2015 by franciozzy (1 review written)

I can't believe anyone would actually rate this a 5-star. Must be people working for them. I packed a bag as much as I could and weighted it at 32kg. It took them a week to assess my bag, which they then claimed weighted 25kg. They said they accepted 23kg worth of my clothes and shoes. The courier didn't weight the bag prior to taking it and didn't give me a receipt. I am trying to find out if it's possible to take them to a small claims court. I wish I had just donated all my clothes to… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Response to franciozzy's Review

Written on: 11/03/2015

Dear Customer

We are sorry that you feel disappointed with the amount you have generated from your clothing.

As stated on our website very clearly and also in the terms & conditions that you ticked as read and accepted when requesting your free collection pack, we pay 50 pence per kilogram for all types/brands/designs of clothing that we accept as per the "What Genie Buys" page.

The courier weighs the sacks at their depots not at customers homes.

Please be aware that it is our experience that bathroom scales and/or travel scales are simply not accurate when it comes to weighing clothes collection sacks where the weight is distributed unevenly.

We check and process every item clothing with two people to a table, so no one person can make a mistake! Plus the tables have glass tops and lights on above and below in order to help spot marks, stains, rips tears etc. The main areas we check where many people forget to look is the underarms of tops where in many cases deodorant stains and marks are found and the bottom of tops (the hem) where many stains and marks are hidden from view.

We do not wish to disappoint any of our customers with the service we provide and even try and let certain items pass that we believe have been damaged whilst in transport, for example, many times we find that shoes/heels that have not been put together have damaged other textiles or damaged is caused when sacks are badly "dragged" by the couriers prior to being delivered back to ourselves for processing.

We are sorry that you are not satisfied with your valuation, however, the information that is available to our customers is very clearly stated on our website and in all confirmation emails provided.

If you would like to speak to someone in person about your valuation, please contact a member of the support team Monday to Friday 9am-5pm.

Reply to this comment

Franciozzy's reply to Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 12/03/2015

I have contacted your customer care. I was told to file a complain with the trading standards in my area. Instead, I believe making a public statement in a site like ReviewCentre is more effective.

If people is still brave enough to use your services, they should at least protect themselves and know what they are up against.

While a bathroom scale might be imprecise, it is hardly off by 7kg.

Good luck with your business.

Reply to this comment

Marcshume's Response to franciozzy's Review

Written on: 30/03/2015

same thing happened to us only we sent in 45 k and they claimed it was 22k and they knocked off 2 k and paid us for 20 k i am just going to write my review

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Simple to use service”

Written on: 19/02/2015 by littlellisa (1 review written)

Found this site was still operating so thought I would give it a go. I found it really easy to use and it helped me to clear out my wardrobe that has needed doing for months! Got paid into my bank account too so i didn't have to wait for a cheque. I highly recommend this site to anyone wanting a quick and easy way to empty their wardrobe and get a little cash for it (although it's only 60p a kilo its better than nothing). … Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rip off!!”

Written on: 06/02/2015 by Huffmansv222 (1 review written)

I am so disappointed in how much I have been offered the bag was up to the brim could not fit nothing else in whats so ever. Some clothing still had tags on so you could see that they was new I got offered £13.80 what the heck and you say 1kg was no good basically I have lost out on no end I have a daughter to feed and clothe not good what so ever… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 08/02/2015

Dear Customer,

We thank you for using the services of Genie Recycling and are sorry that you feel disappointed with the amount you have generated from your clothing.

As stated on our website very clearly and also in the terms & conditions that you ticked as read and accepted when requesting your free genie recycling pack, we pay 60 pence per kilogram for all types/brands/designs of clothing that we accept as per the "What Genie Buys" page. This includes items of clothing with tags on them.

All clothing returned to us is processed as second hand clothing, as per Q & A's section Selling Queries 3 & 8.

We check and process every item clothing with two people to a table, so no one person can make a mistake! Plus the tables have glass tops and lights on above and below in order to help spot marks, stains, rips tears etc. The main areas we check where many people forget to look is the underarms of tops where in many cases deodorant stains and marks are found and the bottom of tops (the hem) where many stains and marks are hidden from view.

We do not wish to disappoint any of our customers with the service we provide and even try and let certain items pass that we believe have been damaged whilst in transport, for example, many times we find that shoes/heels that have not been put together have damaged other textiles or damaged is caused when sacks are badly "dragged" by the couriers prior to being delivered back to ourselves for processing.

We are sorry that you are not satisfied with your valuation, however, the information that is available to our customers is very clearly stated on our website and in all confirmation emails provided.

If you would like to speak to someone in person about your valuation, please contact a member of the support team, Monday to Friday 9am-5pm.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great Service!”

Written on: 19/12/2014 by yorkies83 (1 review written)

Found this service online and found it a great way to get rid of some stuff. They sent me a really big bag and I had it collected pretty quick too! Cash was in my bank within a week. Really great service and I recommended them to my friends and family… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview