Cornwalls Cottages Reviews - www.cornwallscottages.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
86% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Cornwalls Cottages - www.cornwallscottages.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Cornwalls Cottages - www.cornwallscottages.co.uk

Cornwalls Cottages - www.cornwallscottages.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“Laburnum Cottage Rental”

Written on: 07/11/2013

Laburnum Cottage is a very well restored cottage with high quality fittings, good village position. Very well looked after in excellent condition. We had a good stay which was spoilt by the inability of the cottage to seat six adults comfortably, there are two small lounges with hard furniture that seat four in each room. The hot water system is inadequate for six adults and there is no control offered for the heating system. No welcome pack provided (some previous visitors had them !)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Location, location, location”

Written on: 30/09/2013

Morleys Cottage is in a perfect location, only yards from the harbour, coastal walks and central to all cafe's, restaurants and pub. We visited The Krab Pot, The Mote and Golden Lion, all great. The negative point to mention is the cleanliness, everywhere is dusty, lots of cobwebs, stained bedding and dirty floors. The cottage is clearly well used and probably could use some investment to raise the standard of accommodation, we paid over £500 for the weeks stay… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Fantastic holiday in Holywell Bay - Romany Rye!”

Written on: 25/09/2013 by MurphysMa (1 review written)

I have just returned from a fabulous week's holiday in Holywell Bay, where I was staying in a property called Romany Rye. This has to be one of the most well appointed holiday homes I have stayed in and, despite the fact that they welcome a well behaved dog, was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The whole house is bathed in light and there are amazing views from all the windows at the rear of the house. Many a pleasant hour was spent sitting in the conservatory watching all the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Spindrift holiday”

Written on: 18/09/2013

We had a fantastic holiday at Spindrift have stayed in the area many times before but this was the best ever. The cottage was very comfortable, the facilities were marvelous and the view excellent. We loved it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Aalsmeer Widemouth Bay bungalow”

Written on: 09/09/2013 by george t (1 review written)

we visited this bungalow last week 1 -7 sept 2013 for a holiday although the bungalow was very dated I was very disappointed with the amount of dust in the corners especially at the sides of the double bed were you have to put your hands when you plug in, the video cabinet and the information cupboard ,the dirty front room carpet and the inside of the front room window ,we expected a working aga in the kitchen but only had a delivery of oil late in the week so we put storage heaters on and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Violet Cottage, Juliots Well holiday park, Camelford”

Written on: 09/09/2013 by MrsandMrJones (1 review written)

We were very disappointed with our holiday. When booking I was told the site had a fly fishing lake but when we arrived the park informed us it had been closed almost a year now. The pictures on the website of the pool are incredibly inaccurate. It was listed as a heated pool but it was colder than any pool I'd been in! We were also not told that dogs cannot be left in the cottage alone at any time even though we always bring a travel crate with us so they don't damage anything. After paying… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Vellan Cottage, St Keverne”

Written on: 03/09/2013 by risantos (1 review written)

Cornwalls Cottages was very professional keeping us informed and giving us all important details before our holiday. Lovely cottage with everything that we needed. The place was clean and we really appreciated the welcome talk when we arrived. The cottage is located in a very quiet area, ideal for resting, but not too far from the beaches and others interesting places to visit. We really loved the holiday and recommend the place! … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Honeysuckle Cottage, Wadebridge”

Written on: 01/09/2013 by Hamshaw1970 (1 review written)

Cornwall Cottages were very efficient and the description of the property accurate. Honeysuckle Cottage was excellent; beautifully decorated and well equipped - modern bathroom, kitchen and comfortable beds. There were only four of us staying, but it would comfortably sleep six. Perfect base for exploring north cornwall… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Holly Cottage Coombe”

Written on: 01/09/2013 by RachelEC (1 review written)

Lovely peaceful cottage set in an idyllic location. All the character of an old cottage but comfortable with all mod-cons and an airy open plan lay-out downstairs . Very clean with hard floors throughout which was ideal for our dog. Very close to Truro so handy for shopping and eating out but completely charming and rural. Lots of things to do locally but sitting in the sunny front garden watching the tide running in and out and the wild-life could easily fill a day… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“FANTASTIC :)”

Written on: 27/08/2013 by McCormicks (1 review written)

From our initial enquiry till the end of our holiday, Cornwall Cottages were fantastic. They kept us well informed at every stage (ie deposit, full payment, etc). We never felt bombarded with unnecessary emails that clogged up our mailboxes! As to the accommodation, we spent two weeks at The Nook in Northcott Mouth. It was absolute heaven - location on the beach was totally idyllic and we were very lucky with the weather which was a plus. If I'm being particularly picky I would say that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Horseshoe Cottage, Pentewan”

Written on: 19/08/2013 by thinlizzy3 (1 review written)

Just had a great week in and around Pentewan. Lovely little cottage. Cosy, clean and well maintained. Extremely pleased with standard of accomodation. Well located in village. Easy to book and well informed from Cornwall cottages… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Idyllic Mariners Cottage, St Mawes”

Written on: 06/08/2013

Just got back from an idyllic two weeks in St Mawes. The service from Cornwalls Cottages in booking and planning the holiday was excellent and the cottage itself simply gorgeous. Very clean and tidy and lovely touches like fresh flowers and a cream tea left out for us on arrival. The cottage itself is in a perfect location right on the harbour wall so the sound of the sea lulls you to sleep at night and wakes you up in the morning. The views of St Mawes harbour and out across the Carrick Roads… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Lavinia Cottage, St Mawes”

Written on: 30/07/2013

We're just back from a blissfully relaxing week staying at the delightful 'Lavinia Cottage' at St Mawes. The booking process and communication with Cornwalls Cottages was simple and very professional. The cottage itself was immaculate and very well appointed with beautiful bath room and en suite and luxury kitchen....home from home. We took the advice of the owner and pre-booked a restaurant for the first night (The Watchhouse) and the food was excellent and great value. The only slight… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Fourteen the Square”

Written on: 24/07/2013

Firstly I would like to say at this time that Cornwalls Cottages were very helpful and easy to deal with although there description of FOURTEEN THE SQUARE, GERRANS was not accurate. We have been visiting Cornwall for over 30 years and this was the worst cottage we have ever stayed in. Whilst it had loads of character and some nice furniture it needs some TLC. The first obvious disappointment was the state of the carpet on the stairs and into the bedrooms - badly stained and dirty. Fortunately… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Disappointing response”

Written on: 23/07/2013

Arriving on a Saturday Carne Cottage near St Mawes we found that the exterior paintwork and windows were very dirty. The inside was fine but I spent half an hour cleaning before I unpacked. The information indicated I should ring the caretaker if any problem but there was no signal and the information also said the caretakers may not pick up any message as again they could be in an area of poor signal. I contacted Cornish Cottages when they opened on Monday and was given a brisk reply to my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Richie3026's Comment

Written on: 26/07/2013

Thanks for you comments. As we let cottages for their Owners, we do rely heavily on the standards that those Owners and their housekeepers present at their properties. Whilst we do our very best to ensure that those Owners and their housekeepers attain those standards, very occasionally, problems do arise. However, because the Owners and housekeepers are the people who have to put right any problems, we do ensure that their contact details in the event of such problems are clearly set out for guests so that problems can be resolved as swiftly as possible.

In the case of Carne Cottage, the property is managed by housekeepers who are located a short 10 minute drive away and man a 24 hour emergency phone to deal with any problems at properties. Instead of cleaning the windows and requesting a refund to cover your time to do that, if you had followed our instructions, the housekeepers would have come very quickly and sorted the problem, allowing you enjoy your holiday. Yes, the windows should have been cleaned prior to arrival and that was a mistake, for which the housekeepers apologise, but please give them the opportunity to put the mistake right.

You say that you could not ring the housekeepers because of a weak signal, yet you seemed to be able to contact our office!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Colhit's Comment

Written on: 26/07/2013

Yes... I did call the office... from Falmouth 2 days later.

I was not prepared to wait 2 days with those conditions.

Guess you lost the argument re the signal!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Richie3026's Comment

Written on: 26/07/2013

So you were prepared to clean the windows rather than drive 2 minutes up the road to find a signal?

We also take your comment: "in recent years when there has been a holiday problem, at home or overseas we normally find that we are more than compensated, particularly if the approach is made in a polite manner" which you made in your email particularly concerning in this situation.

Our belief is that either Owners, housekeepers or ourselves be given the opportunity to put things right first. There are too many people these days who believe that a reduction or refund in the holiday is the only thing they want when a complaint is made. Whilst the housekeepers acknowledge that things needed to be sorted, they were not given an opportunity to correct their mistake as per the instructions that you were given with your holiday. You then complain and request "compensation".

We will let readers of this thread make up their own minds, but I believe the answer is quite clear.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Lana's Lodge, Mullion”

Written on: 16/07/2013 by HuwOwen (1 review written)

My family stayed at Lana's Lodge in Mullion at the beginning of July 2013. We had the privilege of being the first guests to stay at this property. Firstly, the village itself is gorgeous. The owners, Becky and Lawrence, were brilliant hosts. They had gone "the extra mile" in ensuring that our stay was hassle-free. The lodge itself had just been completely renovated, and it showed. The quality of the furnishings and fixtures was superb. Cornish scones and jam awaited our arrival - a minor… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Perfect... just perfect! A holiday to remember.”

Written on: 16/07/2013 by mbrackeva (1 review written)

We booked a week in Glenleigh Cottage in St Austell. It was the perfect location to discover all parts of Cornwall. The booking process itself was spotless. Very clear, very correct and all the necessary info on the right time. My wife and I were very impressed with the cottage and Glenleigh farm in general. A quiet location with a mini-farm, funny sheep, a large fishing pond and plenty of green space to stroll around without even leaving the property. The cottage itself was very spacey. We… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“The Custom House, Pentewan”

Written on: 08/07/2013

We have just had a peaceful and relaxing week staying in the Custom House. It was beautiful, clean and homely. Having Wi-Fi was an added bonus as mobile signals were hard to find. More towels would have been nice and information regarding refuse collection would have been handy as we found "old" plastic containers and tins from previous occupants in the bags. The weather wasn't perfect but there was plenty to do and see in the area. And when the sun did shine, the beach was such a short… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Efficient and wonderful stay”

Written on: 08/07/2013

Cornwalls cottages made the whole process of booking our holiday very easy and they have a fantastic variety of self-catering options, both dog-friendly and good for families. I would not hesitate to use their service again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Deb's Cottage, Mousehole”

Written on: 07/07/2013 by CordeliaK (1 review written)

We have just returned from an absolutely delightful holiday staying in Deb's Cottage in Mousehole. The cottage is really beautiful and has excellent facilities, wood burning stove was a stand out detail (although July the weather was not in our favour). THe views from the cottage were out of this world as you are looking out directly over the harbour I would definetly recommend this cottage to anyone as it was comfortable and the perfect base for a relaxing holiday Only slight negative was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview