Lapland UK, Bewl Water, Kent

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.4 / 5
56% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Guest's review of Lapland UK (Kent)

★★☆☆☆

“Lapland UK, Bewl Water, Kent”

Written on: 09/12/2012

We visited Lapland UK last week and was extremely disappointed, the website site states it is a magical experience, well it was far from that. Firstly you queue for ages to check in, then you go through to meet 2 elves that waffle on and can't act, my son was completely bored and so were many other children. After the elves have handed out passports and sung a song they finally open a door to the Wonderland! Well it was a muddy path with artificial snow sprayed on trees, about 10 metres along path, we were all met by a Sami, who waffled on again and made everyone make reindeer and husky noises-again, children were getting bored, we had to stay their for about 15 minutes before we went to the toy factory. Here the children stuffed build a bear type teddies with different shapes and put its t-shirt on-the children were not allowed to keep these, although an elf said you can buy one in the shop for 60 elf jingles-£30! They are definitely not worth that price. Next we were taken to see Mother Christmas in her gingerbread house to listen to the elf s again waffle on and sing a song, then children decorate a gingerbread (which they can eat) the adults were offered a hot fruit drink and a biscuit. After this we had 90 minutes in the village square - this was another huge disappointment, the fake snow on the floor is white astro turf, the ice sating rink was plastic and all you can do is shuffle around, was no way you can ice skate on it. There's a post office, but be aware if you want a Santa stamp on seal, you need to pay. There's a shop that is way overpriced and full of tatt, the restaurant is limited-there was meatballs, chips, hot dog or soup, the chips were £3 for a cardboard cup full! There is a coffee and cake bar. You can meet the husky dogs which were kept in a wigwam and learn about Sami people. After the 90 minutes its time to visit Santa, be prepared for a long wait though. First you are taken to register your child's details, then wait till your name appears on a blackboard, then you go through to another room to wait till an elf calls you to visit Santa. After a short walk through the woods and another wait outside Santas log cabin, we finally met him. My son was given a nice cuddly husky dog and we had our photos taken. When you leave Santa, the elves guide you to see his reindeers and here you can purchase your photos -£10 each or 3 for £20 and there is a shop selling outfits for your cuddly husky! All in all this is an expensive disappointing day out, would never recommend it. Save your money, it's one big rip off.

  • Value For Money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mjw1979's Comment

Written on: 17/12/2012

Yes it's extremely expensive but you can see why it's that price. I don't know why your child was bored as the 30 something in our group were very occupied and full of excitement throughout the day! Def worth more than 1/5 stars!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Barge400's Comment

Written on: 07/01/2013

No, this review is wrong. We took our 5 children who are aged 8 and under who all thoroughly enjoyed the day. Even down to our 2 year old who did not want to get off the ice. All I can think is that the parents put a downer on the day (maybe due to a wait) and were expecting to be pampered because it costs a bit more than your run of the mill Lakeside Grotto. It’s up to you to ensure that your children enjoy themselves. It takes work but in the environment provided its not too hard and well worth it. There were 8 of us in total Parents , one Grandparent and 5 children. Yes it cost well over £500.00 probably more than most have spent but to see the looks on our children’s faces was worth every penny. The food again a bit pricy was very good it cost £35.00 for us all to have lunch. Less than any service station.
The elves are putting on an act not waffling on. You have to get in the spirit of things.
And, get this, we brought a bauble as a souvenir. As we were taking down the tree it feel to the floor and broke as it was made out of glass. I e-mailed Lapland on Sunday, they replied today and offered to send a replacement free of charge.
Its reviews like this that gave me anxious nights wondering if the money we spent was wasted. It was not. If you want to pick holes or have unreachable expectations you will not enjoy this day but if you go with an upbeat attitude you will come away with memories that will last forever.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Alisonfletcher's Comment

Written on: 16/09/2013

Was really glad to read this. I have just paid for my husband and I to take our two children for this year 2013 and then I started reading the reviews (possibly the wrong way round to have done it!) and was, like you had been, very worried I had wasted my money. Am now looking forward to what hopefully will be a magical day for them:)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Barge400's Comment

Written on: 17/09/2013

Hope you enjoy the day. It looks although it has moved so I cant comment on the new location in Windsor. Just remember if you put in the effort your children will enjoy it. It is like a pantomime so you will have to get involved If you don't and look for faults they probably wont enjoy the day. We are not going this year but would like to go again in a few years time but our children will be a lot older then. Our eldest was 8 when we went so maybe the last time we could get away with it. I posted my review because it is a lot of money so don't worry the scene is set.

I just could not get over some of the comments like 'my 5-1/2 year who never did get a good answer as to why the snow was fake' what do these people expect. You have to be inventive like its magic snow that does not melt.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Just_T's Comment

Written on: 22/12/2012

I only wish I'd read your very accurate review before I went and wasted hundreds on a day out that nearly RUINED the magic of Christmas for my 5-1/2 year who never did get a good answer as to why the snow was fake....and who now thinks she knows how to skate (on plastic). I thought it was disgraceful and I truly do not understand how so many people found magic amongst the queues, temporarily erected marquees and spray painted ply-wood. And although it was nice that FC knew their friends etc, we never once heard him "ho ho" or seem jolly or particularly enthusiastic. I suppose I should be grateful he wasn't a drunk but his purple cheek make up was verging on clown-like.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review