GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Russellpearson on 10th May 2017 Report this content
I see other people have fallen victim to their scam. They tell you to drop the keys off the vehicle is fine. Then once you return home, they claim there was damage to the car and charge you 300Euro plus on your credit card. They then refuse to respond to emails or queries. The credit card company will tell you that you need to query the payment direct with Goldcar

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content DeeJayDee Written on: 11/05/2017
I've never had this problem with Goldcar to be honest. I take time to take comprehensive before and after photos but have never been charged for any damage after the event. I recommend always taking out excess protection insurance seperately and then if there is a claim for any damage it can be settled by the Excess Insurance anyway. The downside is that you have to leave a very large deposit when collecting the car but I've found Goldcar pretty quick at refunding that deposit after I've finished with the car. The one to watch for is that the deposit is charged in Euros not Sterling - and incurs hefty commision and currency charges. Make sure you're billed in Sterling when leaving the deposit.
Report this content NewParadist Written on: 11/05/2017
Avoid them like the plague. The only way they can rescue themselves is appointing a new Chief Exec and dealing with the complaints that have built up over the years.
Report this content SCOL8362 Written on: 11/05/2017
Yes this is one of many issues that I had with Goldcar. Luckily I photographed all damage to the car at point of collection so when they attempted to charge me for the exact same damage after the car was returned I was able to present proof refuting their bogus claim. I was fortunate though that I booked via another car hire provider in the U.K. and they took up the claim on my behalf. Definitely a case of buyer beware.
Report this content jefbeab Written on: 11/05/2017
HI, When I had this problem I spoke to my card holding bank HSBC, they were very helpful. The claim I made was that I must see the receipt for the damage repair, the bank agreed with this and withdrew the money from Gold car and refused to pay them until they produced a receipt. Needless to say they never could, go back to your bank and follow this line. Good luck, if you fail change bank.
Report this content pbunker Written on: 11/05/2017
I have learned to avoid Goldcar. They charged me for things they should not. My complaint got the brush off. I now take every opportunity to put people off using them.
Report this content JohnPollock Written on: 11/05/2017
I love answering questions about Goldcar. I never tire of advising prospective customers that they would be better off hiring a car from the Cosa Nostra than entering into any arrangement with this disreputable firm. They are crooks, pure and simple and I do mean GOLDCAR. My only only surprise is WHY after so many years of consistently bad practice and poor customer service anyone in their right mind would EVER consider hiring a car from them. 
See All Answers
Asked by Happy7 on 4th May 2017 Report this content
Gold cars other name is RHODIUM they are the same company. First time with GOLDCAR they charged us for damage that did not exist. (We took before and after photos, but this did not make a difference) second time we got caught out as now avoid gold car we used Rhodium and they charged us twice for the car hire. Be vary careful!!!

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content Dr.John Written on: 04/05/2017
Thanks for the heads up about Rhodium. Back luck and commiserations to you for your double loss. I tend to stick with the well-known brand names for rentals these days, I've been shammed by companies like GoldCar too many times.
Report this content jefbeab Written on: 04/05/2017
I have had trouble with Gold car before, I sorted them for charging for damage that did not exist. I asked my bank to stop the payment. The bank asked Gold car for proof of the damage, Gold car had pictures that you could see nothing on. I requested the receipt for the repair work. When they produced no receipt the bank gave me my money back.
Report this content goldcarripoff Written on: 05/05/2017
Yes had the same experience with Gold car.tried to charge me for 200 euro`s for damage to stainless steel cover plate in the door handle key lock fortunately I had taken pictures on collection. I sent the pictures to them and my credit card Co and was reimbursed. Gold car are no different from most of the hire car company's. I rent cars about 3/4 times a year and take out annual insurance ! But still got caught out by O/K car hire as they had parked another car about 2ft along side my hire car which had damage to the under side of the sill panel, which could only be seen if you were lying on floor and was rusty. I was charged 300 euro`s how many other people had been charged for the same damage? I can only suggest you go over car in great detail taking photo`s of any damage including the wheels, or pay their expensive insurance. It`s an industry that needs new legislation to protect the customer. as they have your C/C details and can charge you when your home DON`T let it spoil your trip/holiday
Report this content Regency66 Written on: 11/05/2017
Just avoid this Company. I have tried to report that on Watchdog for underhanded practices, but the BBC obviously have bigger fish to fry
See All Answers
Asked by Jamnate on 4th February 2017 Report this content
I've prebooked a hire car from Goldcar next week at Malaga airport. I've booked the insurance with Ryanair. Will I still be hit with having to pay for more insurance when I get the car? Also can I get the car without having to leave such a massive deposit on a credit card? Tempted to cancel and go elsewhere now after reading these reviews.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (21)
Report this content benlondon Written on: 07/02/2017
Yes I would strongly recommend cancelling and booking elsewhere. But check the reviews of the other company before you book too as Spain is becoming fairly notorious for sharp practice in car rentals.
Report this content davethekeys Written on: 07/02/2017
They will pressure you to buy their Super Relax Cover. If you don't you will have to leave a deposit on your card. It can be 600 or more Euros.
Report this content NewParadist Written on: 07/02/2017
Yes, you'll have to pay the deposit but that's normal with most companies unless you insure with them. The difference with this lot is that I wouldn't bank on getting it bank. In fact, I'd say the odds are against getting all your money back. The problem is that they're deceptive - you can find yourself paying insurance and they won't draw your attention to the charge and the same goes for any other additional charges they can find. I really would stay clear.
Report this content garydavies2304 Written on: 07/02/2017
yeh cancel they will have you for what ever they can .
Report this content MSH Written on: 07/02/2017
You will definitely be asked pay their insurance. If you refuse then there will be a massive deposit taken off of your credit card. Their cars seem cheaper when booking but they certainly don't work out cheaper in the end. Cancel and go elsewhere while you still have the chance.
Report this content HanaV Written on: 07/02/2017
Regarding the insurance - I think YES. And you have to leave the deposit and they will not to return the whole amount. I STRONGLY DON'T RECOMMEND GOLDCAR!! It is the group of cheaters
Report this content Ken100 Written on: 07/02/2017
Yes I would seriously consider booking elsewhere. My experience with Goldcar is not good. Their customer service is seriously lacking and they push you to have extra insurance even if you are fully covered and they charge you an expensive amount as a deposit of your credit/debit card and they give you bull about not filling the vehicle up when returning it. I would definitely not use them again. You could consider booking a car off airport, from the resort, where it could be picked up at the airport. Thanks
Report this content Regency66 Written on: 07/02/2017
As per the previous replies Goldcar will not recognise the Ryanair insurance and will pressurise you into taking out their Super Relax Cover, or, alternatively having a large excess earmarked on your credit card. That wouldn't be an issue to me as you have cover with RyanAir, and if you had to pay anything out you can claim it back from the Ryanair cover. My problem with this company is that if you earmark their excess on your credit card their agent might accidentally on purpose key in some wrong data which causes the card transaction to decline, and they will not let the car go until they have payment. If you then agree to take out their cover miraculously the payment is processed ok. I will never use this company again so forewarned is forarmed. Hope this helps
Report this content Poundy321 Written on: 07/02/2017
I had insurance (excess refund policy) & was in the queue for nearly 2 hours (at Palma airport). Initially he just told me extra cost to charge......Fuel deposit & insurance.He wasn't interested in what I was showing him & tried aggressively to sell the insurance. They block the amount from your credit card, rather than something you have to pay. I too would look elsewhere if you can cancel without penalty & have bought a seperate annual excess policy in the UK....I've used Questor but not had to claim yet.
Report this content HumbleEllis Written on: 07/02/2017
Cancel if can, Goldcar will rip you off one way or another. I've used them twice and both times got done.
Report this content rt52 Written on: 07/02/2017
From my experience at Barcelona I would avoid Goldcar at all costs, they will try to convince you your own insurance is not valid, and you must buy the one they offer. If you stick to your guns you are then treated with contempt, are asked to leave a large credit card deposit and charged twice as much for fuel. I paid a over 300euros for 1110 days hire and was then given a car that had had a been in an accident with the front wing smashed in. When I asked for a different car I was told to take it or leave it. AVOID GOLDCAR
Report this content dmilne6 Written on: 07/02/2017
Yes or leave a huge deposit. I also had insurance which theywould niot accept I took theirs and it cost the same again. Car I got was so dented and scraped I am sure they would have been trying to keep the deposit. Will never use Again. Also the queues were horrendous at goldcar. No queues elsewhere. I use Avis now with their preferred scheme.
Report this content a12ENE Written on: 07/02/2017
Goldcar will do everything they can to get extra insurance from you. They logged in the wrong data for our credit card so it was declined so we were forced to take their expensive insurance. Odd that our card worked everywhere else on holiday. On our return home, the bank confirmed the card was declined due to Goldcar entering data error. Goldcar still refused to refund us even with confirmation from the bank.mThe exact same happened to a friend. CANCEL and save yourself the trauma.
Report this content goldcarripoff Written on: 07/02/2017
I regularly use hire cars in Mallorca, they are much the same as most car rental company's if you do not take out their insurance you WILL be pressurize you into taking out their insurance ( much more expensive) if you don`t make sure you have enough on your credit card as you WILL have to leave a deposit. Last time for me it was 1,000 euros! MAKE sure you go around the car checking for any damage, take pictures time and dated before you drive off.I missed the small stainless cover plate in the door handle key lock,And they wanted to charge me 250 euros! fortunately it could be seen in the pictures I took , and was reimbursed. Another tip if the car is a total write off (if you should Be so unlucky!)most add on insurance only covers you for 5-6,000 euros.I take out annual insurance,but read their small print like all insurance Co they love to take your money but hate paying out.Be sure to check the sill panel`s @ the bottom of doors,I missed that one before I got wise and got stung even though it was rusty! Don`t let it put you of.My wife has just gone out for £20 each way and have hired cars for a week for £15. just be as smart as they are.
Report this content Esprester Written on: 08/02/2017
I would book elsewhere as they are notorious for adding in extra charges. The service I got was appalling when I hired a car and would never hire with them again.
Report this content pbunker Written on: 08/02/2017
You will still have to pay a large deposit, which you will fight to get back. I will never use Goldcar again after my experience.
Report this content DavidpBennett Written on: 09/02/2017
Argus Hire is the agent that deals with Goldcar bookings and their intructions state quite clearly that if you've already bought the extra cover you don't need to buy Goldcar's EVEN THOUGH THEY MAY PRESSURE YOU INTO DOING SO. The man at the Goldcar counter was both rude and aggressive and listed the ills that might befall us should we not buy his extra insurance. There is too much competition in the market to have to tolerate such behaviour and the choices are many.
Report this content DavidpBennett Written on: 09/02/2017
Argus Hire is the agent that deals with Goldcar bookings and their intructions state quite clearly that if you've already bought the extra cover you don't need to buy Goldcar's EVEN THOUGH THEY MAY PRESSURE YOU INTO DOING SO. The man at the Goldcar counter was both rude and aggressive and listed the ills that might befall us should we not buy his extra insurance. There is too much competition in the market to have to tolerate such behaviour and the choices are many.
Report this content JohnPollock Written on: 10/02/2017
I have spent the last twenty years doing touring holidays round Spain & Portugal and I have encountered some horrendous practices by car hire firms but I always regard Goldcar as being in a class of their own. The staff are programmed to sell extra cover and are not amused if you have purchased cover here before you go. If they accept that you have sufficient cover you will be asked to hand over your credit card so that they can guarantee payment in event of an accident. All car hire companies do this . It is standard practice. If I were you I would look at the reputable companies like Hertz. Car Hire is a very competitive market, sharp practice abounds. You just have to give yourself the best possible chance of having a good experience.The ones that appear cheapest are not always good in the long run.
Report this content Dr.John Written on: 04/05/2017
How did this go? Did GoldCar rip you off for a huge deposit, which they then did not return in full?
Report this content Tom1982 Written on: 04/05/2017
Cancel and go elsewhere, even if more expensive they are a terrible company
See All Answers
Asked by titch81 on 3rd September 2016 Report this content
Has anyone had a Hyundai i30 and what was it like to drive, especially on mountain hills and tight bends? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content ricardor813 Written on: 06/09/2016
My only advice is to flee Goldcar. You will pay more than you think. They use to lie about the price and you want to take the car. The price is 100% more!
Report this content kevinhaw Written on: 06/09/2016
Avoid Gold Car like the plague! They will top you off
Report this content legrandbreton Written on: 06/09/2016
Hi, I didn't have an i30 from Goldcar but I did have one from Enterprise in Germany a couple of years back, did several hundred miles in it (only had 500 miles on the clock when I got it!) and I thought it was a beautiful car (I used to drive an X-type Jag at the time). It felt solidly put together, was extremely comfortable and certainly performed well on the autobahns. I think it was a 1.6 engine. There weren't any mountains where I was so can't answer that part of the question. Best of luck, BTW as for the question of charges, they're all at it, so it's up to you to do your homework, when I had a Goldcar car in Portugal, yes there were additional charges, which I opted to go for as in the end, adding these charges + the original cheap starting price ended up being 1/3rd cheaper than the "big boys". I did have 100% cover for everything on an Alfa Giuletta and I had a wonderful holiday without ever worrying about the car. D.S
Report this content Regency66 Written on: 06/09/2016
Never hired one of these - always had a VW Polo. However I would NEVER use Goldcar again. They used underhanded tactics to sell their Supercover insurance and they would not acknowledge this. If you have already booked then good luck to you my friend
See All Answers
Asked by rebeccavincent on 20th May 2016 Report this content
I'm a little confused, I'm on the GoldCar website and add the super relaxed insurance. Does this cover everything or will we be charged again? We had same kind of thing last year.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (15)
Report this content stevekguy Written on: 20/05/2016
Take a look at the cicar website. I own a flat in the Canary Islands and their price is all in- they never ask for a penny more
Report this content Brazzaville Written on: 20/05/2016
We had a terrible experience with Goldcar,even though we had taken out excess insurance they insisted I pay €220 extra for their own insurance,if we did not they we refusing to let us have the hire car. We have travelled throughout Europe using our own excess insurance with many car hire company's but Goldcar refused it,so my experience with them was not good,would not recomend them at all.
Report this content ricardor813 Written on: 20/05/2016
The best thing you have to do is ti flee. We eat with my wife en car in Lisbon airport. They asked us a big price. We paid on their website 400 euros and in lisboa the price was 800. On top of that, the oil is very expensive with gold car and no choice with us. They forced us to pay 100 euros the full. I refused and that was the best choice? Many people pay few month later and it's hard to defend. 
Report this content davethekeys Written on: 20/05/2016
If you buy the Relax Cover in advance you are fully insured. If you choose not to take it in advance you will be 'offered' it at the Goldstar kiosk. Alternatively you can decline it and pay a hefty deposit (€600 at Palma). I suggest you do NOT take out an insurance from a 3rd Party insurer as in my experience Goldstar won't accept it.
Report this content a12ENE Written on: 20/05/2016
Warning, Goldcar are determined to add on any extras that they can. What you expect to pay is never the same as the final bill. I advise you to look at their customer complaints online before booking. The initial price quoted online looks cheapest, but believe me it won't be. They are quite likely to log in incorrect data to register your credit card. Your card will then be declined by the bank and they will then force you to pay excess insurance on your debit card. If you do choose them - BEST OF LUCK!
Report this content Stonie Written on: 20/05/2016
The problems arise when you use a 3rd party website to make the booking for you, as I did with Rentalcars.com! Taking out the Rentalcars insurance was cheap but Goldcar refused to accept it as suitable cover, hence my problems at the airport Goldstar counter. However, as it turned out, having paid for their Super Relaxed Insurance, it was very comprehensive and all inclusive. The hire car was very new and excellent. It was very upsetting at first and the insurance was very expensive - but I'm over it now! Do your utmost to take the car back on fumes, they refund fuel left in the car but at a rubbish rate - don't give them any more than you have to. Post your review on here if you use them, be interesting to see how you get on pre-booking first.
Report this content jefbeab Written on: 20/05/2016
From my experiance and looking at the many reviews about Godcar rental, choose a different provider. Goldcar are in my experiance terrible, they charged my card for damage that was not there, my bank made them give the money back. They would not have refunded the money.
Report this content Farnese Written on: 20/05/2016
I wouldn't trust them. Though it probably depends on the country you are booking for. My bad experience was at Lusbon. Massive queues, virtually no English spoken and no check of the car before we drove off. On return a very stroppy girl took dozens of photos and claimed we had caused all the minor blemishes. Luckily they could not produce the departure checklist so we were ok. I always use Avis now. Much more professional and pleasant. Good luck! (If you do book with Avis, join their preference service on line, there is no charge, then you will be fast tracked at pick up!
Report this content rharrisuk Written on: 20/05/2016
Based on my experience NEVER use the company. They will up sell you, pretend not to understand and use other tactics to inflate your final bill no matter what you think you've agreed with them.
Report this content MicheleWhite Written on: 20/05/2016
I returned to Fuerteventura and had a car by Thrifty (Hertz). Brand new, pick up at airport, full to full policy, excellent service and cheap. Goldcar is crap!!
Report this content africanrefugee Written on: 20/05/2016
Fair warning, steer clear of GoldCar as they are the worst car hire company to deal with. Then when you find they are not providing the service you Thought you purchased in the first place and want to cancel, you loose your fee. If going looking for hire in Malaga I would recommend MARBESOL. Take their all in one insurance and it covers everything (no deposit or blocking on credit card) and they throw in a satnav for free. Initially it may seem their hire charge is higher, but in the end you find you save money and don't have to put down an insurance deposit or have your credit/debit card blocked for the deposit. I STRONGLY advise against using GoldCar.
Report this content Regency66 Written on: 20/05/2016
As far as I understand it if you take out Goldcar's Super cover when you book directly with them then you will have nothing else to pay except for fuel. The problem with this Company arises if you don't take out their Supercover, in which case they will want to block an excessively large sum against your credit card to cover the vehicle excess. Ok that is clear from their website but last time with these people their Agent twice keyed in wrong data ( I am thinking he used the wrong card expiry date) which caused the transactions to be declined. I was left with a situation where I had to take out the Supercover to obtain the vehicle that I had already paid for - or lose my money. As soon as I agreed to take out the supercover my card payment was quickly authorised.......amazing isn't it!! I will never use this company again and have reported them to BBC Watchdog Hope this helps
Report this content tommy662 Written on: 20/05/2016
There are a lot of serious companies to rent a car. Why do you prefere to have problems whith Goldcar ???
Report this content Esprester Written on: 21/05/2016
I found that there is always another fee or charge with Goldcar. Seriously I wouldnt use them again. When we hired in Spainthere was an additional charge for dropping off at another location, then the top insurance didnt cover taking the car into portugal so we had to pay another fee for the insurance for Portugal then another hire fee on top of that. I definately wouldnt use them again.
Report this content thewhartons Written on: 22/05/2016
My son in law who has 5 large insurance companies took out car insurance in the UK to cover all the extras that Goldcar might try to charge him extra They would not accept his insurance and he had to take THEIR insurance and pay extra Don't use them He or I will never use them again Ask yourself why everybody gives them 1 star
See All Answers
Asked by Castlehill on 3rd March 2015 Report this content
Does anyone know how much is fully comprehensive insurance for car hire in April at Faro airport?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (8)
Report this content adirpcb Written on: 04/03/2015
No,But stay away from GoldCar they are not honest people .
Report this content Parisien75 Written on: 04/03/2015
No i don't no , but if you don't want any trouble , stay away from GoldCar
Report this content Jan973 Written on: 04/03/2015
I don't but from what I remember it was more than the car hire I think, do not hire from them, they rip you off
Report this content plh007 Written on: 04/03/2015
NO but DO NOT use this company. Shocking service.
Report this content legrandbreton Written on: 04/03/2015
Unlike others I was 100% satisfied with my Goldcar car at Faro airport. Even ended up with an Alfa Romeo Giulietta as a "compact" car! People don't bother to check the small print and then whinge that they are being "ripped off" when someone tells them they have to pay more if they want 0 excess: this is not unique to Goldcar, ALL rental companies operate in exactly the same way. If you don't want to pay the extra you get specialist cover from someone like Insuranc4hire back in the UK (£39.99 a year). As for Goldcar, I did pay the extra for the full cover, I can't remember the exact figures, only that with EVERYTHING covered the car ended up being a little CHEAPER still than a bog-standard compact (not likely to be an Alfa!) from the proper big companies (Avis, Europcar and the like). To me, that's very good value. Whether you can get a better deal from some small outfit coming to pick you up in some tatty minibus to give you a car with 50K+ on the clock, I don't know but I would not want to chance it! As for the fuel policy, yes they "sell" you a full tank of petrol (ie you have to pay for it when you pick up the car, and probably pay a little more than you would at your local supermarket, but nothing silly, and they DO REFUND you whatever is left when you return the car as long as the low fuel light hasn't come on yet. I had about a quarter tank left and the refund was back on my card the morning after we flew back! So it does work. All car rental companies in Faro operate this full tank policy anyway but don't all refund you.
Report this content Farnese Written on: 04/03/2015
I ditto the post regarding Goldcar. They are not a company I will ever use again. Recently had very good experience with rental ars.com in Cape Town and Budget. Paid in advance and absolutely no extras sold to me or charged. Good luck to!
Report this content friendlyjon Written on: 10/03/2015
Don't ever get insurance from a rental company, it's a rip off. If you want full cover get it from someone like insurance4carhire.com. There are several firms doing this cover, I have claimed twice and been paid quickly and in full each time. Incidentally, the hire firms don't mess around with stupid or bogus claims when they know you have separate cover.
Report this content ricardor813 Written on: 20/05/2016
go away! Gold car isn't honest. 
See All Answers
Asked by Peteken on 18th November 2014 Report this content
Are they located on the ground floor of the car park in Alicante airport? If yes, is this where I would pick up and return one of their hire cars?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content poorsucker Written on: 19/11/2014
Sorry can't hep re: Alicante but would strongly advise against using Goldcar. They have many hidden charges which are made on your credit car without authorisation on return
Report this content Farnese Written on: 19/11/2014
Sorry, I am the wong person to ask as I only rented from them once at Lisbon. (I will NEVER use them again) Good luck!
Report this content adirpcb Written on: 19/11/2014
Bad experience from Goldcar,Stay away from them.
Report this content kiss2 Written on: 19/11/2014
Hi, when you land and pick up your luggage the car rental agencies are all along one side. Then to pick-up your car walk out the terminal, walk straight across the road and all the agencies car are there under cover. This is a small airport, so no need to worry about maneuvering around. hope it helps.
Report this content kiss2 Written on: 19/11/2014
Please ignore my first answer, I thought you were referring to Mallorca's airport; Palma di Mallorca
Report this content Jonswan2 Written on: 04/03/2015
Gold Car are evil - avoid like rabies.
See All Answers
Asked by Rome8210 on 14th November 2014 Report this content
Kindly! How much is the full insurance from Goldcar? And how much do they charge of the security insurance on your credit card? Considering 4 days renting a Ford Fiesta or similar 2 doors.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (18)
Report this content nw75 Written on: 14/11/2014
Hi, No idea what the rates are now but my advice is avoid them and go somewhere else.
Report this content Mark Frank Written on: 14/11/2014
I cannot remember the details but it was a shock and they wanted to charge it all on my credit card and I would not get the refund for sometime after the hire was complete. I would avoid them.
Report this content Mark Frank Written on: 14/11/2014
Please ignore previous comment. I was thinking of the deposit if you don't pay the insurance. Like nw75 I have no idea what the rates are but the whole experience was most unpleasant and I would avoid them.
Report this content aclark9201 Written on: 14/11/2014
I agree, avoid them like the plague. If you've already booked try cancelling, and use a reputable company.
Report this content setspan Written on: 14/11/2014
I can't remember exactly but I had a collision waiver for £40 advised through the csma holiday autos website who I booked through. When I was picking up the keys they managed to extract approx £200 think the insurance was £117 and the rest petrol. She told me to drive as much as I could so I returned with very little petrol. They refund what is in the tank minus an administration fee. I booked with holiday autos in Greece last month and had auto union hire, there was none of the extra charges!
Report this content Neilbriggs88 Written on: 14/11/2014
It will probably cost the best part of £100 for the full insurance. I rent with goldcar quite often and I just take the chance and don't get insurance. They are dodgy as hell and if you give them an inch they will take a mile. Make sure you have your wits about you when you are at the pick up desk as the staff are ruthless salespeople and will adopt the dark arts to ensure you leave the desk with a lighter wallet.
Report this content andyhay1 Written on: 14/11/2014
Sorry, to echo others on this site I would avoid Goldcar and go elsewhere. The security deposit depends upon the type of the car and ranges from 700 - 1500 euros. I seem to remember that the cost of their extra insurance was significant 17-19 euros a day I think.Don't forget Goldcar will look for every opportunity to charge you more - cleaning charge and the Fuel scheme!
Report this content DownhillRacer Written on: 14/11/2014
I have used Goldcar on many trips and HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM. My latest rental was on 5th Nov and the costs quoted were 5€ per day for the full insurance. I did not take the option as I have a yearly policy due to lots of rentals. As I was renting for 28 days a deposit of 650€ was put on my credit card BUT it is not taken it is just on hold in case there is a claim. I have a nearly new VW Polo.
Report this content Briancannell Written on: 14/11/2014
Look on a compare site for excess insurance cover. You can get cover for a whole year for any hire car and it works out less than half the price Goldcar charges. You will still have to leave a deposit with your credit card. If you have a bump they take the money from your card and then you claim from your excess insurance cover when you get back. This is a very good way of doing it as their cars are good value. They will tell you that you still need their insurance but you don't. Confirm all this with the excess insurance company here for peace of mind.
Report this content foadm Written on: 14/11/2014
They charge you a security deposit of 1 thousand euro if you don't take their excess insurance but if you choose to take their excess insurance which is very expensive you still won't be covered for any damage of the car interior as it's not covered. My advice is to check your car very very well before you take it from them including the inside and they will try to tell you that they will charge your card 110 euros for a full tank so when you bring it back full they will refund, they never do. They charge me 550 euros for a cigarette burn that is 0.5cm in diameter that was there before i took the car. They are outside Rome airport so you have to take a shuttle bus which can take you up to 45 minutes. If you can still cancel your booking with them and go with another reputable com[any do it. Trust me it will cost less if you put all this into consideration.
Report this content dennby Written on: 14/11/2014
I cannot remember the amount they wanted to charge. I had taken out my own excess insurance policy but they refused to accept it. I took delivery of my car at 11.30 at night, it was impossible to check it for scratches, they assured me it was a new car so would be OK. Next day at daylight I saw it had a long scratch down one side, which must have been there when I took delivery. When I took the vehicle back, the only place they checked was where the scratch was. THEY KNEW IT WAS THERE, and charged me 180 euros to fix it. THIS COMPANY ARE CONMEN, I read in an English language Portuguese newspaper that they were giving the car hire industry a bad image at FARO airport. KEEP AWAY
Report this content kiss2 Written on: 14/11/2014
You will end up paying roughly double of your car rental fee with their "all INCLUSIVE" coverage which is absurd. Stay away from this renter but if you want to experience yourself, Go Ahead! I would compare all available car rental at the location...good luck
Report this content Stonie Written on: 15/11/2014
Full insurance for 10 days was 150 euro, or £1500 security deposit if 3rd party insurance used instead. DO NOT let them charge for fuel in advance, it's a rip off! Their cars, however, are very good and seem to be well maintained. If you do deal with them, go direct and make sure everything is paid for prior to collection. Compare with the main rental companies as well. Good luck. G
Report this content allen2502 Written on: 15/11/2014
Thrre rates are on average 3 times more for I durable than any other company. They don't show prices on line. They say because it depends on the actual car you hire. When you hire it says polo or similar. Focus or similar. So until they give you a car at airport they don't know the price?? Deposit on your card is anything from 600 euro to 1400 euro again depends on car you hire. My advice is avoid them . In alucante now I use drivalia the price you see is the price you pay. Full to full or full to empty.
Report this content Farnese Written on: 19/11/2014
Do not use Goldcar unless you want a stressed out holiday!
Report this content Rondarules Written on: 19/11/2014
My wife and I have been using spanish car hire companies regularly for 10 years. We used Gold Car several years ago on several occasions and they were good at the time. However, it would seem that in recent times they have changed their policy and are out to make as much money as possible through what we consider to be deceptive means. They charge for a full tank of fuel from the outset and tell you to return the car empty. However, thay charge a hefty fee for the fuel and also charge some kind of tax/admin charge on top of that. If you arrive on an evening flight as we did and stood in a que for over an hour then eventually being seen by the only member of the counter staff (depite there being provision for three members of staff) at 5 minutes past 11pm and then being charged a late admin fee of 39 euros bacause it was now after 11pm.( had we not qued up for an hour we would have got to the counter before 11 and not been charged) When we complained they were extremely rude. We therefore walked away and went three doors down to autolido who gave us a much better deal despite losing our deposite at gold car who have afair fuel policy (which means they supply the car full with fuel and as long as you return the car full there is no fuel charge). It would seem that Gold Car use smoke and mirrors to lure you into what initually seems like a good deal. Once you are at the counter the unforeseen fees start to add up very considerably. If you do not use all the fuel they do not refud you what is left over in thetank.
Report this content jules8463 Written on: 19/11/2014
Hi, Apols for slow reply as I have been away. From memory it was an outrageous 130 euros for 7 days hire on a Vauxhall Corsa. If you are stuck with using this company now, buy independent collision waiver cover on line beforehand. You get a YEARS worth of cover for around £50 or its equivalent in euros. Thus, even more worth while if you go abroad several times a year. Be warned re the petrol policy, sounds ok but carries a premium charge on the fuel and I had to fight not no pay a further 15 euro for a toll road transponder (which is probably all it is worth to buy outright)as i had no intention of using the toll roads. Add in over an hours wait to get the car I left their office well over 200 euro down and smarting which is no way to start a holiday. See also other reviews and BBC watchdog about this company and its practices. There can be other costly problems for customers which fortunately i did not encounter. Both I and particularly my son and his mother in law, regularly hire cars abroad and overall costs are usually much the same give or take a few euros AND REASONABLE. I wrongly assumed that Goldcar would be broadly similar until I went to pick up the car. I have since learn't that there are other Spanish based Hire companies which use similar tactics including clever wording that imply the charges include full insurance cover etc to look good value when you make the initial booking. Be Warned.
Report this content Jonswan2 Written on: 04/03/2015
Avoid Gold Car like the bubonic plague - they will hit you with extras then extras on extras, then when you get home you will find that they illegally took more money out of your account for cleaning the car. A more disgusting company does not exist on this planet.
See All Answers
Asked by SarahBarrettJohns on 8th August 2014 Report this content
I have just booked directly with Goldcar for Almeria Airport. Because in the past we have had to queue for hours I have decided to book and pay for Priority check in. However the website in FAQ's doesn't refer to how this actually works. Can you please advise? I have emailed Gold Car directly but have not received a response. Is there a separate desk or do you simply go straight to front of queue? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (11)
Report this content BettyBoop2014 Written on: 08/08/2014
There's a separate desk so you'd jump the queue - still might only have one employee working. Good luck - I'd never ever use them again.
Report this content scooobyangie Written on: 08/08/2014
They do have a separate desk but only if there's enough staff on to man it which is never. Also don't get stung with all the add ons. The full tank of petrol is a total rip off too. I would NEVER use them again
Report this content tengahraf Written on: 08/08/2014
I suggest you cancel your booking fast. Sign up to Avis Preferred,and they serve you right away. Should they take longer than 3minutes you qualify for a discount. Gold Car are by far the worst car hire company I have ever used. Never ever again.
Report this content Kmcw Written on: 08/08/2014
Hi We noticed a priority sign in the window during our 2.5 hrs wait but we never saw anyone using it. Maybe nobody had booked it or maybe nobody dare go to the front ! there were a lot of angry people waiting for a long time. We have booked a car for our next visit, we used Do You Spain as we have always done...but now it shows you who the supplier is so you can choose and avoid Goldcar . Last time we chose Atesa with Do You Spain, they were up in the carpark to the left in a van and no queue. I think the problem with Goldcar is the free extra driver...it appears a good deal until you are in the queue and realize just how many have booked it. If you have the option for free cancelation you may be better choosing another supplier. Kind regards
Report this content Kmcw Written on: 08/08/2014
Also...re car hire excess insurance We got car hire excess insurance for 2 people / joint policy for a full year in Europe. It cost a lot less than the single hire policy the supplier will sell you.
Report this content Kmcw Written on: 08/08/2014
Fuel....full for full We have also noticed you can now choose full for full fuel options at no extra cost. Just top the tank back up before returning it. This is what we have booked for October 1 week hire and for full for full tank £79 !!!!!!
Report this content tonytiles1 Written on: 08/08/2014
There is a desk at the side of the others that has a sign over it saying priority however when we were there the girl at that desk only dealt with one person in the time that the other desk dealt with three but they may of had a problem with all the extra charges goldcar were adding on to the car hire , I cant believe someone would use this company twice I know I will never use them again .
Report this content jessmaria26 Written on: 09/08/2014
Cancel your booking immediately and try and get all your money back. They will add extra costs.
Report this content SarahBarrettJohns Written on: 12/08/2014
Thank you all for the advice. Not really sure what to do now? Avis Preferred or Atesa - when you try and book direct they seem an awful lot more expensive. But I am guessing by the time GoldCar have stung me for all the add-ons it will end up being same price?
Report this content Jonswan2 Written on: 04/03/2015
I would rather walk with two broken legs than use Gold Car.
Report this content SarahBarrettJohns Written on: 05/03/2015
I WOULD NEVER USED THEM AGAIN. In fact last year having waited for over an hour and having paid for priority check in - they then said I had to take out this extra insurance. I explained I had purchased my own insurance, gave them certificates etc. They were not interested. It was take it or leave it. The priority check in is no existence. It is the same window, with the same staff. you are supposed to walk up ahead of the queue and be checked in. Having paid for this service and having waited an hour we eventually did this. You can image the horror in the faces of people in the queue assuming we were barging in. But we had paid for priority check in. Anyway we refused to take out this extra insurance which was a farce and went to the next booth. We hadn't booked them with there was NO QUEUE, the staff were polite, friendly and from start to finish the whole process took less than 15 minutes. PLEASE DONT USE GOLD CAR WHATEVER YOU DO - HOWEVER CHEAP YOU THINK THEY ARE, THEY ARE NOT. WALK, CRAWL, OR SWIM TO YOUR DESTINATION BUT DONT BOOK A CAR THROUGH THEM. REGARDS 
See All Answers
Asked by IlyasNajeeb on 4th August 2014 Report this content
I have booked a car from Goldcar through Auto-Europ with excess refund policy as an extra. I have a couple of questions to ask: We are arriving in Rome on 14th August, but will be picking up the car from Rome Ciampino Airport on 16th August. What is the best way to get to the airport from Central Rome? I have a disabled 5 year old daughter who is travelling with us. Would we have to wait in the normal queue for car collection or are they able to make special arrangements to deal with us at the pickup point?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (9)
Report this content ALFREDO123 Written on: 05/08/2014
Sorry I havnt been to Rome so I can't help, as for the queue we all waited in the same one best contact them good luck sorry I can't be more help
Report this content Mark Frank Written on: 05/08/2014
Likewise I have not been to Rome. My experience in Minorca was that they are actually located a couple of kms from the airport and you have to wait some time for a bus to pick you up at loosely defined point in the airport car park. I should check carefully with them.
Report this content Farnese Written on: 05/08/2014
Sorry, I have no knowledge of how they work at Rome. Just BE SURE to take pics of the car before you drive off. They, in Portugal, displayed all the traits. I would NEVER use Goldcar again anywhere. Good luck, hope you and your family enjoy yourselves.
Report this content Briancannell Written on: 05/08/2014
Please see other peoples feedback on this company. If you haven't paid them any money, cancel as soon as possible. The excess refund policy has probably cost you £75 per week. This can be bought from a broker for £35 a year. You will wait at least an hour before you get your car.
Report this content plh007 Written on: 05/08/2014
Not been to Rome. Where I went they were in the airport but waited over two hours. I saw no one able to jump the line unless they paid extra.
Report this content jules8463 Written on: 05/08/2014
I have only used this company once at Faro so cannot advise re Rome but if my last experience is anything to go by, expect a long and frustrating wait to get the car and a bill for overpriced fuel. Excess waver charge is ridiculous. Go on line and get annual cover for around £40. Frankly this is the worst hire company I have ever dealt with. See also Money saving expert and BBC watchdog regarding their unethical antics. IF POSSIBLE I WOULD CANCEL AND GO ELSEWHERE
Report this content IlyasNajeeb Written on: 05/08/2014
Thank you all for your kind advice. unfortunately it is not possible to cancel the booking now, as per auto europe small print, any booking made during July and August can not be cancelled or refunded. I guess I'll have to bite the bullet this time and avoid in the future!!
Report this content kiss2 Written on: 05/08/2014
I'd love to help but don't know. I know that Ryan air has a a shuttle from Ciampino to Rome I guess it's both ways, fast reliable service and dirt cheap. so check with Ryanair. Best, NJK
Report this content zalc2007 Written on: 06/08/2014
Good morning, my advice is go and pick the vehicle up on your own, unless you intend on taking a taxi to the airport. The rental companies do not tent to make allowances for anyone disabled so you will have to wait in the queue like everyone. Can you not arrange to pickup the vehicle in Rome, you could get auto-Europe to find a supplier close to were you are staying. If not try rentalcars and cancel the original vehicle. Sorry this is not much help. Have a cool trip.
See All Answers
Asked by Nabanita on 28th June 2014 Report this content
I just dropped off a hold gold car rental at Mallorca and was wondering when you get your deposit back?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (10)
Report this content Farnese Written on: 30/06/2014
In my case, the deposit was put on a debit card and the funds were 'reserved' not taken, so in fact there was nothing to be repaid. Hope this helps!
Report this content Strandedattheairport Written on: 30/06/2014
I personally had to complain to the company and list the reasons for your complaint. If they do not refund you like they did with me, you have to put these details of public forums. Customer services picked up the fact that I had a grievance and they then tried to settle with me. I was stranded at the airport so that became my title for the complaint. I was eventually refunded my taxi fares after I lost the hire car I had booked. Small refund for an almost ruined holiday but it did at least pay for our taxi fares to and from the airport where I was stranded with my family.Don't give up!
Report this content zalc2007 Written on: 30/06/2014
If you paid the deposit with a credit card the company Gold Car have only taken a preauthorisation, they should unblock any funds as soon as you return the vehicle.
Report this content tengahraf Written on: 30/06/2014
If you left it on a credit or debit card,you might be in for a nasty shock.Usually they seek to find something you never noticed or caused and charge you.Its already too late,as you gave them authority when you checked in with that deposit. So if they do,ask for a receipt for any repair they might make up.They usually never reply or if they do thjey say someone else in another office will review it. which they never do. So the next thing to do is notify your card provider,that you have no evidence that the car has been repaired and then they will take it up with Gold Car. they too will not get proof of repair,and then your card provider will stand the charge. the last thing to do is to resolve to never hire from them again. I hope that helps.
Report this content Rob.M Written on: 30/06/2014
If you are talking about fuel, they will give you some money back if the tank was not returned empty, not much, as they also charge an administration fee ( on top of what was, as you know now, very expensive petrol). As for the deposit you may get it all back (depends on whether they 'took it' in the first place) - often they just hold your card details but have been known to deduct charges if they think the car was damaged/scratched/dirty. If you get all of it back, count yourself lucky and avoid them in the future at all costs. Did you have any problems with insurance? Most clients have.
Report this content Rob.M Written on: 30/06/2014
Get ready to Tweet, if you try to contact them they don't normally respond and state that they never received it. BUT, almost like magic, Tweet them and you get an instant response. Been there, done it, paid the price!
Report this content kiss2 Written on: 30/06/2014
If you are asking me about the deposit on the fuel; that was refunded to my credit card fairly fast...good luck
Report this content kizcom1 Written on: 30/06/2014
Hi there, I dropped the car off at Goldcar on a Friday and received my refund on the following Wednesday.
Report this content Maogomez Written on: 01/07/2014
Make sure it is sent back to you. They play around fees and charges they apply after you returned your car. If you have a receipt of your ok car returned, make sure you send it to the bank in case they retain anything from your account. be careful.
Report this content dinobug77 Written on: 15/07/2014
Like other people - mine was pre-authorised on a credit card so was never actually charged – regarding finding things wrong with the car that weren't there I always do a check of the car before I drive it away (especially tyres) and take photos and then take more photos when we return it. That way you have proof if they try anything. My experience of them was fine though!
See All Answers
Asked by tengahraf on 12th April 2014 Report this content
Who owns GoldCar?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content Jan973 Written on: 14/04/2014
I think it is an independent Spanish car rental company that also operates in Portugal. I have used various car rental companies in the past in Spain and never had problems before. I would never use is company again.
Report this content zalc2007 Written on: 16/04/2014
They are a Spanish LTD company, you would need to check with Spain's Companies house to find out who the directors are, the very best of luck with that. If they have charged your credit card without offering any information you will have to contact your credit cards provider, advise them you have tried to make contact vis phone and email and they have not responded, tell them you want a charge back.
Report this content Rob.M Written on: 30/06/2014
A load if stitch-up merchants, that's who!
Report this content Jonswan2 Written on: 04/03/2015
Probably Satan. I'd rather shoot myself in the face than use them again.
See All Answers
Asked by MartinDavies on 10th April 2014 Report this content
Why haven't they answered any of my questions regarding the money they have deducted from my bank account? I can prove that I owe them no extra money, I've told them this in many emails and Facebook messages. Reading other peoples experiences with you it looks like your modus operand.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (16)
Report this content Galtres Written on: 11/04/2014
Write to the CEO - I did and got a response within 48 hours and it was a positive response.
Report this content tengahraf Written on: 11/04/2014
I had what I considered to be an unreasonable charge for minor damage which was impossible to see on pick up. I believed it was unreasonable as I did not cause this minor damage.I should say at this point I have never had a previous charge on many vehicle hires all over the world.However the took over 300euro from my card. I asked them on a number of occasions for a receipt for the repair,but I never received it. I then filed a complaint with my card provider for being charged for repair without any proof that it had been repaired. They said they would contact Gold Car and after a short delay my card provider refunded the cost charged. Not even my card provider could get proof of repair........The end of the story is that I will never use Gold Car again. My suggestion is that you refer the matter to your card provider,they are bigger than you. good luck.
Report this content annoyedrenter Written on: 11/04/2014
They took money from our card for 'returning the car in a dirty condition' - actually a bit of dust in the footwell. On a previous occasion we were charged for a flat tyre, which was completely untrue. We protested to Holiday Autos through which we had rented the car. in the first case, some years ago, they refunded the money without question. In the second, last year we couldn't get through to them, and complained were dealt with by people in Poland who flatly refused to consider our complaint. letters to the managing director were ignored. (The company was taken over last year by a company in Ireland, I believe.) I think Goldcar is an unscrupulous company and would not rent from them again, nor use Holiday Autos.
Report this content zalc2007 Written on: 11/04/2014
Hi Martin, I worked in car hire for many years so I know many of the issues faced. Did you book direct or with a Broker? If you booked with a broker ask them to deal with your query as Goldcar are poor at answering any issues, infact they don't care. Have you received a speeding fine? If you have the additional charges may be for admin fees as they charge for passing on you details to the police. If non of the above relate to you contact your credit car company and get a charge back, this is a long winded process but may prove effective. If you need further assistance send me your email address. Cheers
Report this content tengahraf Written on: 11/04/2014
My card provider refunded my charge with very little delay.
Report this content Solaio Written on: 11/04/2014
Most likely, Goldcar will never answer. I rented a car from Goldcar last year in Pisa, Italy. Prepaid, but still they charged my Master Card for the complete rental cost - again. I complained in an e-mail and in a letter, written in both English and Italian. No answer. I then contacted master Card and said there was fraud attempt. Master Card told me the transaction would be stopped until they had "investigated". Two months later, I was told that I didn't have to pay anything. I got no details, but suspected that Goldcar didn't answer master card either. The lesson: 1. Never rent from GoldCar, 2. Never use direct debit cards, stick to Master Card or similar. Ivar Oslo, Norway
Report this content AndySud Written on: 11/04/2014
If you used a card to pay, contact the card issuer and explain that you have been wrongly charged. Mine asked me to contact the company and send a letter to them. If it wasn't resolved in a certain length of time, they said they would intervene.
Report this content lesmart Written on: 11/04/2014
this is an impossible company to deal with - they completely rip everyone off - your only options are to threaten them, write to the CEO - or take it to WHICH, or You and Yours to expose them. Never touch them with a barge-pole and tell all your friends
Report this content Allancabbie Written on: 11/04/2014
I've had a lot of people saying similar things to yourself, I've used Gold Car twice and on the first occasion I found their pricing structure very odd, they do have a lot of at Airport extras full no excess insurance etc, but this has always been fully explained. I've always booked through a third party and the price on both occasions has been at least €250 more expensive after signing the contract off at the airport pickup point, than the price I've already paid for in advance, but I've always opted for the full no excess no quibble insurance(roadside recovery, tyres,windscreen etc) so I wouldn't encure any costs what so ever after completion of the rental. Martin, did you return the car having any kind of damage? Small scratches etc that could have been on the vehicle prior to you becoming responsible during the hire period? Kind regards Allan
Report this content Bearded_Warrior Written on: 11/04/2014
I suspect you didn't pay the damage waiver up front and therefore they can say what they like and charge what they like. I blamed #TravelRepublic for using them and misrepresenting their offer by saying free excess damage waiver included - this was a lie. Gold Car also charge twice the fuel price for filling up the car - described by TR as slightly above pump prices. Both Gold Car and Travel Republic are terrible and I hope they both go out of business.
Report this content shaunster Written on: 12/04/2014
They did reply to me but it took several months for them to do so. I advise putting the charge into dispute with your bank/credit card provider. If you advise them that the charges were not in line with the contract/terms agreed, then they have no option but to support you. Apart from this, I advise that you call rather than e-mail. Like many hire companies their response times are awful for complaints (I have had similar issues with Hertz and Avis in recent years).
Report this content wowholypriest Written on: 13/04/2014
makes me sad that people still rent from them. I hope you get your money back, they are real criminals at gold car rentals BEWARE
Report this content gjdgjd Written on: 14/04/2014
Having used them, either by accepting a package which had a car but did not identify the company (or hid the company behind another agent's name) or by contracting with them directly, you have basically agreed to pay them anything they like to charge you and there is very little you can do about it. You can complain to all sorts of authorities UK/Spain/EU but none of the organisations have the slightest interest in your complaint. There are rules:- Rule 1: Do not use Goldcar under any circumstances; tell anyone you know not to use Goldcar and print off a few notices to put on car windscreens of anyone you see in a Goldcar car with the Rule 3 details as below. Rule 2: See Rule 1 Rule 3: If you have disobeyed Rule 1 then your only hope is to get back to the Goldcar counter very early (so that they cannot filibuster you until you are pressured for time to get to your flight) and do not leave the counter (preferably causing a huge queue behind you) until the (generally) nice sweet young lady behind the counter has signed your documentation stating that there are no more charges - when they then take the money you will be able to supply this signed contract to VISA (or whatever) and get your money back. There is no other way of doing it.
Report this content Jonswan2 Written on: 15/04/2014
It took them nearly a month to respond to a question I asked about them deducting 60 euros from my account illegally - they said it was for cleaning the car! Have you ever heard such nonsense? As if hotels would charge you for them having to change the sheets after you leave. As if a restaurant charged you extra for cleaning the dishes you ate the food on. Gold car are the worst experience I've had in 25 years of hiring cars - I would rather walk than use them again. They are beyond vile.
Report this content ari11 Written on: 05/05/2014
Can anybody state the CEO email, we have been ripped off by Goldcar in Funchal (Madeira); nearly £500 for pre-exisiting scratches! Shame on this company (registered in Spain therefore out of reach for the FCA)! Avoid them if you want to avoid headache!
Report this content Jonswan2 Written on: 04/03/2015
Because they are a bunch of criminals - I had to write to my bank to block them taking any more - it left me feeling like I never want to set foot inside Spain again in my life if that's representative of companies there. They are beyond evil.
See All Answers
questionAnswer
Deals on Expedia