Carrentals Rock

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
96% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

Ljaries's review of Carrentals.co.uk

★★★★★

“Carrentals Rock”

Written on: 03/11/2012 by Ljaries (1 review written)

I have been using this site to hire cars for several years. I have often looked at other sites just to see how they compare, and always come back to this site. They have the best prices by far, it's easy to use, reliable and booking is very straightforward and efficient. The cars I have had have always been excellent. I always recommend this site to people.

  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cabral_001's Response to Ljaries's Review

Written on: 04/11/2012

Could / would not lift a finger to help when things go wrong ....

... and the rental agreements seem full of small print is my experience

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ljaries's reply to Cabral_001's Comment

Written on: 08/11/2012

Sounds like bad luck - I use them when I travel to Dubai and not had any issue.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cabral_001's reply to Ljaries's Comment

Written on: 08/11/2012

They put the business through Goldcar in Portugal who demanded €90 (non-refundable) for a 45 litre tank of petrol and additional insurance at €8/- per day so that I could travel in to Spain from Faro (40km away).
The cars that were available were in a bad state (major dents and one had sharp bits of plastic protuding from badly damaged bumper [ I had to reject two cars]).
There was an elderly lady in front of me (who also used them for her booking) who owas in tears as she only envisaged doing about 100km over the period and the €90 was her spending money for the week.
The collection centre was queued out with people complaining and refusing cars.
CarRentals did not want to know when I complained.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carrentals01's reply to Cabral_001's Comment

Written on: 22/11/2012

Hello

Please can you contact me via our contact us page http://www.carrentals.co.uk/help/ask-a-question/ so we can look into where you say we would not help. Every supplier has different booking's T&Cs relating to fuel policies and these are shown in the T&Cs before a booking is made so the customer is fully aware of what they need to pay for before they actually make the booking. We do recommend that the best fuel policy is pick up full drop off/return full even if this makes the car hire price slightly more expensive however it is up to customers to check these prior to making their booking.

Kind regards
Carrentals.co.uk

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cabral_001's reply to Carrentals01's Comment

Written on: 22/11/2012

The option to return the car with a full tank was only allowed if you rented the vehicle for less than three days. So I did not have the option ..... as I found out when I collected the car.

After a weeks driving (as I was on "a holiday" and not a "round Portugal rally") I still lhad "3/8" of the tank left!!!!

I suppose if you aimed to drive about 120km a day (i.e. over two hours a day every day for a week) you could to use the fuel.

Apart from that, the rate they charged (over €2 per litre) for fuel was extortionate.

Whether there were links I had to find and follow or not, what started out as a £104 rental for a week ended up costing me that (which I paid to CarRentals) plus another €155!!!!!
So in short B@##%$ expensive ......

I am well enough off to afford it, but it spoilt an anniversary celebration ;

It also ruined the holiday for the elderly lady who was in front of me .....

Plus GoldCar is now trying sting me with a fee for converting Euros to pounds at an arbitrary rate they chose to impose.
My bank is dealing with that .....

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review