Penicuik Reviews - www.penicuik.com

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.5 / 5
453
63.6% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Penicuik - www.penicuik.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Penicuik - www.penicuik.com

Penicuik - www.penicuik.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Beware of hidden non-refundable £149 "Contract Admin....”

Written on: 19/07/2017 by KatelynnPerez368 (1 review written)

Avoid this dreadful company!- Reassured by the "refundable deposit" and 7 day cancellation clause, we signed up but had doubts and cancelled next morning. We were told nothing would be taken out of our bank account, but £149 was taken out some days later. We located a £149 "Contract Admin. Fee", hitherto unmentioned, with the aid of a magnifying glass. It used to be a reputable firm but was taken over by an American company. Have complained to Trading… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“BUYER BEWARE”

Written on: 18/07/2017 by Wellsda95 (1 review written)

Had a wonderful sales man call round with a no nonsense approach that I asked for. The windows looked good and the price was right. That was the only good thing I have to say about them. Windows where booked to be fitted 2 weeks later, (not be Penicuik I might add)by Job Worth Doing. Installer turned up without a ladder and 1 of our window surrounds wasn't the right colour. New window surround turned up the following day, but they forgot to add on the list of things to bring end caps for the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do Not Get Involved with Penicuik / entu ”

Written on: 16/07/2017 by Guadalupev1990 (1 review written)

I wish we had seen the reviews on this site before getting involved with Penicuik / entu . No customer service no communication pass the buck culture. promised 6 / 8 week install 6 weeks later not even a drawing. Best part of dealing with them was getting my money back. You have been warned… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jhaughton's Comment

Written on: 16/07/2017

Completely agree, also wish I had read some reviews before buying. Should have a buyer beware attached to this company.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“AFTER SALES SERVICE NON EXISTENT”

Written on: 10/07/2017

standard of installation abysmal. Mastic like a 5yr old playing with plasticene. broken cement (grey) on existing window surround repaired with white mastic not cement. Large end gaps in trim just filled with mastic. Internal plaster repair poor. New stone window sills joined with cement which has cracked and allows water ingress (that should have been mastic or epoxy). Handles on patio doors badly tarnished in less than a year. at least 4 different managers had full list of faults, two been… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“FANTASTIC COMPANY”

Written on: 07/07/2017 by Byrneib1967 (1 review written)

I had my 2 bay windows installed in February. I had a young chap knock at my door who was ever so polite. He arranged a appointment with one of his colleagues to come and give me my quote. I was amazed by the price and the high quality of the window. When I got them installed it was done ever so fast with hardly any upheaval. I have recommended Penicuik to family and friends and would use them again Mrs S.A.Lawrence… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Aftercare non existant.”

Written on: 04/07/2017 by Jaxxpurv (1 review written)

Windows and doors fitted end of may 2017. Fitters were great only one small piece of windowsill needs to be fitted. 6 phone calls and 2 emails still no reply from manager. Told in response to emails he would call or i could callback. This is now becoming a farce. Would like a callback to discuss my issues. Doubt this is goimg to.happem. will be taking it further. Have now written three reviews on trust pilot. Penicuiks facebook psge and now this page. Im not going to go away so may adwell deal… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Very Poor Customer Service...go elsewhere!”

Written on: 21/06/2017 by Boyd232 (1 review written)

Doorstep salesman persuaded my elderly parents to purchase windows and doors to which they agreed, much to my disgust! They decided they wished to change the order. They actually wanted to upgrade a door they had chosen to a more expensive one however despite reassurances from the salesman that he would be on the end of a phone for any queries he could not be contacted despite repeated attempts over days. They later attended at what they thought was a Penicuik office only to find it was a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“vile company”

Written on: 13/06/2017 by Weejoke123 (1 review written)

Do not go anywhere near this excuse for company. Been harassing me with phone calls for weeks. Finally gave in and allowed one of their sales team come out to give me a price. Couldn't get rid of him. Trying to bully me into buying from them. After he was repeatedly told no, he called his cretin of aboss and passed the phone to me. He was vile, threating me over the phone. I still get daily calls from this company. Absolutely disgusting company. Hope they go out of business asap… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“DESPERATE FOR BUSINESS?”

Written on: 03/06/2017

Just a warning to anyone considering using Penicuik Windows. After cold calling at my door I agreed to entertain one of their salesmen for a quote for replacement windows. I was told that they were working on a local housing association upgrade and that they were now able to extend their services at a "massive" discount to home owners. This was in fact a LIE as they had NOT been upgrading windows in the area but just knocking doors on the off chance. The quote given was more than double… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Harrassed on my doorstep”

Written on: 01/06/2017

I had a visit from one of their sales people today. After saying no politely, then assertively, then telling him to leave my property as I believed he was harrassing me, he refused to go. I called my husband to deal with him and he behaved in the same manner to him. He eventually left when my husband said he would call the police. My husband followed him to the gate to see if he had a vehicle so we could complain to the company. The man turned towards my husband and said "You are an e_f_i_n_g… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Harassment”

Written on: 01/06/2017 by 242Pope (1 review written)

Having rejected a quote from a representative I subsequently received daily calls at a time I was unavailable. Finally a call was made when I was able to reciprocate. I indicated that I was not interested in any product and ended the call. The next 40 mins then saw me inundated with calls from Penicuik. I believe this was in retaliation as, on one answering, the voice indicated "I'll get you too big man." I wouldn't touch this lot with a barge pole… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“would not recommend to my worst enemy ........DISGUSTING”

