Lowdhams of Huddersfield Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.8 / 5
10
20% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Lowdhams of Huddersfield - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Lowdhams of Huddersfield

Lowdhams of Huddersfield

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Good service”

Written on: 28/07/2016 by ScaleModelShop (2 reviews written)

We have just bought a new Bailey caravan from Lowdhams, and it's our first time dealing with them, the van was ready in about 10 days just in time for us to go away in it. When we went to pick it up we was given quite an extensive introduction to the van, we was show where everything was and how it worked, while we was there we bought a Fiamma awning, the people in the shop was kind enough to fit it for us, am we was glad they did, it turned out to be quite fiddly putting the retaining clips… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“poor service”

Written on: 27/07/2016 by 258Glass (1 review written)

sat at home waiting for a call from lowdhams, put in a warrantry claim 6 weeks ago heard nothing ,called in a week last saturday spoke to receptionist in service told they would phone me back last monday nothing ,phoned again thursday told the same now monday just spoken to swift they tell me they have no record of any warrantry claim on going, feel like going round in circles very poor service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Not Recommended - Very poor post-sales Customer Service”

Written on: 03/07/2016 by Maddenpk195 (1 review written)

Purchased a new caravan from Lowdhams Huddersfield in mid 2015 - be extremely wary that good initial buying experience quickly fades with very poor after sales experience following reporting and non-replacement of missing trim (which the Sales Manager was adamant that I should have reported within 30 days; we initially thought it was part of the design until we realised on our Easter 2016 holiday that trim was actually missing). Sales Manager has unrealistic expectations upon customers with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not book a habitation check with lowdhams Huddersfield”

Written on: 14/12/2015 by LillyHumphrey400 (1 review written)

We recently booked a habitation service for our Hymer motorhome with the Huddersfield branch.We dropped it off at 830am as requested and was told that they would ring us when it was ready to collect usually around 3pm. We didn't receive any call so we turned up at 3pm .We were handed the keys for our 'van and was told it had 'clean bill of health'and no problems were found.We then queried this with them as there was some minor faults with the motorhome but the main defects are there was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Clottie's Comment

Written on: 25/05/2016

Had similar awful expereince with Lowdhams Crossland Moor. Bought a used motorhome from them in June 2015 and from the outset, had problems with the habitation door not locking and the cab battery gong flat in less than a week. Despite the van being returned to them 3 times, they didn't remedy either problem despite having claimed to have done so on each occassion.
On the final occassion, Lowdhams said they needed the van for a week. In the event, they had it three weeks and didn't sort the problem.
We found the staff particulalry unhelpful. They sought to deflect the conversation on every occassion and seemed incapable of understanding the problem saying that they would look at the matter to get you off the phone. Despite them, saying they would report back, it was us who had to ring and were always given excuses for why the work that we had listed, in writing, hadn't been done.
We have the "benefit" of a Lowdhams warranty but this does not release Lowdhams from complying with the requirements of the Sale of Goods Act, the Supply of Goods and Services Act and now the Consumer Rights Act.
We will not take the motorhome to Lowdhams for anything in the future and have found an alternative dealer to carry out the habitation check necessary Lowdhams' warranty. As several posters on the site have said, look elsewhere if buying a motorhome. There are plenty of other dealers and I would recommend searchinfg for reviews of the dealer before parting with your hard-earned cash.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“A Dodgy Dealer, Watch Your Step if You Buy From Here!”

Written on: 27/06/2015

Browsing the internet, I recently saw a used Knaus motorhome for sale at the Nottingham branch of Lowdhams motohomes. Although the price wasn't dislosed, the advert did say RRP £59,995, call us for best price. I tried 4 times to call Nottingham, but each time got put through to an answering machine, and so contacted the Huddersfield branch. The guy I spoke to sounded elderly, obnoxious and a little thick if i'm honest, telling me the price of the motorhome i'd enquired about was £59,950. When… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Buy from here at your perill”

Written on: 11/04/2015

where do i start, we bought a top of the range used motorhome in july for £30.000 and it seemed fine... until we had heavy continuous rain in november, then it leaked and soaked all the woodwork, panels and upholstery, it was just a good job it was parked on drive which meant we checked it most weekends or plugged it into electric as they sold it with a dud battery in cab so if it wasn't plugged in it went flat within 2 weeks. so i rang lowdhams explained the problem only to be told it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Vango awning purchase ”

Written on: 20/09/2014 by Mollie2002 (1 review written)

We purchased a Vango awning from Lowdhams of Huddersfield and found all the staff there in the shop were extremely helpful and knowledgable about the product. As we are planning a trip abroad we needed to have a trial run of putting it up and making sure we had everything we needed before our departure. They kindly let us occupy their caravan parking area for a couple of hours to do this. We had plenty of questions to ask them so we were glad we did the trial run. Even though they were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Disappointing”

Written on: 28/08/2013

Having bought a year old motorhome from lowdhams with their 3 year warranty I have found the aftersales service to be woeful. When things went wrong I thought I would simply take it back to them to be fixed , however I was told that anything on the motorhome which was not original equipment was not covered albeit it was on the motorhome when I bought it from them. Foolishly I bought from them in Nottingham but live in essex so returning the vehicle on the off chance of it being fixed was not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Magsandbill's Comment

Written on: 23/10/2014

we spent our savings on a brand new Motorhome, back in June and the whole experience was ruined by the inefficiency and (with one of the salesmen in particular) rudeness, of some of the staff.
We went there because they were the dealers for the Motorhome we wanted and also because they (Crosland Moor branch) are within a few miles of our home. Like you, we contacted the managing director. On the first occasion he responded - but not since!
Very very disappointed and I certainly would recommend anyone to use them.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Disappointed”

Written on: 08/08/2013

We have recently purchased a new (used) caravan from Lowdhams, Huddersfield after searching for the van we wanted around the country. We found that they had a good example on site and visited several times to check the van. The staff who came to see us where what you would expect, and can only be likened to used car salesmen. The staff member who eventually dealt with our purchase explained that for a part exchange we had to go through a form which fully described the state of the part ex van… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Monkeypops's Comment

Written on: 13/09/2014

what you have discovered here is very typical and common sales technique. a dealer knows you want the new van and have already said goodbye to your old one. you are excited and have already mentally prepared taking your new van. a friend of mine was offered a reduced price in part ex just days before taking delivery as they had found faults not initially discovered. when he said "forget it il pick my van up the deal is off" they backed down. im afraid there are too many dealers with the arthur daley reputation

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Bad Experience For Us.”

Written on: 30/04/2013 by edwardbmac (2 reviews written)

I am an ex car dealer who retired due to ill health. This dealership took advantage of my vulnerability and cheated us. The financial manager lied to us about the interest rate and doctored the invoice to bring our trade-in at £6300 rather than the £8000 they offered us. They over charged us for our motorhome by £400 and have never accepted any responsibility for their devious underhand dealings. When we found out that the true interest rate was 13.6% and not 6.9% as promised by him (he… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview