Beware of misrepresentation

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
96% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

Laband's review of Carrentals.co.uk

★☆☆☆☆

“Beware of misrepresentation”

Written on: 31/10/2013 by Laband (1 review written)

I booked online with Carrentals.co.uk but then discovered that the booking for my required terminal 1 (as advertised online) changed to Terminal 2 when the confirmation arrived. This is blatant misrepresentation and a subsequent -re-run of the booking produced the same misleading offer. Phones calls, mostly to premium rate numbers and via a myriad pile of clueless intermediaries failed to resolve.

I would not have made this booking if the correct terminal had been listed for the time requested.

I have not received the refund and intend to pursue this company vai the courts if necessary. I hate being swindled and offering one terminal and delivering another is dishonest and lacks transparency.

  • October 2013

    Date of hire (month/year)

  • France, Nice

    Country & City of hire

  • Customer Service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carrentals01's Response to Laband's Review

Written on: 31/10/2013

Hi there,

I work for Carrentals.co.uk and would like to thank you for taking the time to review our company.

As we are a comparison site, we do not supply any car hire ourselves. However we are very sorry to hear that you are not happy with the service you have received from one of the suppliers that we work with.

We would suggest that you continue to contact the supplier to raise the issue with them or if you booked through the booking engine on our website, please may we ask that you contact our customer support team using the Contact Us form our website so that we can take the issue up with the supplier on your behalf.

Please select no on this page.

Kind regards,

Carrentals.co.uk

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Laband's reply to Carrentals01's Comment

Written on: 01/11/2013

Carrentals are completely to blame for this issue, not your supporting rental companies.

Procedure is:
1. Select town=/city = Nice. dates etc
2. Select chosen pickup location = Terminal 1
3. Choose Car -Note the website displays the chosen pickup location very clearly
4. Car choice pricing with no mention of location change
5. Pay
6. Confirmation from Carrentals and Rental company confirms actual details of rental. Critically thee differ from the online process and as such breach the Sale of Goods and services act and the Distance Selling Regulations.
7. You clearly, but as you now assert, unintentionally misrepresent your products and I am concerned that other serious product features can and will be changed if/when customers trust the information you provide to support their decision to book through your website.

As it stands, I have a serious complaint that has not been answered or indeed satisfied. The bottom line is that this is a Carrentals problem and publicly passing the buck to an innocent rental company is unethical and dishonest.

Please get your facts straight and then provide me with a proper response, preferably with your name and direct (non-premium rate) telephone number to resolve.



Please supply a name and direct telephone number -not a dodgy premium rate number

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Laband's reply to Laband's Comment

Written on: 01/11/2013

for tha sbsense of doubt,
You confirmed Terminal 2 not Terminal 1, hence the product was not as advertised, mis-represented and I really should not have to waste my time chasing you when you have broken the law and undermined the requirement to Treat Customers Fairly.

you can email us to provide your phone number. I've just used that email address to model the booking process outlined above, which confirms the errors and omissions I am complaining about are still live and delivering a bad, misleading service in your website.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carrentals01's reply to Laband's Comment

Written on: 06/11/2013

Hi Laband,

I have been informed by our customer support team that they have investigated this issue and have emailed you this morning with a resolution.

We hope this has resolved the issue for you. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience and distress this has caused you.

Kind regards,

Carrentals.co.uk

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review