Written on: 18/05/2017 by derekturford (1 review written)

sat through a 3.5 hour pitch. Saleman said we had to have surveyor at a cost of £149.00 and said we had 7 days to cancel with no penalty. We signed 'suveyor' form but cancelled within 2 days after reading the horror stories on here. Guess what........they took the £149.00 and have refused to refund it, stating we should have read the form which said it was an unrefundable administration fee. This is discraceful behavior, these liars and theives should be jailed. He also told us penukuik do… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“This company doesn't finish the job”

Written on: 16/05/2017 by duffus1454 (1 review written)

Got new windows and doors fitted at the beginning of February, outside finishings still to be done was told at the time it would be 2-3 weeks but guy would definitely be there not appeared, tried phoning all their numbers to be told its an Aberdeen problem tried contacting them on numerous occasions no answer tried head office been told to contact Aberdeen. So I'm going to put it on facebook as they are advertising on TV just now BUT PLEASE BE WARNED THEY DON'T COME BACK AND FINISH THE JOB… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Raymorton's Response to duffus1454's Review

Written on: 31/05/2017

agree wholeheartedly, windows in end of march, job not complete front door frame needs refitting, phoning Aberdeen office total waste of time, e mails answered but no folloe up phone calls, have phoned customer services umpteen times, very polite response but no action ntaken

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish Service ”

Written on: 05/05/2017 by Temple207 (1 review written)

Got our new windows and doors in December noticed sitting room finishing was not great had a lip and looked terrible kitchen window had a dent front door panel was different from the other one grain going in different direction letter box substandard and trip Hazzard at my back door also white showing in windows and doors have now had my sitting room window sorted but kitchen window sent out was worse than the one that's in letterbox to small and still left with trip hazard don't get me wrong… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling customer service”

Written on: 01/05/2017 by Brady197 (1 review written)

Friendly salesman arrived at my door stating from Penikuik Windows Google reputable company I thought .Definately not after being bombarded with sales talk prices I settled for windows which I thought came to the total of £5300 Being a single parent as he knew this sounded perfect well within my budget Oh an I was getting some sort of promotional discount as well . In the end After telling him I had to pick up my daughter I felt to get rid of him I ended up signing up for these windows . Now… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling customer service”

Written on: 24/04/2017 by Mc79 (1 review written)

Appalling customer service, constantly on hold on the customer care line, no answer from 2 call back messages that I've sent and no answer from our salesmanship who apparently would be with us all the way though is now blocking our calls! We signed for a sum of £14,860, paid £300 deposit and have now been hit with a £15,508.76 bill- who works out the maths at Penicuik????? However, it's apparently now our fault as we took out a finance card which was pushed by our friendly salesman as… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“POOR service POOR installation ”

Written on: 22/04/2017

Last month, March 2017, I have had all windows and doors replaced by Penicuik. This was not the cheapest price quoted however products where of a high standard at which prompted my decision to use this company. What I had not considered was the fact that Penicuik would use a sub-standard approach to actually 'fitting' these units. The completed job is of such a low standard with a list of outstanding faults and poor workmanship that this now overshadows the quality products. Reading the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Abandoned scaffolding ”

Written on: 15/04/2017 by Langleetims (1 review written)

Windows and doors fitted on the 28th of march all done extremely well and very happy with installers and finish thanks .however scaffolding was used to fit rear windows .we have called Penicuik on numerous occasions now to get this scaffolding removed .we've had many promises the last being on Thursday the the 13th and still we have scaffolding at the back of the house.we can't use lovely new french doors for fear of them smashing on scaffolding .we where told on Thursday that we would get… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking Customer Service”

Written on: 10/04/2017 by Griffin-Alt122 (1 review written)

I placed an order for roofline and guttering products at the end of February and installation was planned for last week. The tradesman appeared with material on his van but departed without doing any work. He said I would receive a call from the Sales team but no one has been in contact. I've called the Customer Service team on four occasions and I receive the same response every time that the sales manager will be in touch but still no call and I'm still no further forward. I've followed up… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Slosher's Comment

Written on: 13/04/2017

Good news as I now have an expected installation date of 24th April. Thanks to all involved from Penicuik and Entu for the follow up so far. My ratings will be updated on completion of the contract.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Slosher's Comment

Written on: 25/04/2017

Another tale of woe with Penicuik. Scaffolding was due to be erected yesterday and following 5 phone to the Sales Manager it still didn't appear. We were promised the installation would go ahead this morning with the tradesmen arriving to find out they have no stock to carry out the installation so who knows what tomorrow might bring. If stars were being allocated based on the lack of organisation and poor communication then they would score 5 so far.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Not the original Penicuik firm which we had used before. ”

Written on: 03/04/2017

After listening to the Penicuik female rep, ( which was complete and utter rubbish) we went ahead with new Windows. This was in December 2015. We asked for fitting to take place after the new year as it was very near Xmas which the rep agreed to. and would take two days to complete, and we were assured they would leave us a room that we could be in with our two dogs. We were assured there would be no damage etc etc etc. ( too many assurances to go into detail ). We then got a call saying the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview