National Motorhomes Reviews - www.nationalmotorhomes.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.3 / 5
37
68% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for National Motorhomes - www.nationalmotorhomes.co.uk

National Motorhomes - www.nationalmotorhomes.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“They keep most of you deposit”

Written on: 18/10/2017 by Suzysweeney (1 review written)

I hired a motor home from national motor homes in Manchester depot in may, There was a lot of paper work to carry out when I picked it up. They went around the vehicle and discussed some minor damage and I had to sign documents. When I returned the vehicle we had damaged the back cluster which I was more then happy to pay for the charges of this to be taken out of my deposit, however after the 28 days from return they finally got back to me saying that they were going to charge me a totally… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware of hidden charges - They have your huge deposit!”

Written on: 18/10/2017

I hired at 3 berth Motor home from Nationalmotorhomes from the Heathrow depot in Walton on Thames. There was a lot of paper work to clear before hire but eventually, come the hire start day all was ready. A very brief tour of the vehicle was given, most of which, if one hasn't had the experience of hiring one of these vehicles before, when straight over my head, Although most of the instructions were common sense and all the necessary manuals and documentation were pointed out to me lying in a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Luxury Motorhomes for a Comfortable Holiday Trip”

Written on: 05/10/2017 by CristoferDonahue (1 review written)

I hired a 2 berth motorhome for a 10 day trip through Wales. The motorhome was clean, comfortable and easy to drive. The communication and service was great and all my questions were answered quickly. We had a great time with the motorhome and it was really a small home on wheels. I would definitely recommend national motorhomes, but will pot for a smaller vehicle the next time, since the Welsh narrow roads were quite a challenge with the big motorhome… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent experience”

Written on: 03/10/2017 by scottwaddell (1 review written)

I hired a van for 7 days from the Glasgow depot. The service I received was excellent throughout and the staff in Glasgow were very helpful. The booking process was also simple and the online system meant there was no paperwork to be checked on the day of hire. Having read previous reviews I was a little apprehensive about the risk involved in relation to vehicle damage etc. Previous reviews do imply the vehicle is inspected with a fine tooth comb upon return however this was not the case and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“a great holiday with a dog”

Written on: 02/10/2017 by teddy555 (1 review written)

Just back from hiring a motorhome for a week touring in Wales- dog came too no worries or fuss Easy step by step hire before you go so no paper work on the day.Great fun- we took the extra CDW insurance so all protected. Even came back to our car being valeted - thanks everyone… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“First class.company, first class experience. ”

Written on: 04/09/2017 by ChrisWildcamper (1 review written)

NATIONAL MOTORHOMES. GLASGOW DEPOT. Great company, staff and vehicles. Just back from Highkands. Really comfortable, everything you need to live in comfort. Enjoyed tad much adventure any other holiday, Caribbean included. Great adventure, unique experience seeing nature and the remote parts up close. Booking again for next year for sure ;-)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Motorhome hire - great tour of Scotland”

Written on: 31/08/2017 by NeveahKrause219 (1 review written)

Motorhome hired from National. Thorough paperwork, and on collection, a good training session with the van. Worked well!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Fab week in Scotland”

Written on: 30/08/2017 by CalebBenton (1 review written)

We hired a 6 birth Motorhome to tour around Scotland for the week. From the initial booking to the collection and drop off the staff were all very friendly and helpful. In particular I was impressed by the mobile technical support man who was so personable and genuinely seemed to care. The fuel consumption was great we did nearly 500 miles on £90 worth of fuel. The van was well used but clean and well equipped. The only thing it lacked was a drying rack to put outside to dry towels etc. We are… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“National motorhomes ”

Written on: 03/08/2017 by 454Griffin-Alt (1 review written)

NATIONAL MOTORHOMES - Please beware of this dishonest company. If not,Go over your hire vehicle with a finetooth comb and take pictures of every dent, scratch and minor fault and take your time doing it and miss nothing out. If you do not they will blame you and deduct from your deposit, (they have this down to a fine art and make extra profits from you.) I have a class A HGV licence and looked after the hire van with upmost care and returned it sparkling clean. This was a small vehicle… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bethtinne's Comment

Written on: 16/08/2017

same thing happened to me - utter rip off company !!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Joycepalmer's Comment

Written on: 07/10/2017

In August 2017 we hired a motor home of them.We paid £240 waiver fee plus £250 non refundable which they told us insured us incase of an accident or damage. They also said alternatively they could hold £1000 which we would lose if there was damage to the motorhome.
On returning the motorhome exceptionally clean and with more fuel than when we collected it , he claimed the inch long crack on the bumper wasn't there before . He also claimed the bike rack we hadn't used was twisted . Like you my husband is a very experienced driver and we hadn't caused the crack or any damage to it .The van was very scratched / damaged when we picked it up and hard to see on his iPad between the x's he used to label damage I noticed . He claimed this hadn't been marked on the original x's on the iPad .
The company not only took the amount above of us but also took a further £1000 . I will be taking them to trading standards as I've only had one reply from them saying they would look into it , since then they have ignored my emails .

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“They don't refund ”

Written on: 29/07/2017 by MaddoxFitzpatrick (1 review written)

This firm will either delay or not refund your deposit Totally unprofessional they refused to let you have there financial departments contact details All I can do is advise people to stay clear from national motorhomes, there customer service is great whilst booking as they want your money, after that they offer no help what so ever. Please take heed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bethtinne's Comment

Written on: 16/08/2017

totally agree - same thing happened to me - I paid the daily CDW and thay have taken £150 off deposit for a branch sap streak on a window !!
help !!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Motorhome trip to itlay”

Written on: 19/07/2017 by joeheatherington (1 review written)

Staff were very friendly and vehicle was is a good clean condition. We had no issues during the trip and really enjoyed it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bogieman57's Response to joeheatherington's Review

Written on: 28/07/2017

Glad u enjoyed it. We had a great holiday but spoiled nemories due to terrible post hire customer service. Ignored then nobody to actually speak to then email with £82.80 taken off our deposit for 12litres of fuel!! Can't get anybody to explain in great detail why!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Joeheatherington's reply to Bogieman57's Comment

Written on: 28/07/2017

Sorry to hear that, £82 sounds alot for 12 litres of fuel!

Which depot did you use, we used Barnsley and they were very friendly and helpful.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bogieman57's reply to Joeheatherington's Comment

Written on: 28/07/2017

Fife depot. They were fantastic. Its the customer service side of things post hire that lets this company down. Always nicer before they get your cash. Awful if they owe you!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“A really professional company ”

Written on: 11/07/2017 by Katewestern (1 review written)

I was impressed from the start with this company by the neat and attractive premises. The young man explained how to use the various appliances very well as we were new to using a motorhome. He was pleasant and patient and answered all our queries well. The motorhome was spotless even though it was a 'dog friendly' vehicle. It was well equipped and in good condition. There were plenty of helpline numbers in case we had a problem which was reassuring. Overall the ease of hiring and help given to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bogieman57's Response to Katewestern's Review

Written on: 28/07/2017

I agree. Very good pre hire and during holiday.... but! Not post hire. £82.80 taken iff my deposit for 12 litres of fuel. Ignored requests as to why! Then email with ridiculous reasons. Nobody available to actually speak to.shame.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Motor home hire”

Written on: 10/07/2017 by Kai364 (1 review written)

We hired for week toured Scotland. Amazing places we seen. Hiring the motor home enabled us to keep travelling Seeing lots of beautiful stunning we towns and villages we had amazing time. We have the bug now to do again. Only thing I wd say a wee few steps would have came in handy to get in and out also to put bikes on back or checking if toast was ready grill a bit high. We weren't troubled though my mans tall he cooked the toast. Other than that o complaints. I Would absolutely recommend… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bogieman57's Comment

Written on: 28/07/2017

Ahh lovely holiday we had too... until we were charged £82.80 for 12 litres of fuel by NATIONAL MOTORHOMES!! Post hire customer service is appalling. Just don't care and ignore my requests to give a complete breakdown of charges and for 'someone' to speak to me. Spoilt memories for us

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“total rip off with terrible customer service”

Written on: 05/07/2017 by 145Griffin (1 review written)

After 2 phone calls asking all relevant questions including full cost including insurance and milage we booked a medium can (silver) we asked about additional charges and we're told £1052 was inclusive of all charges. and we were to complete all details online to complete booking as payment has been taken over the phone. on completing forms there was a section about optional insurance access so we phoned to check this out and we're told thAt this was not optional we would have an additional… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bogieman57's Comment

Written on: 28/07/2017

Sorry to hear this. Post hire with this company is dreadful too. Total rip off charges. £82.80 for 12litres of fuel! No one available to speak to. No 'full' breakdown of charges applied. Brushed off then ignored.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Great vehicles pity about after service”

Written on: 03/07/2017 by Dalgetty (1 review written)

Great motor home vehicle, booking was no problem, enjoyed our holiday. HOWEVER I had to pay £250 deposit to cover any breakages etc to the internals of the vehicle and there was a collision damage waiver offer of I think £24 per day. I thought that was excessive and took out my own insurance at £10 per day. However that meant I had to deposit £1000 with National Motorhomes. On returning the vehicle in perfectly good condition I was informed that my deposit would be retained for one month… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bogieman57's Response to Dalgetty's Review

Written on: 28/07/2017

Such a shame usn't it. We had a lovely holiday and great pre hol customer service... but POSTHIRE IS AWFUL. we were 12 litres short of fuel. Offered to pay but advised can't." £15-£20 will be subtracted from your £250 deposit". THEY TOOK £82.80!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful camper, terrible service”

Written on: 30/06/2017 by robertgp (4 reviews written)

Rented a camper from this company for Glastonbury last week. Dirty, pet hairs, damaged and missing equipment, no fire blanket, no CO detector, no fire or smoke detector, fire extinguisher 4 years old and never tested. No suitable equipment for collecting and re-filling fresh water or draining dirty water. Mattress's thin cheap nasty and unbearable. No collection or return paperwork issued even after repeated request (you sign a tablet computer screen without being shown the contents!), They… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bogieman57's Response to robertgp's Review

Written on: 28/07/2017

Thats awful. Totally agree. AVOID THEM. TERRIBLE POST HIRE CUSTOMER SERVICE.
Complete RIP OFF CHARGES
We were charged£82.80 for 12 litres of fuel for (which we had offered to pay for on return of the motorhome) £24 fuel. £37.80. Refuelling!!?? £7.50 admin. £13.80 vat. Incredible eh! Nobody fromNATIONAL MOTORHOMES available to speak to me or give complete breakdown of why!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bethtinne's Response to robertgp's Review

Written on: 16/08/2017

I completely agree with every word of this review - we need to write to Watchdog !!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Unfortunately a joke and ruined our holiday”

Written on: 28/06/2017 by yyKent40 (1 review written)

What can I say ??? I had read numerous reviews about after service and though no everything would be ok . How wrong was I ??? I hired a motor home in April for my wife , 2 young children and Mum to travel to Scotland for a nice long weekend We were all so excited and couldn't wait to get in the home , we arrived at the Birmingham site and alarm bells started ringing with the state of the area the vans are kept but gave the benefit of the doubt and left our car there as planned and set off in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Unhappy-And-Dissapointed's Comment

Written on: 04/08/2017

We too used the Birmingham base and felt the same as you, rubbish site tucked away down a lane. Very disappointed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Brilliant holiday will do it again”

Written on: 27/06/2017 by mpMartin445 (1 review written)

I will definitely go through this company again! Had such a great holiday and worth every penny! Great adventures and so much fun! I would definitely recommend this type of holiday to my friend and family! It was so easy to book and no hassle when picking up the motor home! It was clean and very comfortable! We only had a two berth but it was spacecious!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Deposit finally returned 45 days after the end of the...”

Written on: 19/06/2017 by mikebroadhurst (1 review written)

We had to pay a deposit of £1250 on the 14th April, the hire ended on the 30th April and the deposit has finally come back to our account today 17th June, minus £15.00 for some unexplained reason. It has taken several phone calls, emails and live chat sessions with conflicting statements about when the money would be repaid. Their excuse for keeping the money for so long is to check there are no outstanding fines from the hire period; I have hired cars all over the world and no car hire… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“39 days since returning and still waiting for the deposit”

Written on: 16/06/2017

It has been exactly 39 days since I returned back the motorhome and still waiting for the deposit £1250 to be refunded back. As per the contract policy it says "Your Deposit payment will be held and refunded upon request after 28 working days after the date of the check-in date of the vehicle. This period of time may be longer in the event of any post hire charges being required to be imposed." Despite calling the customer care team and them confirming there are no additional charges imposed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview