I'm having a very very different experience!

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
12% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease of Use

  • Durability

  • Style

  • Service & Support

  • Value For Money

sheltie77's review of Ebac 6200

★★★★★
Ebac 6200

“I'm having a very very different experience!”

Written on: 30/01/2012 by sheltie77 (1 review written)

The reviews on this site puzzle me and very nearly put me off buying Ebac at all. But sometimes, on the internet, reviews and reviewers are not what they seem. My experience is very different to the other reviewers here.

When I was doing my research on which dehumidifier to buy, the reviews on this site left me wondering what on earth was going on. I had learned that Ebac had been known as producing superb quality dehumidifiers which went on working well for year after year and they were very highly regarded as the market leader. They were talked of as the best dehumidifiers you could buy. Yet here on this site were lots of reviews saying how awful they were with not even one saying they were 'OK' or middling- and it left me worried and wondering whether to buy or not. I have never come across a review site where reviews of a product where so overwhelmingly awful as they are on this site for the EBac 6200. That made me wonder just who had written them and for what purpose - it seemed beyond belief that every customer of Ebac was so unhappy and not one was even halfway-happy.

I decided to buy the 6200 direct from Ebac to give them the benefit of the doubt, and to buy over the internet so that I would be entitled to return the unit if I thought it looked flimsy or if it stopped working for any reason.

I spoke to Ebac over the phone to check a couple of technical points. The girl who answered was knowledgeable, well spoken, enthusiastic and had the information I needed at her fingertips. So a good start.

I placed the order and it was delivered the next day, on time, well packaged. It looked robust and well made, the sort of item you could imagine working properly over a long period. This was NOT made of flimsy cheapo parts to save pennies.

The controls are simple and intuitive. The instructions are clear and straightforward. I've marked EBac down on 'Service & Support' simply because although the instructions refer to re-setting the SmartControl they don't describe how to do this. As yet I've not needed to do this, so maybe I'm being a bit picky.

Once switched on, the unit took about 24 hours to stop completely any condensation forming on windows throughout the entire house. Mildew has stopped dead. It's coped superbly with the water vapour produced by a bathroom with no extractor fan and a kitchen with no vent - so it's doing really well! It's powerful, ever so simple to use and just gets on with the job. And it looks far better than I was expecting from the photos. It sits in the hall where it's really very unobtrusive.

Most of the time it ticks over very quietly. Even when it is working hard, it's no more noisy than a small fan heater would be.

A few weeks after buying it, I received a survey which I filled in including an idea for them and within hours I had a personal response from them. To me, this is a company who really does care what the customer thinks and works hard to ensure they offer the very best.

All told I'm pleased as punch. Since I switched it on, it's just got on with the job and is doing it really well. Which brings me back to the reviews on this site. I'm very, very glad I chose to ignore them. You may wish to do the same.

  • 1 - 6 months

    Owned Product For:

  • Ease of Use

  • Durability

  • Style

  • Service & Support

  • Value For Money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Aardvarks's Response to sheltie77's Review

Written on: 06/04/2013

Thanks, We followed your advice and bought direct. great customer service. First machine was DOA and leaked all over the carpet also was very noisy. Replacment machine now beeb running for 36 hours and no water extraction at all. The coils are not getting cold and there is zero water in the bottom collection area. I fear this shall be going back. There are getting one more chance to deliver a workibng machine next wek and then stanbye for a massive blog and me reaquesting a full refund as not fit for purpose.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Aardvarks's reply to Aardvarks's Comment

Written on: 18/05/2013

Second machine also failed to extract and the EBAC Customer service gave us a feull refund with no quibbles. I would recommend that people take the risk as the service is excellent, even if they sometines have QC isues with some machine

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Soggybeans's Response to sheltie77's Review

Written on: 12/11/2013

Think you may be wrong. People don't just write reviews for the sake of it!

I bought one and it started making a loud grinding noise...it leaked all over the floor.

Seems your under the illusion that everyone's making things up, just because you haven't yet had any problems.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review