Caledonian Travel Reviews - www.caledoniantravel.com

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.5 / 5
50
62% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Caledonian Travel - www.caledoniantravel.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Caledonian Travel - www.caledoniantravel.com

Caledonian Travel - www.caledoniantravel.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Not what you think”

Written on: 24/01/2016 by 02charlie (1 review written)

We booked a 3 day tour for Chester and Liverpool and 3 days before we were to leave we got a letter informing us of our selected hotel which was in Stockport , when we checked the reviews for the Brittania Hotel they were horrendous and when we phoned Caledonian to cancel we were just told we were too late and could not receive a refund. As we where only informed about the hotel after the cancellation period had expired we feel badly exploited and would like to warn fellow potential travelers… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Another fantastic weekend shrek and the Ciristmas circus”

Written on: 03/12/2015 by O'Reillyay396 (1 review written)

Had a fantastic weekend going to the circus in Blackpool then of to a beautiful hotel in St Anne's on sea. The hotel Monterey is beautiful and the staff could not do enough to help by directing people to their rooms and there for any queries. I noticed the staff were very helpful with other peoples arrangements that had children with health issues. such patient staff and they were great chatting to my wee Granddaughter a lovely family run hotel. The food was excellent table service at both… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Nice Break. Britannia Hotel (but)”

Written on: 16/10/2015

My wife and I Travelled from Glasgow to Aberdeen in September for a 4 Day break, just a great holiday, hotel comfortable, clean,Food which was a buffet, As I am very fussy eater this was ideal as I could serve myself, we enjoyed the trips too that were included ( good value ) My only grip was the Coach, We had pre booked seats when we got on the Coach the driver said to the passengers this is a new coach, a smaller one and just take any seat, this caused a big problem as when the passengers… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Fab trip, fab driver”

Written on: 06/10/2015 by Carsonjd495 (1 review written)

We travelled as a couple and a single person to Bournemouth last week and cannot fault our coach or driver in any way. Neil was a friendly, informative driver and explained all about our journey and the stops he'd be making along the way since Bournemouth from Scotland is quite a distance. The two trips which were included were very good too. The M6 motorway is notoriously bad for traffic jams and coming back was no exception. Neil took a diversion to avoid us sitting for over an hour… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Charlies angels”

Written on: 20/09/2015 by voBeebe348 (1 review written)

Just back from the most amazing trip prague budapest vienna everything was good hotel food and especially the driver who really made an extra effort for all his passengers was my first coach trip and certainly wont be my last. Also would like to say we had the most amazing hotel at our overnight stay in germany in the peace and tranquil setting of the countryside everybody was looking forward to staying there on the way home food was absolutely wonderful thankyou caledonia travel… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Very Disappointing”

Written on: 19/09/2015 by TighnaCreag (1 review written)

On 10th August my husband and I went on a Caledonian tour to South Wales and the GOWER PENINSULA UNFORTUNATELY WE NEVER REACHED THE GOWER PENINSULA WHICH WAS OUR REASON FOR BOOKING because the driver said that it was not on his paperwork despite the notice on his windscreen. SOUTH WALES and THE GOWER PENINSULA!! Instead he arranged an optional tour around Cardiff and if you did not wish to pay for that you had to spend the afternoon in the hotel outside Newport or spend several hours in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely shocking. Waste of time and money.Never...”

Written on: 10/09/2015 by Victor1961 (1 review written)

Day 1 – Friday 24th July 2015 We were meant to depart from Carlisle on Friday 24th July at 9.30am but the coach arrived late at 10.05am. There were no apologies from the driver. He never introduced himself he had no name badge. We stepped onto the coach and was immediately met by angry passengers who had got on at Glasgow and they told me that it had been a shambles from the minute they got on. Apparently the driver had told everyone to sit where they wanted to, but of course people booked… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“majestic special Eastbourne”

Written on: 10/09/2015 by magsandbilly (1 review written)

Our first and last time with caladonian travel.The coach from Hamilton was driven by the most smug I'll mannered driver we have ever came across.Most of the passengers were elderly which gave him the right to speak to them like retards.He had a massive problem with 2gents that had a carry out with them.He continually made speeches "I will personally pour your drink out in front of the full coach"the gents never answered him back or gave any other passengers any cause for concern.We had to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Review of blackpool hotel”

Written on: 17/08/2015 by annemillard (1 review written)

I have travelled with Caledonian travel 4 times and have always had a great time. My recent holiday to Blackpool when we stayed at the Grand Metropole Hotelwas not so good. The hotel was awful, very run down and dirty. The food was just edible. The entertainment lasted 45 minutes each night and the bar shut very early. O9ur room was clean but we faced a brick wall and the noise of the pipes during the night was awful. Everyone I spoke to was not happy with the hotel. I don't know why Caledonian… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Hotels or hostels? ”

Written on: 14/08/2015

i don't believe they don't know what hotel you will be staying in when you book a tour. It's so that you can't look up reviews until you have paid your money and then find out they are putting you up in a hotel that everyone who has stayed there is saying to avoid like the plague. Britannia hotel Stockport is one of these. The rooms are filthy. Cleaners only seem to supply clean towels and do nothing else in rooms. Dust on everything is weeks if not months old. Unable to open windows as wire… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Hotel Britannica Manchester ”

Written on: 29/07/2015 by AnabelleWright299 (1 review written)

Overnight stay at Manchester Britannica Hotel rooms in need of good clean and bathrooms need upgraded, lifts work occasionally had to carry luggage up and down glad I wasn't on the eighth floor. If you enjoy fried food and chips you'll love it toaster broken so no hot toast for breakfast in fact no other bread offered. Time for Britannica to upgrade this hotel . … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Poland trip”

Written on: 27/07/2015 by Abernathy56 (1 review written)

Went on the Poland trip June this year, found out there were different gradings for food in hotels (from 1 to 4), we were on grade 4 courtesy of Caledonian travel, after threatening a riot with the manager we were upgraded to grade 3 second night at the Krakov hotel. Other travellers were on better food, The hotel in Magenburg Germany had a railway station at the back we could hear trains all night plus the automatic tanoy system every half hour hardly got any sleep,apart from that the trip… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Scarborough Grand Hotel”

Written on: 27/07/2015 by Nicholson148 (1 review written)

20-24th July, excellent travelling, the driver was very good and the journey was pleasant. Value for money and some. The hotel was also good, with nice food and plenty of it. Some rooms do not have windows which might be an issue for some, note the hotel is being refurbished and some rooms are poor compared to others. There are lots of seagulls on the walls of this hotel, I was only pooped on twice. A great location for everyone including disabled as there is a vehicular rail to take you to the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“awful driver”

Written on: 20/07/2015 by jimk2 (1 review written)

back from enniscorthy fri hotel great staff great food great driver rude at times telling stories and jokes bordering on racsist lot of people moaning but not confroting him he also arranged trip to Dublin fair enough but it was diabolical knew more myself he spoiled a good trip when asked a question by passenger reply was how would I know hope I get response… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Quite an eye opener not what we expected on our visit .”

Written on: 17/07/2015 by stellamarris (1 review written)

The hotel at St bees was miles away from the lakes and quite isolated. The hotel room was " something to behold " badly in need of renovation. The faults were too numerous to mention. The management must be aware of the situation.Some of the people on the trip seemed prepared to accept the conditions as they quoted "You only get what you pay for".A pity!. We left the trip early due to a virus and consider that a refund is due. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Get your act together.”

Written on: 08/07/2015 by Whitneyt231 (1 review written)

Just got back from a trip to Llandudno, in the Chatsworth hotel with you,and really disappointed, both with the hotel, and the bus driver, personality nil, and as for the hotel, it's really had its day, what with the meagre frozen food served, and the rooms past their sell by datesnot a very good trip, which has put us off ever traveling with you again.Time you started to think of your customers, and we did think of booking up for your Torquay trip, but your seascape hotel looks the same, so we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“very disappointed”

Written on: 02/07/2015 by Kehoe195 (1 review written)

went to hotel st elmo blackpool part of deal was to get to fleetwood for a trip but told by driver he could not do it as he had to go to liverpool, so had to make our own way by tram which cost £9-50 feel company could have arranged something as they were in breach of contract instead of thats to bad we cant do it. make your own way hotel was good so this is my only complaint but from now on wont be use in this company again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“liverpool coach tour ”

Written on: 29/05/2015 by bryanmckeown (1 review written)

Mr and Mrs McKeown would just like to thank caledonian travel for their great Liverpool tour we thouroughly enjoyed it and would like to thank our bus driver who was very pleasant and helpful throughout our holiday and we hope to see him in our next adventure with you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Windsor & London 4 day tour.”

Written on: 03/05/2015 by Kermac1 (1 review written)

We have just returned from a Caledonian 4 day tour to Windsor & London. First of all of all I would like to say a "Big Thank You" to our amazing driver Walter he looked after us all so well and kept us going with his stories and jokes. The trips to Windsor and London were great. My only complaint about this tour was the room we were given in the Brittania Russ Hill Hotel number 218 it was greatly in need of a major overhaul. The ceiling was stained, the bedside table was missing,the curtains… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Just ok”

Written on: 26/04/2015 by EfrainCoughlin (1 review written)

Just returned from Dirty Dancing live in Liverpool trip. The coach was comfortable and clean and our driver excellent HOWEVER, the hotel was an hour from Liverpool in Wigan, resulting in an additional 4 hours spent sitting on a bus for a one night visit . The Britannia Hotel was clean and comfortable considering the price paid though the evening meal was of an extremely poor standard resulting in a search for a fast food outlet by many of our fellow travellers on the return to our hotel at… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview